We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to do nothing or do it all”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to do nothing or do it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

A weekend retreat in Asheville with in-laws. Big Daddy lodge was amazing. 2 bedroom and 2 full bath gave us all our privacy plus a great living room and dining room to just sit and visit with each other. The boys went fishing in the pond, while my Mother in law and I enjoyed wine on the porch rocking chairs.
Well stocked cabins. Laundry if you need it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
You titled it so well…our unique location and property makes it possible to “do it all or nothing at all”. So glad the family enjoyed their stay with us. Hope to see you again soon! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    45
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
265
297
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Three "girlfriends" and I celebrated turning 65 with a four day trip to Asheville. We stayed in Don's Den and found that it was exactly how it looked on the website. It had many extras that are usually not found in a vacation rental. The kitchen had a coffee maker, toaster, blender and electric stove with microwave. Dish detergent, dish towels, paper towels, coffee filters, S&P, sugar packets and even bug spray were included.

One queen bedroom with full bath/tub was on the first level next to the kitchen. Two more bedrooms were on the lower level with a central bathroom (shower). The bathrooms had plenty of oversize towels, toilet tissue, hand soap, and small bottles of shampoo. The twin bedroom had a flat screen TV. The queen room opened to another deck where the hot tub (fits four people comfortably) was located. A washer and dryer were on that level.

The cabins are fairly close to each other, but dense landscaping keeps each one totally private. A large hammock was located next to the cabin. Recyle bins were provided and a dumpster was accessible. There was a path that lead to a peaceful pond, small waterfall and children's playground.

The cabin was about 10 minutes away from the entrance to the Biltmore Estate and 15 minutes to downtown Asheville. The office staff were friendly, knowledgable and on call for any emergencies. There were hundreds of DVD movies to borrow and numerous brochures/magazines with Asheville tourist information.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! We appreciate that you found your cabin accurately portrayed in our literature and that you found extra’s as well. We hope that you can return again soon to Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My partner and I recently spent a week at the Cabins of Willow Winds. We loved everything about the place. Our cabin was very clean and we appreciated the wifi, hot tub, hammock, etc. Many times when you book a trip online, the accommodations do not look as good when you get there or they will say that the website needs to be updated and blah, blah blah hasn't worked in years. This facility had everything. We fished in the pond, walked the community but will have to make time for table tennis and horse shoes for next time. It was a relief not having to bring sheets, towels, bathroom tissue, etc. Our cabin was completely stocked even down to aluminum foil. We also appreciated being able to wash our clothes before returning home.

What made the experience most memorable were the ladies in the office. They were so friendly and helpful. I was in the process of applying for a writing fellowship and discovered in the eleventh hour that I would not be able to submit my application and samples online. I didn't know what I was going to do as I didn't have a way to print and mail out the materials without missing the deadline. Mary Darby was so helpful - she let me print in the office and even helped me trouble shoot with one of my email attachments. I cannot say enough. She was helpful and friendly and informative. She never let anything ruffle her feathers which was an energy that we found contagious (appreciated under the circumstances.) We plan on returning to Willow Winds in the next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate your taking time to share your experience here at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds! Exceeding guests expectations and going the extra mile is something all the staff and crew love to do here. We look forward to seeing you again next year, thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Thanks so much for a perfect vacation! This was our second trip to asheville and the location was excellent. We will stay here again for our next trip to the area. having a full kitchen and washer and dryer was an absolute treasure! We were able to go home with clean clothes and not spend time catching up on laundry! The pictures on the sight don't lie, This place is beautiful and family friendly. We enjoyed staying on the property and not having to venture out to entertain our kids. There is a playground and water balloon station that entertained them all day. We will recommend to anyone going this way!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are so glad that you "loved every minute" of your vacation and that your children enjoyed just staying on the property and playing with the water balloon station and the other kid friendly activities. I am glad you will stay with us your next visit to Asheville, and hope it won't be too long.

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our vacation resort.

Sandy McLeod,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was as easy and worry free vacation rental I have ever had. No renter-hating contract that makes you nervous to walk in the door. Everything is available from DVD library to water balloons. Non intrusive but available staff. Beautiful grounds. We were with 6 families and all of the houses were positioned to have privacy. Most of the decks are covered with fans and lights. Mikes Place was not--which meant we could no enjoy the view in the rain. Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trailhunter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind comments. I'm glad your adventure/vacation with us was "an easy and worry free vacation rental". That is exactly our goal.....to make everyone's vacation as worry free and enjoyable as possible.

We hope you will come back to visit us again soon!!! Thanks again for your comments.

Sandy McLeod, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great location! Close to the Blue Ridge Parkway and close to the Great Smoky Mountains. We stayed here two nights in June and wished we had more time! The cabins are great, clean and well maintained. The grounds were great for couples or families. My kids loved the giant chess game and the movie library. I would definitely recommend this spot.

Room Tip: We stayed in Donna's Diamond cabin and loved the location, real quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladytrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your comments on your stay at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds!! We are glad you "loved this spot" and hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Thanks again, and hope to see you soon.

Sandy McLeod, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in Jackie's Gem. The property is very quiet, and it is convenient for a family or group to have kitchen facilities. Some of the bedrooms are quite small (made more so by the large furniture). The hot tub was a treat to have, and the fitness room was convenient. The staff was very helpful providing maps and answering our many questions. Our one complaint is that the buildings were not maintained as well as they could have been. The rugs were threadbare in areas, there were luggage scuffs on the walls and the dishes were chipped. These were small things that did not ruin our vacation by any means, but with so much staff driving around tenting to the lovely plantings it would seem that someone could care for the insides of the cabins too.

Room Tip: The bedrooms in the round cabins may be a bit smaller. Ask about the sq ft of rooms when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcleod, Owner at Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I appreciate your bringing to my attention the issues with the cabin and will talk with our cleaning crew first thing tomorrow.

Again, thanks for your comments and I hope you will come back for a visit again soon.

Sincerely,

Sandy McLeod, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
3.3 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
1.6 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#32 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
2.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
2.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds

Property: Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds
Address: 39 Stockwood Road Ext, Asheville, NC 28803-1830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asheville Cabins of Willow Winds is a luxury vacation resort with cabins and cottages in a secluded woodland garden setting in the city of Asheville just 3 & 1/2 miles from the Biltmore Estate. All of our cabins and cottages are completely equipped and beautifully furnished with designer touches. Private hot tubs, spacious decks, gourmet kitchens, and wood burning fireplaces at each of our one, two, or three bedroom cabins. Savor the peace and serenity while enjoying hiking trails, trout pond, recreation areas, exercise room, free movies and WI-FI, gardens, fountains and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asheville Cabins Of Willow Winds Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing