We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (809)
Filter reviews
809 results
Traveler rating
674
114
19
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
674
114
19
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon wine creaky floors superior suite wine and appetizers charming hotel mini kitchen quiet neighborhood crackers sitting room hors d'oeuvres bed and breakfast back porch truffle homemade granola other guests breakfast was delicious walk downtown
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 809 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2016

The Princess Ann Hotel is located in a quiet residential area that is conveniently located to get to downtown and just about any other place you might want to go. The building, built in 1924, has national historic register status. The building is in beautiful condition. Our room was a suite with a large bedroom and a living room/kitchen that has a small refrigerator, a two burner cook top, microwave and sink. There is a TV in each room. The WiFi has worked great. The bed is very comfortable. The breakfasts are hearty and are probably the best included breakfast I have had anywhere. There is plenty of parking, both in the hotel lot and on the street. The public rooms are very nice. The only criticism I have is the sparseness of electrical outlets. Had to unplug a lamp to plug in my laptop. Both of us sleep with breathing machines and had to move the heavy bed to get to outlets behind it. It was a great place to stay and if we come back to Asheville, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Third (top) floor as the building is old and floors are creaky.
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackofPBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2016

Thank you for your sweet review and feedback, we really appreciate it. Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016 via mobile

I am a soli traveller i enjoyed a lot in this city and in this hotel particularly. I understand that it is a classic historical hotel since 1942 and it was enjoyable to experience such a life. However 3 major things was a little bit awkward:
1- the wooden tiles floors : yes they are beautiful and high classy however? I couldn't sleep because people movement on the upper floor and i am sure that i did the same for the lower floor ppl ( i feel sorry for them).
2- the water pressure was not that good for taking shower.
3- breakfast is so late. Starting at 8AM for a morning person didn't work with me
At the end: i would like to thank the hotel staff a lot there were so kind and professional and allover the experience was great. Loved it

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
Thank kismael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! The inn was built in 1924 and is on the Register of Historic Places, so there are indeed some quirks such as the original hardwood flooring! Apologies the time did not work for you for our complimentary breakfast, but we hope you were able to join us for wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon! We appreciate you staying with us and are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2016

My husband and I took our honeymoon in Asheville, NC this past week and chose to stay at the Princess Anne Hotel. I am now officially in love with this hotel and we have plans to come back for future anniversaries. We love the unique elegance of the hotel. It's spacious but cozy, and the breakfast was phenomenal! Can't wait to recommend to others and come back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms have a lot of natural light <3
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2016

We are so honored you chose our inn for your honeymoon and look forward to your anniversary stay! Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2016

Mid October couples trip to Asheville. We had never stayed at the Princess Anne before. It is a splendid place to stay. We had a queen suite. Everything was comfortable, clean and well maintained. The old fashioned elegance of the Princess Anne was great. Tall ceilings, the staircase, etc. We enjoyed sitting porch and having complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres while visiting with other guests the first night. The second night we sat at a cafe table at the entrance. Breakfast was perfect, quick and filling. There is a small kitchen in each suite. The hotel is close to downtown Ashevile and all it has to offer. There is also a grocery store a few blocks away if you are using the kitchenette and need supplies. Dish soap and dish towels are provided. I would highly recommend this hotel for those who like the bed and breakfast experience.

Room Tip: Slightly noisy on the second floor from the third floor rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Insatiable891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2016

Thank you for your thoughtful and lovely review! We appreciate your staying with us and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016

We stayed here 4 nights and were not disappointed. We had a queen suite which was huge: 2 rooms and 2 TV's. It had a small kitchenette but we only used the fridge because we ate out in all the wonderful restaurants. Breakfast was delicious as was the wine and goodies at night. Sure the floors are squeaky but that is part of the charm. The bathroom had a large shower and the wi fi was excellent. Also the staff is very friendly and helpful. Parking is either on the street or out back. All and all we had a terrific stay and will recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2016

Glad you enjoyed the quirky charm of our historic, boutique inn and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews