We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not downtown, but still nice to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's not downtown, but still nice to stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This met all my usual expectations of Holiday Inns...nothing spectacular, but still worth staying at. The rooms were clean and modern, and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. I can't imagine you'll have any significant complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoxgdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank You for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. Holiday Inn tries to be consistent with all of their properties and we are glad that we did not disappoint. We hope that you will keep us in mind for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    194
    74
    27
    16
See reviews for
113
202
37
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Again, your friendly world traveler finds yet another abysmal hotel that looks good on paper, but consistently under-delivers.

First, the mis-advertisements:

1. Downtown. This hotel isn't anywhere NEAR downtown. So you WILL have to find parking EVERY time you want to go downtown. That's the whole POINT of a downtown hotel - being able to walk to the local attractions. You can't do that here.

2. Pool. The pool is in total dis-repair, isn't ANYTHING like their pictures, and really is unusable if you like things to be clean.

3. Rooms. They must have obtained a discount on what is possibly the HARDEST mattresses ever made. I like a firm mattress, but this is ridiculous.

On the positive side, the employees are nice and tried to make an unpleasant surprise in location and amenities less irritating, but I would certainly avoid like the plague. It doesn't come anywhere CLOSE to earning its 3-star rating. A solid 2-star property at BEST. The mis-advertising makes it a 1-star.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't face the god-awful property next door. Not their fault but there are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lear70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I would like to point out that we are the closest Holiday Inn & Suites to downtown and about 1.5 miles from the heart of downtown and therefore making us the "Downtown" location. I also like to apologize that you did not like our mattress in the room but they are our brand standard mattresses. As far as our pool/spa is concerned, we are in the process of making it more up to date. I hope that you will give Holiday Inn & Suites another chance for your future lodging needs. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed three nights to explore Asheville. I booked the hotel through orbitz.com and got a decent price on what I thought was a centrally located hotel in downtown Asheville. It was a bit tricky finding the road that led to the hotel. We could see it but couldn't get to it. Happened to turn by the Outback/BBQ & Blues sign and found it. The entrance is directly across form Ingles. We arrived at 2:00am on Saturday morning and check in was a breeze. Even at that hour, the staff was accommodating and friendly. The room was not the king room with jacuzzi tub, that I had booked on orbitz.com. However, it was a suite and the additional space worked out fine. Coffee maker and mini fridge were a bonus and used often during our stay.

The picture of the pool on the website is what sealed the deal for me. It appeared to be a small pool on a terrace with a small waterfall connecting the indoor and outdoor pools. I was so very very wrong. The postage stamp indoor/outdoor pools are connected by freezer flaps or long pieces of heavy plastic. By the time we arrived the plastic was discolored form the chlorine and was icky. The hot tub was out of order and sectioned of with caution tape in a delightful yellow. There were 3 chairs near the indoor area and enough room to accommodate a party of two on the outdoor pool deck.

The hotel is not in the immediate downtown area so a short drive and the need to locate parking is constant. The hotel staff recommended Blue Bird cabs and they were very friendly and punctual.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELL05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. Staff was awesome. Very helpful with directions of the area and gave us a detailed map. The hotel sits behind some run down buildings and a motel. Didn't both us. The Fiddlin Pig is closed down now. The room was clean and the beds are rock hard. I prefer a firm bed but this is like something out of the stone ages. There is a hotel bar and restruant that seems to be very popular but we didn't go. The hotel is in a great location. 1.4 miles to downtown and 2 miles to the mall/ movies. My BIGGEST complaint is, there are no blackout shades. Talk about bright sun at 7 am! My husband rigged up something so it would block out some of the light. We wouldn't stay again bc of the beds and blackout shades. I did get a get deal on the room through Priceline. Kinda made up for the shortcomings.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank You for posting a review on our hotel. I just want to point out that there are black out curtains behind the sheers. As far as mattresses are concerned, we can only use those which are approved by IHG (Franchise) and that is what we have. Hotel management regrets that you felt that the mattresses were not up to your standards. We hope that you will give us second chance for your lodging needs in future. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights. Location is close to highways and easy to access. However, the drive way to hotel is hidden. You have to go through parking lot of Outback restaurant, but not a problem. The hotel is across from a large supermarket and surrounded by lots of restaurants. Clean and quiet rooms. Excellent fitness room. They don't have complimentary breakfast. There is a restaurant in hotel but we did not try it. Internet access is free. At a bargain price, this was a pleasant surprise and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moksha51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

First let me say that we normally stay at Hilton's and Marriott's. We decided we would give the Holiday Inn brand a chance since they had a great deal going. The staff was friendly and professional.The hotel was in decent shape however the lobby smelled awful. The hotel is definitely not in downtown Asheville and is in a somewhat run down area outside the city. The room was fine however we couldn't close the curtains facing the the disgusting run down motel/apt building next door. The bed was too firm for our liking. After our stay we wished we had made our original choice of the Hilton Asheville.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager77, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hotel would like to apologize for the odd smell in the public area on first floor upon your arrival. Renovations were being done to our spa/whirlpool (Paint) causing the lobby to have an odd smell. Hotel cannot help the visual appearance of the neighboring businesses. Our rooms do have a black out curtains which are behind the sheers for the convenience of our guests. We hope you give Holiday Inn another chance for you lodging needs. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a very nice hotel. My only complaint was that the bed was a bit too firm for my liking.
The room was clean and spacious. The hotel was located in a great area with easy access to downtown Asheville. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nillas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing