We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Rude Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #37 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredibly Rude Staff”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I travel a great deal for business and have never been treated so rudely by a hotel staff in my life. Although the location of this hotel is convenient, it's not worth the frustration of dealing with shoddy internet, inconsistent air conditioning and a hotel staff that is both rude and inconsiderate.

After losing my second night's reservation and then stating the hotel was overbooked, I was told my only option was to leave all my belongings on a cart in the hopes that another room might be available. When this option was not acceptable I was told, "if you do not like it, checkout is at 11:00am." Requests to speak to the manager were met with "he's too busy.''

Traveling can be stressful and sometimes there are unexpected circumstances that can add to the frustration. Treating other people rudely, however, is never acceptable.

These days, travelers have many options when it comes to where they stay. In the future, I will stay anywhere but here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles2GoLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank You for posting a review about our hotel. You had booked a reservation for one night only and if you decide to stay the second night and if the room type you were in is not available the second night hotel only have one choice, move you to a different room type which you refused. We tried our best to accommodate you and your needs but we feel that you did not give us a chance. We also have great and caring staff at our hotel and if you feel they were rude to you, I like to apologizes to you and hope that you will keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    191
    72
    25
    16
See reviews for
110
195
37
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked this hotel because we booked at the last minute and nothing closer to downtown was available. However, this hotel is still quite close to downtown, and there is free parking.

The lady at reception was EXTREMELY nice and friendly, gave us a couple of tips for restaurants and bars, and gave the impression that she was genuinely happy to help us. The lady at checkout was equally friendly. On top of that, our room was upgraded to a suite with a whirlpool, so based on what we paid for what we got, it was great value. The room was very nice and clean, the temperature was good. The only complaint about the room was the very noisy air conditioning unit that would sometimes jump to life and make noise at random times during the night. It was a pretty minor complaint, and we could have slept on the sofa bed in the other room if it was really that bothersome.

The location is not quite downtown, but we were able to walk. It was about 1.4 miles to where the restaurants, bars are.. so if you really hate the idea of walking ~25 minutes (or hate the idea of walking for 5 minutes through a (well lit, well used) tunnel), you need to call a cab or drive. We found it to be a nice way to see part of the city leading up to the bar/resto area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgrobi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I like to Thank You for posting a review about our hotel and excellent staff. All of our AC's have thermostats and therefore comes on according to the temperature set in the room by individuals. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will give us a second chance when you visit Asheville again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while we visited the biltmore estate. We also did some exploring in downtown Asheville. This hotel is a great location for both. One exit away from being right in downtown Asheville. And only about 10-15 minutes from Biltmore. Right near the hotel is also a great selection of restaurants from red lobster to Cracker Barrel to Dairy Queen and more. My wife also managed to make her way to the Asheville mall which was nice and it was only about a 10 minute drive. As some of the other reviewers mentioned there are some "not so nice looking places" around the hotel, but that doesn't reflect on this place at all. The staff was friendly, the room and overall facility was nice and clean. Overall, a great stay for the price and for the activities we wanted to do! Thanks holiday inn!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We want to Thank You for posting a review about our hotel and are glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable. Please keep us in mind when you visit beautiful Asheville again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and we were very pleased with their central location, great restaurant and bar, clean and spacious rooms and friendly staff. We highly recommend this hotel.
We were a little disappointed in the bathroom because it did not have a tub, just a shower. Parking under the hotel is most convenient on rainy days, but for some reason most travelers choose not to park there so we always found a space.

Room Tip: Our room was over the restaurant deck and was a little noisy. Also the bathroom did not have a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbear65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We want to Thank You for recent stay and writing a review about our hotel. The room you were in was a ADA room and therefore had a roll in shower instead of the bath tub. On your next visit, please let our staff know if you would like to have a bath tub. Again, we really appreciate your business, and hope to see you again on your next trip to Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Front desk staff went out of their way to assist me with something that I needed their help with. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful.
Overall, exceptional people and exceptional service~
Joni

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnlake7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank You for sharing your positive experience about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our staff was there to assist you in any way to make sure stay more enjoyable. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed one night only. We had a room each. Both rooms were very clean, spacious, comfortable and great value for money. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms quiet. We had a great nights sleep. The staff on the front desk were very friendly and the lady serving at the bar very helpful. This hotel has changed my opinion on Holiday Inns. I will use this chain again in the future because of my experience here. I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank You for posting a review about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you giving us feedback on our employees too. Please keep us in mind for your future lodging needs when you visit Asheville, NC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande, New Jersey
Level Contributor
241 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is not downtown, but on the 'outside' of the tunnel on Tunnel Road. Most will access it from Interstate 240, and from there is can be a little tough to find. Access is from a traffic light on Tunnel, and there is only a small sign at the turn that is shared with the Cracker Barrel and Outback restaurants. It's one of those situations where you can easily see the hotel but not the access! That being said, this was one of the better HI hotels I've stayed with. The whole facility was in good shape, clean, and bright. There is a restaurant and lounge in the lobby, with an outdoor deck off the back. There is a small indoor/outdoor pool with very limited seating. Parking is shoe-horned into the terrain, with the most accessible being under the hotel itself with elevator access that requires a room key.
All the amenities in the room (HVHC, microwave, fridge, etc.) worked well, there is a good selection of TV channels, and housekeeping was excellent.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker, you might want to inquire about one of the rooms with a small balcony. All room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseymariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for staying with us! As I'm sure you read in other reviews we are not allowed to have a sign near the road due to city laws. We do usually tell people to look for the outback sign and turn at that traffic signal. Hopefully your review will help future guest find our location. I hope that your future travels to Asheville bring you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing