We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel to base out of while enjoying outdoor attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed at this hotel while enjoying hiking, whitewater rafting and the Blue Ridge Parkway. We drove to all of our planned activities. It is actually to far from downtown to walk so don't expect to be in the "thick of things" ,if that is what you are looking for. Upon arrival, I was very concerned about the rundown roach motel that sits very close on the side. It looked like permanent housing for some less than desirable people. Our room faced the mountains and I-240 so I did not have to look at this eyesore. I would have requested a room change if we faced the adjacent motel property. The room itself was very nice. It was clean and spacious with a large whirlpool tub. Their were plenty of towels and a good cable TV selection. The wireless internet was easily accesible. The pool was very small and did not seem to be heated. We only used it briefly on the day of arrival. The hotel has an Outback, Cracker Barrell, and Dairy Queen in the parking lot. A Japanese steakhouse was across the street. The hotel was close to I-240 so it was very easy to hop on and off of the interstate to get to area activities. I would recommend this hotel if you plan on just using it as a home base to travel around from. I would definelty request not to be facing the scary looking adjacent motel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shuleran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 498 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2009

We were a little surprised they advertise "Downtown" when it seemed quite a way out of the loop. We had the King suite and it was very nice. Staff was young and helpful. Rooms were clean and linens and furnature very clean and comfortable. We ate at the Fiddling Pig in the same lot and was surprised that we got a show of bluegrass music and dancers to go with dinner. Fun, family place. A cab ride downtown was about $6.00 and we were very pleased. Did not go to the bar/restaraunt but every time we checked it was empty.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waunderingby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Spent the weekend at the Holiday Inn in downtown Asheville, NC. Above all, the rooms were clean, the beds were very comfortable and the staff was more than helpful. Before even arriving to the hotel I called to get information on the nearest Wal-Mart and the nearest eye care center. The staff at the front desk, despite being down with a cold, was more than helpful, even looking up numbers for me in the phone book. The late night/early morning staff was all smiles when we came through the door well after midnight.
Besides the helpful staff, the rooms were CLEAN which is a huge deal for me and the beds & pillows were oh so comfortable. There is a BBQ restaurant & a Cracker Barrell within walking distance of the hotel, too, which was nice. It was right off the highway, but I never heard the first noise from inside the hotel.
I completely enjoyed my experience at this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We decided to stay at this hotel after finding a great rate ($70ish) and its location. We've stayed in hotels all over Asheville and although the location is not downtown, it's still very central and easy to get in/out of. The parking lot is a little crowded and crazy when the resturants are full (Outback), but there were plenty of spaces that were close to the hotel (including some covered). The motel next door is not attractive and our room had a direct view of it, but we never felt unsafe.

Our king leisure room (315) had ample amenties - hi-def TV, comfy bed linens, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, good wi-fi signal and a chair/ottaman. The room also had plenty of lamps - each one with a CFL bulb. The bathroom is not large, but the water pressure and hot water were abundent. Our friends were upgraded to a king suite with a seperate living space, wet bar, 2 TVs and a balcony.

The front desk staff was not overly friendly, but competent. The lobby is quite small and the only freebie is coffee. We did not eat in the resturant (too many other great places in town) and were disappointed that they offered nothing for Priority Club members. There is a small indoor/outdoor pool and hottub just off the lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

For four nights in February 2009, we stayed at the Holiday Inn on Tunnel Road. My room was well-equipped with a nice high-def TV and free wireless internet. I liked the showerhead/water pressure and the mini-fridge. The room was clean, though we did have a ladybug "visit" us one evening in one of the beds. (We searched everywhere and couldn't find any others, we assumed the one was a fluke visitor.) As for location, since we had no car, we walked everywhere and appreciated the closeness of many restaurants (Cracker Barrel, a BBQ place, Dairy Queen, Outback practically in the same parking lot, and many more a few blocks down the street) as well as a supermarket across the street. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant or use the pool/spa, though we saw they were available. Overall, a nice place for business travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kslaboch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed at this Holiday Inn overnight on a business trip after spending the night at the other Holiday Inn off of I-40 on a previous trip. Let me say, there was no comparison! I've left a review of the other hotel. This particular Holiday Inn felt run down. Our thermostat in the room didn't work, and we were hot and cold all night. The walls are very thin. We had a couple of men in the next room who were, I'm sure, speaking in normal tones, and we could hear every word. The amenities are very different, too. I'm not sure why they advertise as downtown, because we still had to drive there. I didn't really want to walk through the tunnel, and actually, I'm not sure you even can. However, if you want to stay on Tunnel Road and be next to an Outback Steak House and a Cracker Barrel and across from an Ingles grocery, then it's the place for you. We'll go back to the other Holiday Inn! One more thing, if you are a really tall person, the halls are very low, so you'll have to duck. I'm only 5'7" and I could easily reach up and touch the ceilings.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

stayed over new year here. the seedy motel across the fence looks shut down or else there is no one staying there so no problems. a short walk through the tunnel to downtown. i wonder why they do not include even a continental breakfast?. the road leading to the hotel is not signposted so i can see the confusion it could cause but,as previous posters have said take the entrance to cracker barrel and you will be fine. room fine,no problems during the 3 days stay and the pig and outback restaurants are fine and handy if you do not want to drive to eat. one thing i did notice was the difference between folks downtown and the other side of the tunnel,downtown folks"artsy",through the tunnel more"rustic".

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville-Biltmore Vlg Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $110 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing