We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Firstly, this property is not Downtown. I knew this in advance as should anyone looking for accommodations that does their own searching. That being said:
hotel is relatively new, very clean and well maintained. It is 5 minutes from downtown by car.
Emily at the front desk checked us in quickly and efficiently. She gave us exactly what i had requested in a prior e mail. Excellent service.
I would definitely stay here on my next visit to Asheville

Room Tip: ask to face the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andywayne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you so much for review our property and I'm very glad to hear that your stay was everything that you wanted. As you stated and have read before we are the closeted Holiday Inn to downtown which is why it is in our name. Im also glad to hear that the next time you visit the area you will be our guest again. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 498 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here one night a couple of weeks ago. Nice, clean hotel but about 1 1/2 miles from downtown. You would not want to walk this 1 /12 miles. It is a nice clean hotel with friendly staff and is located in an area more like an exit on the interstate with a lot of fast food restaurants, cracker barrel, etc. We reserved a king size room with a whirpool, but on check-in, were told that they oversold the king size whirlpool rooms so they put us in a queen whirlpool room and gave us breakfast voucher. Nice gesture, but did not bring back my king size bed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfun1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As you stated we are about 1.5 miles from the city center. We are called the downtown location because we are the closest Holiday Inn to the downtown area. I hope that your on your next visit to the Asheville area you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The area is not "downtown" but the nice, clean rooms with a decent view and the helpful, friendly staff make the room rate and $5 cab fare to downtown totally worth it!!! It is walking distance to some restaurants but again, it is NOT downtown Asheville.

Room Tip: Top Floor, mountian view (see picture) and if it rains you will hear it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. As you said we are not in the heart of downtown. We are the closest Holiday Inn to the downtown area (1.5 miles to the center) which is why we have it in our name. We are happy to hear that the hotel and its staff were able to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you again and we look forward to having you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Not only were the accomodations wonderful and in close proximity to both the Biltmore and downtown Asheville, but the staff went above and beyond in offering us recommendations, providing us maps, and just generally being cheerful! We left our phone charger at the hotel and they mailed it to us for free...and did so promptly!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

We are so glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for letting everyone else know about our excellent staff as well! We work hard and try make you feel at home when you stay with us. I hope any future travels to Asheville bring you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed over the 3 day Martin Luther King weekend and could not have been happier. Great rate off of priceline, clean rooms, cleanest elevators I have ever seen, front desk pleasant, check in area clean, free newspapers, microwave, fridge and free parking have made me a 3 star converter to hotels from 4 star snooty places. This hotel was right near Asheville-I would not want to deal with the parking situation there. Would definitely stay there again in the future!! Wish they provided a free breakfast but they do have a restauant attached and a wonderful Outback right next door that you could walk too and a B-B-Que restaurant next to that!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKelleyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing our property. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a Holiday Inn and Suites so we have a full service restaurant for breakfast and dinner, unlike the Express locations that have free hot breakfast. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Positives: The staff was friendly and helpful. The room looked clean. The location was easy to find. The pool was indoor and outdoor.
Negatives: The walls are so thin that neither my husband or I could sleep through the night. We were both woken up and kept up several times. My daughter and I came home w/ a head cold, We could of picked it up anywhere, but the majority of our time was spent in the room. The hot tub was out of service on the second day.

Room Tip: We didn't have luck w/ this. They first gave us a room right outside the elevator. We asked to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJF1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. In the future please let the front desk know about any proplems that you have while you are here, no matter what time of day. We will always do our best to make sure that your stay is everything you want and more. I hope that you will stay with us agan on your next travels to Asheville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel was just fine for the rate we got. The staff was very nice and helpful. We didn't try the bar/resaturant so I can't comment on that. The hotel was in the same parking lot as the Outback Steak House and connected the the Cracker Barrel parking lot. We were right across the street from an Ingles with a gas station, a Papa's and Beer, a Dairy Queen, a McDonalds and several other restaurants. The only reason I didn't give give them a 4 star rating was because of the view that we had from our window. We were there for our Anniversary and specifically ask for a room with a view and NOT the view of the "crack" hotel that I read about in some of the other reviews. Well...I guess I will just let the pictures speak from themselves as to the view we got to spend our Anniversary with.We would stay again as long as I knew for a fact, I would have a better view. (PS - I refer to it as the "crack" hotel because thats what the front deck employee called it)

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not have a view of the "crack" hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPutnam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear CPutnam123,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am pleased you found our staff commendable. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide superior accommodations to all our guests. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback and hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville-Biltmore Vlg Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $110 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing