We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Bargain!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Asheville
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Bargain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This room was bigger and better than one we paid five times as much for a few months back at a well known upscale hotel during another trip. We appreciated the cleanliness and amenities in the room. The bathroom was not too small, but not huge. It was so quiet, even though the hotel appeared to be mostly full. Parking was close to the front entrance or in the parking garage. We didn't go to the bar or restaurant, nor did we use the pool, though it looked inviting. The staff was so friendly and welcoming. As others have said, it is not in the heart of downtown, but is a very short drive from it and a major interstate highway. Biltmore is also only a short drive. Though the view of the rundown hotel next door was right out our window, it did not detract from the comfort and quiet of our room. We felt like we really got a bargain at $44/night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time here at our property. Thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor! While some rooms do have a view of the lesser property next door, I'm glad it did not distract from your time here. I hope that in future travels to Asheville you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    175
    62
    22
    15
See reviews for
104
168
35
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The staff was polite and our suite was clean and spacious, but that's not enough to make me come back. This hotel is not downtown. It is in an unattractive area a few miles from downtown. Our view was of a smaller run-down motel next door. The furnishings look cheap and outdated, not just in our suite, but throughout the hotel, which made me feel that I overpaid.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jennifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We appriciate your stay with us at the Holiday Inn. We are located 1.5 miles from the center of Historic Downtown making us the Downtown location for Holiday Inn. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Clean, newly renovated room. An easy 1.3 mile drive to the heart of downtown. We stayed 3 nights on the weekend when the hotel was totally booked and barely heard any noise at all. Slept very well. Only complaints were the VERY firm beds, which may be ok for some. And the clumpy pillows... We went to tjmaxx and bought our own. Also, there is an old abandoned motor lodge that was right outside of our window. The surrounding area is a tad run down, but there is an outback, Buffalo Wild Wings and a Cracker Barrel all within walking distance. And they have bath and body works minis in the rooms! Definitely a steal at the 45$ we scored the room for!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank You for posting a review for our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will keep us in mind for your future stay in beautiful Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I wanted to spend an overnight in order to walk around downtown Asheville. We selected this hotel mainly because of the "downtown" in its name. The hotel is located a little over a mile from downtown Asheville. We found the hotel to be excellent in every way. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is very clean and well-maintained. The mattress in our room was outstanding with top shelf linen. Our room was as new and well furnished. We did not visit the restaurant or bar during our stay. I did however use the indoor swimming pool which is very small and use the hot tub. My only complaint about the hotel was the pool water temperature. It was very cold outside and the outdoor and indoor pools are not separated except by over the water vinyl strips. The pool heater did not keep up with the outside pool loss. We did walk from the hotel to downtown and back as the weather although very cool was nice and sunny. Asheville has many quaint shops and varied restaurants and worth the visit..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sctraveler069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank You for writing a review about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. There are two Holiday Inns on Tunnel Road and to differentiate both hotels, IHG (Franchise) has given us the name of Downtown. We hope you will consider us for your future stay in Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Drove up to Asheville from Charleston during Thanksgiving holiday. Was impressed by this Holiday Inn. Even though I arrived late, the front desk staff was friendly and welcoming. Really liked the exercise room. Did not eat there, but I talked to a couple who had breakfast and they loved it. Had a fine view of the city and slept great. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad that we were able to meet your needs during your travels and provide you with a comfortable home away from home. I hope that you keep us in mind for any future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Good impression right away because check-in was easy and the people at the front desk were friendly. The room was big and it was very clean. Had everything I needed, and the hotel is close to all the main routes and downtown. I wish there was a free breakfast in the morning, and the pool didn't really look inviting, but otherwise it was great.

Room Tip: I had a room on the second floor overlooking the kind of run down hotel next door. It wasn't rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDD00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank You so much for writing a review about our hotel. We are glad that your stay was great and hope that you will keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very nice rooms, secure parking, I loved the hotel and will come back again.
Very easy to get downtown,Plus lots of dining options within walking distance!
New Hotel, so it was very clean!
Comfortable bed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robcoppock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank You for posting a review about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and please keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#42 of 60 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing