We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2009

This place was great. I took my gf there for her birthday and told the girl taking the reservation that was the occasion. She put complementary bubbly in the room with a bouquet of really nice roses and a handwritten card. The rooms a nice, very spacious, comfortable beds. Breakfast was pretty good some waffles and bacon with fruit, and the evening wine and snacks were good. NO complaints, and the staff was SUPER. A must visit. As far a a cab company goes if you call the yellow cabs the fare to get into the center of downtown is only $5.50.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank hairboater828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Management at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2009

Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We really enjoy going that extra step to make sure your stay is special. As I remember, it was Anniversary AND Birthday! We're so glad you had a great visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 716 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2009

top shelf all around room,bed bedding were fab. Large soft towels, furnishing to fit the era
breakfast was wonderful great to have a server too!! afternoon tea by the fireplace with great wines and snacks above and beyond no precut cheese here. The staff was very helpful with directions and just gracious. I will be back and am telling all the people I know about this gem of a hotel. Bravo on a job well done.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen53ashevillenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Management at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2009

It's wonderful to hear that you found the Princess Anne such a perfect fit. I love the fall when the wine and hors d'oeuvres time is all snug around the fire. Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a glowing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I cannot say enough about The Princess Anne Hotel...It is intimate, yet the staff respects your privacy...the breakfast is prepared in a European fashion with top quality ingredients...the grounds are gorgeous and the Hotel cat, Dina, is an added boon!!! I adore the staff and will treasure the moments until I can return...;)

Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
Thank kladdTallahassee_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Management at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2009

We love your visits too K.! The "hotel cat" belongs to the night manager. She enjoys greeting and mingling with guests on the porches, but she has her own home separate from the main hotel. Thank you for the great review! All of us here at the Princess Anne look forward to your next visit. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

The Princess Anne was a wonderful hotel. It had the amenities of a hotel (most importantly privacy) with the intimacy and character of a bed and breakfast. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. Also, we greatly enjoyed the quality of the breakfast and the nightly wine and h'our dourves. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arsenal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Management at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2009

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Princess Anne! Thank you for taking the time to recommend us to others. We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Drove to Asheville for one night at The Princess Anne and loved it! Honestly we embarked on so many conversations about how much we loved the Inn, we might have been considered a bore. The atmosphere was charming yet crisp. The food was unique but delicious...lemon chiffon pancakes with fried eggs, sausage & fresh fruit. The wine selection was superb. The staff was sweet and efficient. Our desk clerk had the charm of a little sister but the skill of a concierge. The walk to downtown was more of a trek, keep in mind Asheville is mountain town, leave the heels at home. We strolled the neighborhood after breakfast the next morning and fell in love. What a wonderful night. We'll be back. Don't change a thing.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellwbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Management at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2009

We're so pleased that you're boring others with your praise for the Princess Anne! Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope you'll visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We had the most pleasant experience during our most recent visit to Asheville!! This hotel was well beyond our expectations. The entire place was very clean and had beautiful decor. The breakfast included is PHENOMENAL!!! Our first morning the breakfast was a vegetable omelette (best I ever Had), the second morning was gingerbread waffles..... YUM!!!!
Another bonus with this hotel is the Wine and Hors' Dourves served every evening. Very nice spread and decent wine choices. The ladies at the front desk were the nicest, most accomodating hotel staff I have ever had the pleasure to meet.
We will most definitely be returning to this hotel on any future visit. I wish there were more Princess Anne's in the world.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelface07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Management at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2009

We are so glad that your experience here at the Princess Anne was phenomenal. Thank you for taking the time to compliment us. The gingerbread waffles are one of my favorites too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

This is a very nice B&B style inn, without all the over-the-top Victorian excess that often comes with a B&B. It is in a pleasant, older residential neighborhood a bit north of the city, but close enough to downtown by car. The decor of the inn is cleanly executed, tasteful, and has a nice Asheville style. The dining room is simple and beautiful, perfect for this style of inn. Snacks and wine, etc. are provided in late afternoon, and they were wonderful on our recent stay. Olives, cheese, crackers, nuts, dips, and spreads were all of high quality and very good. The wine selection was varied and perfectly fine. Guests can relax in a large living room or adjacent study, or on the front patio or nice back porch. Orange juice at breakfast was freshly squeezed--really fabulous. There is a local type coffee shop about a block away, within easy walking distance. The inn provides good parking.

Staff were all very cordial, unobtrusive, and professional.

Slight drawbacks to the inn are the following. 1) Breakfast begins at 8:30, a bit late for those of us who would like to get going in the morning. There is one selection at breakfast; if this is not satisfactory, guests may have yogurt and granola. Our first morning the offered dish was banana and raspberry crepes, which sound good, but I actually tire of goopey crepe offerings at B&Bs. I would have preferred a savory alternative or just toast or something continental. 2) In the room, it would be nice to have two luggage racks instead of just one. Two people need a place to put their luggage. 3) The bathroom needs a shelf or a place for two people to put their toiletries, instead of on the floor. 4) The flat screen tv in the room is a nice touch, but it's small. 5) Personnel never seemed to be at the desk. The inn should have a bell at the front desk for guests to summon staff. After all, guests need to check in and out, and ask questions.

Overall, this inn is a nice alternative to big hotels or overdone B&Bs. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TakesTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Asheville
315 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
820 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
776 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: $125 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing