We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveler rating
668
113
17
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
113
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon winecreaky floorssuperior suitewine and appetizerscharming hotelmini kitchenquiet neighborhoodcrackerssitting roomhors d'oeuvresbed and breakfastback porchtrufflehomemade granolaother guestsbreakfast was deliciouswalk downtown
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 800 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2017

Celebrating 39 years of marriage, gift from our daughter, who has stayed here a few times. Excellent staff, awesome breakfast, also pm reception with choices of wine and finger foods. Built in 1924, retains most of its originality, would stay here again. Also within walking distance of downtown Asheville to some fine eateries.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms, have no one above you, also construction in area with large trucks starting early am, no way to escape this.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ups1zeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2017

Congratulations on 39 years! We are so thrilled to have been a part of your special celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2016

Though we've been to Asheville many time, we typically stay with friends or in a hotel associated with a conference we are attending. In this case we were attending an event from friends and while looking for a B&B convenient to the number of places we had to be over the weekend we found the Princess Anne Hotel - a place we had never heard of prior to our search. As it turns out, the location was about as perfect as we could have hoped for, and so was the hotel!

The information we found online looked great, so we booked a room. The hotel is a charmingly updated 1924 structure with lots of style. It is old, but nicely modernized while still maintaining enough character (read: some creaky floors, creaky piping, a tiny elevator, and great architecture) to be pretty thoroughly charming. For example, it was a very cold weekend, but the heat in the room worked very efficiently and the shower was also nice and hot after just a bit of waiting.

Our room was quiet large and was appointed with everything needed for a weekend stay. There was a great bay window at the front of the room with a nice view of the front of the property which let is great light. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a nicely remodeled old space with good amenities. The walk in closet was also quite large and more than suited our needs.

The staff is very friendly, to the point, and unobtrusive. We did not have a need to interact with anyone very much over the weekend, but they seemed to have great knowledge of the area and were happy to provide assistance and advice if asked.

The included breakfast is served daily from 8:30 to 9:30. The food was very good, with three choices each morning. Tea, coffee, juices, and water were also available and all were good. If I had one comment, it would be I personally would appreciate breakfast started a bit earlier, but it certainly was not a deal breaker and time was not a huge impact to our weekend. I just happen to be an early riser...

A complimentary afternoon snack is also provided from 4:00 - 6:00 pm, and includes wine, soft drinks, cheeses, fruits, and meats, and other treats. It was nice and low key and another appreciated perk of our stay.

So while it's not likely we'll stay at the Hotel Anne many times in the future - we have those great friends we stay with, remember - we would recommend it to anyone traveling to Asheville and looking for a unique and local stay with lots of character and class.

Room Tip: We always like a top floor room. We had room 304 and it was just about perfect!
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike987S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2016

Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and detailed review! We appreciate it and thank you for staying with us! Happy holidays and we hope to see you again if you can't stay at your friend's' house!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2016 via mobile

Staff are fantastic, rooms are amazing and comfy, and the breakfast is really quite good. Wine and cheese each afternoon at 4PM is a cute touch.
Centrally located to Biltmore, downtown, and arts district and within walking distance to restaurants.
Only item of feedback is the claw foot tubs are a bit small and showering in one is quite an adventure for an average sized male :-)

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank CTopher81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate it! Most of our accommodations have a tiled shower rather than a tub, so next visit we will reserve one of those for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2016

We came here on our honeymoon trip and had a wonderful time. Situated just outside the downtown Asheville area, the hotel was beautifully restored and quiet. Breakfast included, happy hour cocktails and cozy fluffy robes and wonderful linen greeted us in a beautiful "small room" that wasn't small at all!

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtbdeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2016

We are honored you chose to spend your honeymoon with us and hope to see you for your anniversary! Congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016

The Princess Ann Hotel was the perfect place for a weekend get away. Our suite was fantastic... as we were on the second floor with a sitting room, a kitchen/den, and a wonderful bedroom/bath. The complimentary hors' d'oeuvres and wine hour allowed us to meet some of the other guests. Finally, the morning breakfast was fantastic.

Room Tip: Room 207 was a full suite with kitchenette, den, and bedroom/bath.
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2016

We love it when guests gather in the sitting room with each other and are so glad you had a great visit! Until next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews