We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds
Certificate of Excellence
nashville
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

The grounds and cabin were stunning, The office was superbly helpful, The weather was rainy, but magical. Memorable experience. Thank you.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Short duration
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank budNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    45
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
258
296
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

Willow winds is the ultimate place to stay for a relaxing vacation that combines the mountain experience in a luxury cabin, with the urban and cultural entertainement that Asheville and the Biltmore can offer.
The location is perfect, a few miles from downtown Asheville and 5 minutes from the entrance to the Biltmore and the Biltmore Village shopping area.
The cabin (Donna's Diamond) was immaculate, with everything, I mean everything included but the food. The fact that you are in a community of cabins rather than a single location adds to the comfort: the main office has free movies to watch, lots of games and popular outdoor games such as ping-pong, fussball and bocce bowl.
The best part of Willow Winds are the walking pathways, with fountains, lakes, waterfalls, chairs and hammocks placed in so many different places that quiet and relax are guaranteed. Please, make a point to explore all the gardens and fountain spots, it will be a great experience.
The office is great! They changed our outdoor grill without us even asking for it to a completely new one. The combo DVD-VCR box broke while we were watching a movie and was exchanged for a new one within hours. The front office ladies are always there to suggest excursions, restaurants with directions. Do buy the Biltmore tickets at the office, you get a two-day pass for less than the price of a one-day pass at the Biltmore gate (and believe me, the Biltmore is best enjoyed on a two-day experience).
Nothing went wrong, I would return there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank frombaritomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, September 23, 2008
Thanks so much for your comments. We try very hard to make ALL of our guests happy and we are glad you enjoyed Donna's Diamond.

My husband will appreciate your comments regarding the fountains, and other outdoor features. He has worked many, many hours to make sure the outside is "a special place".

We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

thanks you again,

Sandy McLeod, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a fun week in Asheville and it was so difficult to leave our great cabin to do the usual tourist things, but was it ever wonderful to return in the evenings! It was so peaceful, so quiet, just what we needed. Our cabin, "Pat's Place", was all we hoped for and more. It's one of the original cabins, 2500 square feet, one story (a few steps down from the driveway and one step up to the bedrooms and baths), two bedrooms, master w/king sized bed, other with queen plus a daybed alcove, 2.5 baths, large living room, great kitchen and separate dining room, big closets and a carport. We had a great view overlooking the trout pond with privacy at the same time, a huge wonderful porch with the rocking chairs, and the hot tub deck off the master bedroom. Porch is fabulous - morning coffee, using the grill, then evening tea watching the birds. We loved Asheville and its friendly people (go meet Julie Larson at Larson's Porcelain, Grove Arcade in town, fun jewelry, lovely porcelain), there's great shopping, food (farmers' markets, eat a Cherokee Purple tomato... heavenly), the Blue Ridge Parkway and Willow Winds with its helpful staff. Hope to add photos later... we will return to Willow Winds and it won't be soon enough!

  • Liked — privacy and setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank greenvalleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

My wife and I went there for a few days getaway and to see the Biltmore Estate. You could not ask for a closer place to stay in Asheville. It was just a few minutes away from the Biltmore as well as downtown Asheville.

What a great place. The cabin was spotless and everything in the cabin was immaculate. Loved the flat screen TV in the living room and the hot tub was perfect. We felt like we were staying in our own home as far as comfort goes. The porch and hammock were so relaxing, I really did not even use my ipod for background music.

The cabin had everything you needed to make nice meals and had all the modern appliances one would need, including a dishwasher.

The property was beautifully kept and was landscaped really nice, with fountains in the yards and pretty shrubs. The only thing that would of made the property more perfect would of been a swimming pool. After the day at the Biltmore, it would of been nice to take a dip in a pool to cool off. But the hot tub later in the eveing more than made up for a lack of a swimming pool.

The staff was so nice, it would be hard to not want to come back even if there had been any problems with our stay in the Willow Winds.

We look forward to returing on our next stay in Asheville.

BTW, if you are into fine dining you should go to Gabrielles at Richmond Hill. It is truly worth the money and it deserves the 3 Michelin stars it is rated. This place was a wonderful.

  • Liked — How clean it was, how relaxing it was, the staff.
  • Disliked — There was nothing I did not like
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatekAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

We spent our stay in Gracie's Willow for 6 days the first week in August.
We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay.
It had just about everything we needed. I was however a bit surprised our kitchen was not as equipped as other cabins and homes I have rented in the past. Easy fix though we went and bought salt and pepper shakers and a few spices.
The staff is very friendly and accomadating and more then likely if I had asked for salt and pepper shakers from them they would have magically appeared that is how nice these people were.
I was a bit worried as two adults when I kept reading reviews about it being so kid and family friendly. I was afraid we would be ran over by zealous families. That was not the case. There were many famiies staying there but everyone was nice and adhered to the quiet time hours. So would recommend for people without kids as well.

Next time we come visit we will plan on not doing so many attractions and make more time to explore on site and enjoy the trout pond.

  • Liked — Qyiet Surroundings and wonderful cabins
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CristoIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

Our family stayed at Willow Winds the first week in July. We have family in the area, but wanted a "getaway" feel and one family member had to stay close to home. My cousin stays here with her family because her dad is in an assisted living situation and it gives her a place to be with the kids.
The cabins are wonderful. They have placed many water structures around so there is always the sound of running water. They have a playground and games, a video library, fishing pond, my son's favorite is the water balloon launchers (you have to see this), horseshoes, just about anything you could want to keep everyone happy and busy. Where we got out to see the mountains and shops, we just enjoyed being on the property.
The staff is outstanding. We had two minor problems (ok the mulch in the hot tub was one the kids doing) but they were there to fix it ASAP and with a smile.
It is 10 min to Biltmore and downtown. You have space to move around. A kitchen, a deck, a hot tub, laundry and NO noise from the hall.
We will return. They have done a wonderful job developing this very private, very secluded feeling, very beautiful family place.

  • Liked — atmosphere, things to do, location
  • Disliked — one of the cabins had a lot of steps and was hard on grandmom, know better next time
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveler3_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

My family and I had a wonderful time during our week stay at Willow Winds. The cabins (really small houses!) were just perfect - well equipped, clean, homey. They had great fireplaces and a relaxing hot tub on a private balcony. The staff were friendly and always ready to help, whether with booking a white water rafting trip, directions or restaurant recommendations.

The location was perfect. You feel like you are in a private relaxing woods, but you are only about 5 minutes from the great downtown and from the Biltmore Estate.

I highly recommend Willow Winds for anyone coming to Asheville!

  • Liked — The great cabins, amazing staff, relaxing environment and convienent location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank af1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
3.3 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#24 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#31 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
4.2 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds

Property: Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds
Address: 39 Stockwood Road Ext, Asheville, NC 28803-1830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds is a luxury vacation resort with cabins and cottages in a secluded woodland garden setting in the city of Asheville just 3 & 1/2 miles from the Biltmore Estate. All of our cabins and cottages are completely equipped and beautifully furnished with designer touches. Private hot tubs, spacious decks, gourmet kitchens, and wood burning fireplaces at each of our one, two, or three bedroom cabins. Savor the peace and serenity while enjoying hiking trails, trout pond, recreation areas, exercise room, free movies and WI-FI, gardens, fountains and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asheville Cabins Of Willow Winds Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing