We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved It!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We Loved It!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

My husband and I wanted to stay at an independently owned place for our visit to Asheville. Princess Anne appealed to us because it is more affordable than many B&Bs and not as "frilly." Slightly creaky floors and exposed pipes (painted to help blend) are part of the charm. So is the old-fashioned elevator with its metal gate inside door and non-automatic outer door. The breakfast was good, just not fantastic. The afternoon wine reception helped encourage interaction with other guests. Even though it was in the upper 80s/low 90s, the hotel is on a tree-lined residential street, so it didn't feel too hot - we sat on the comfy side porch in the afternoon and evening just relaxing. What really helped make our stay great was the staff. They made recommendations for scenic drives (to/on the Blue Ridge Parkway) as well as for dinner and things to do in/around Asheville - including where to park and a way to walk that was pretty & avoided the interstate off/on ramp. Little things helped make us feel that at the Princess Anne we really were guests - notwithstanding paying. : )

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyL_Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
It's great to hear that our knowledgeable staff helped to make your vacation a better one. We all have years of experience as concierges and are actively involved in the community here in Asheville. Our recommendations come from first hand experiences and we're so glad we helped you to have a great stay! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    95
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
447
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed here for four days in a one bedroom deluxe suite - it offered plenty of room for two of us to throw our stuff around, be able to stretch out, and not step on each others toes. Our goal was to hike and spend the remainder of the time downtown exploring the many brew pubs. The location of the hotel is within walking distance of downtown (appx. 1 mile) but we were lazy and drove. The room was clean, the staff extremely helpful and friendly, the breakfast quite delicious and substantial enough to sustain us through the early afternoon. We loved our stay here and will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuttyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you for the great review. The One Bedroom Deluxe Suite is our standard room, and with its separate bedroom and living room, we think it's perfectly suited to couples. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

we cannot say enough about this place- helpful & sweet staff, lovely rooms, well maintained property. wine and cheese in the afternoon, gourmet breakfast all included; they even sent us a handwritten note to thank us for staying with them. not too far a walk in the cooler months but a 5 minute drive into downtown asheville, so really not out of the center by much. can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keentravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
How great that we've earned the title, "fabulous!" It's good to hear that you had such a pleasant stay here at the Princess Anne Hotel. We look forward to the cooler weather too! Yet, we are still an easy walk into town in the evening. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed with my sister at Princess Anne on July 12, 2010, while househunting in the area. The hotel lives up to the favorable reviews seen on tripadvisor. We checked in just in time for afternoon wine and cheese (delicious!), and enjoyed sitting on the back porch chatting with a few other guests. Our room was a suite style, with a separate living area with small kitchen, tv, table and chairs. A shower/toilet bath separated the living area from the bedroom. Bed was heavenly with lovely linens, and sink is in bedroom, so one of us could wash up while the other was in the shower. The air conditioning in the rooms was surprisingly excellent for an older hotel. The only caveat worth mentioning is that the floors are pretty creaky/squeeky, so if you wander around at night (couldn't sleep due to nerves about making an offer on a house that day), be prepared. We walked around the neighborhood for an hour the morning of our departure, checking out the charming houses in the area and working up an appetite for the delicious breakfast (included) in the dining room. I had the breakfast casserole; my sister had the spinach biscuits and eggs with bechamel sauce, leaving us both happy and full. I hope to come back someday (though I did end up buying a house in the area, so guess I'll recommend the Princess Anne to visiting friends instead). Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny'sMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
We are so glad that you and your sister had a lovely stay with us here at the Princess Anne! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Welcome to Asheville! You'll love living here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night during a weekend trip to the Biltmore. The front desk staff was kind and helpful. We got very late for the wine and cheese hour, but the girl at the front desk offered to get us wine. The room was large and nicely decorated, and the bed was very comfortable. It is in a quiet part of time, but it is only about a two minute drive to downtown. Breakfast was great! It was definitely the best meal we have gotten at a B&B. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
We are so pleased that you had a lovely stay here at the Princess Anne! Thank you for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This hotel shows more of a face lift then a real restoration. Patches in walls, sanded floors and a coat of paint. Located in a somewhat faded residential area away from the central district it is really not convenient to all the great restaurants and shops we found in downtown Asheville.
The web site price for our room when booked was $157 with a 20% reduction for the third night. Upon checkout I was charged $187 per night with a 20% reduction off that rate for the 3rd night. A $100 overcharge with tax. When I later asked for a refund they said to bad.
The breakfast and the afternoon wine and cheese were good
If you do go to Ashville Friday is the big night downtown.
.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWrelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Owner at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
Your opinion of the restoration of the Princess Anne Hotel is quite surprising considering that this is an award winning restoration of a property on the National Register of Historic Places. I spent two years working with the city to bring this building, which was about to be condemned, up to code with regard to electrical, plumbing, fire safety, etc. The restoration was painstakingly undertaken to retain as much of the original integrity of the building as possible, not just gutting it and installing sheet rock. The building had 40 apartments, 20 bathrooms and 8 kitchens and I brought the building back to life with much of its original design left intact and I received a Preservation Society award for the work. You are very much alone in your opinion of it not being a "real" restoration. The restoration of the Princess Anne Hotel has been complimented by the Atlantic Journal, Miami Herald, Indianapolis Star, Our State and was voted one of Asheville's 10Best.com provided by Southern Living, December 2008, just to name a few.
As previously addressed with our multiple correspondences, it is difficult for me to understand your surprise at the room rate. We emailed a confirmation with the rates which you then confirmed when you checked into the hotel, and again when you paid the bill at check out. During all of your face to face interactions with us, you never mentioned any issue with the charges. We even went out of our way and provided you with a complimentary Romance Package, an exception to our usual specials which include the package for free only with our Grande Suite.
When we received your email expressing concern about an over charge, you were sent a copy of the email confirmation showing the cost of the room. I can only assume that you based your accusation of an overcharge on seeing the One Bedroom prices online and not on the One Bedroom Deluxe Suite which you booked and for which you received confirmation.
We regret that you were upset by the cost of your stay, but feel that we did everything in our power to provide exceptional service to you and that the pricing of your suite was fair and agreed upon in advance.
It is also interesting to note that on June 23rd, you wrote to us about your wish to pass on positive thoughts about the Princess Anne Hotel, as we were recommended to you by others. Your current remarks about the restoration are a very different tune than your previously expressed sentiments to pass on positive thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2010

The large, light filled windows, high ceilings, polished wood floors, curving staircase and the other historical architectural details are further enhanced by someone’s very good eye for well appointed rooms with a casual elegance and cheerful countenance. It’s all very grand and yet still so simply accessible and comfortable. Our suite had a down filled sofa. The bed was oh, so comfortable. The small elevator, with it’s automatically closing metal “cage” door provided me a delightful holiday from my elevator phobia. I felt as though I should be wearing a sequined dress and carrying a bejeweled clutch purse (think old black and white movie) each time I disembarked. The Princess Anne Hotel is poised beautifully between the character and beauty of its original era, and the ease and simplicity of contemporary aesthetics. A shady porch, with cushioned wicker seating and a small koi pond with garden sitting space, extend the peaceful space to the outdoors. A delicious breakfast, consisting of 3 options, as well as afternoon wine and snack offerings are served daily. The members of the staff are as friendly and helpful as can be. There was nothing missing but that stale hotel air, and, at the end of the week, the urge to go home.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioPeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
What a beautiful description of our Princess Anne! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed a peaceful stay here with us at the Princess Anne Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Property: Princess Anne Hotel
Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing