We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience!! Stay away!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Horrible experience!! Stay away!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

OMG
Fool if you book through Hotwire here or Priceline as they treat you like a rat!!

Worst customer service ever!!
They think you got it for free...
The room smells and has no window looking on a wall!!

I wouldn't give this room to a worker in there!!

Manager didn't even try to resolve issue...

One of few bad review I ever gave in here...

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank soooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites. We apologize that your stay at our hotel was below your expectation. We were sold out and did not had any other room to move you which has a better view. Please keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    194
    74
    27
    16
See reviews for
113
202
37
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I popped around to 5 hotels over a 2 week period in the last month because of a sick family member in Asheville. We both agree that this Holiday Inn was the best hotel in Asheville for the price (full disclosure: we did Priceline ExpressDeals and got this hotel 5 nights out of 11).
Reasons why this hotel is great:
1) decent rooms with great firm beds (if you like soft beds try the holiday inn west)
2) Very friendly and helpful staff
3) The bartenders are both wonderful women who befriended my wife and made us both feel like family. (Sorry I don't remember your names y'all, but know that you helped my wife through a very tough family tragedy and we appreciate y'all)
4) Stay here on Wednesday night if you're in town. Free beer and wine and the hotel bar for an hour, either 5-6 or 6-7, I can't remember now. And 1/2 price appetizers which was a good deal.

Thanks for taking care of us y'all.

Room Tip: I find it funny people complain about the rooms that overlook the sketchy motel next door. Heck, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOLABassMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn & Suites. We truly appreciate your comments. We shared your comments at our daily huddle, the team was thrilled you gave special mention to our team members. Our entire team looks forward to assisting guests staying at our hotel, and truly enjoys doing so. We look forward to you returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because the hotels downtown can be really pricy last minute. It's not really close enough to walk downtown either about a 2 minute drive. We had a nice balcony suite overlooking a parking lot and restaurant. No good views from this hotel. However the service is good and there is a small indoor pool and even smaller outdoor pool.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank takemeonvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate you staying with us. We shared your comments with our team and are addressing your comments. We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The room was nice and so was the bathroom with some minor defects, as there were some mildew or mold along the caulking and joint between the wall and the tub under the shower head. No free breakfast offered. You could order room service continental breakfast with toasts, OJ and coffee for $5.99, plus $3.99 room service charge, plus 18% gratuity. Check in/Check out was good, staff was friendly. They also had underground parking, but they were filled during the snow storm. Also one plus note, pretty decent coffee 24 hours in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff met your service expectations. In regards to Complementary Breakfast, we are a full service Holiday Inn and therefore we do not have free breakfast. Complementary breakfast is only offered at Holiday Inn Express. You can book a room which includes breakfast in future at our hotel if you like and its only $6 more. Hope you will keep us in mind for your future lodging needs when you visit beautiful Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Super nice hotel, reasonable price, our room was clean, nice bathrooms.
Downfall, opened blinds to hopefully find a nice view of asheville, and I'm staring at the most run down hotel. Very sketchy and dirty. The most run down hotel I've ever seen next to us right outside my window. Would have liked to know this before booking. Also no continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatdanemom90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we truly appreciate you staying with us. We have tried our level best to get the next door hotel to clean up and make that motel look a little descent, but no luck. Unfortunately, 70% of our rooms face that way and there is not much we can do about it. I hope that you will keep us in mind for your future stay in Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was our first time at this hotel and we would stay here again. The things we liked about this hotel: very pleasant staff; wonderful breakfast and wonderful service; very clean; very quiet; and our room was very comfortable. I must mention that the hotel's location was not the best. The view from our room was overlooking a hotel that was in terrible condition and that did definitely distract from the beautiful mountains in the distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momofjake11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager2008, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate you staying with us. We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have stayed here on and off over the last 2 years and was pleasantly surprised how well kept the place still is. Great location and Addie & Ashley at the front desk were pleasant and very helpful. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites! We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations! We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment and once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing