We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel w/ B&B Charm!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2008

My husband and I stumbled upon the Princess Anne hotel through an online email special from bedandbreakfast.com, and we're so glad we did! In addition to taking advantage of a greatly reduced rate for our 2 night stay in Asheville, we had a wonderful stay at the Princess Anne.

We arrived around 7:30pm and were greeted by a friendly young lady at check-in. She gave us the code to the front door (its locked for security after 9pm), the key to our room, and instructions on how to use the original elevator in the hotel. Parking was easy as there was plenty of space available on the street or in the full lot behind the hotel. The lobby was beautiful with all the charm you would expect to see in a victorian home. You can even request complimentary sodas at the front desk.

We stayed in a deluxe suite and were pleasantly surprised to find a kitchenette with microwave, fridge (stocked with 2 bottles of water), 2 burner stove, sink and coffee maker in the sitting room, along with a comfy sofa, table and chairs and the only tv in the suite. My husband was a little disappointed that the TV was so small (I'd say it was about 13-15 inches) and there wasn't one in the bedroom since it was football season, but we managed just fine. It was a flat screen and appeared to be pretty new.

Our bedroom was spacious. The bed and linens were quite comfy. Due to the age of the hotel, they made the smart decision of putting the sink in the bedroom because there simply wouldn't be room in the bathroom, which was truly only large enough for the toilet and shower. Everything was spotless and appeared to be meticulously kept. Amazing handmade chocolate truffles awaited us on the night stand. We felt like we had our own little mini apartment!

Breakfast each morning (included in the rate) was fantastic. It's served between 8:30-10am in the quaint and intimate dining room. Upon arrival, guests are able to select from the fresh juices, coffees, and teas, and can choose any available table. The daily breakfast choice is posted on the main table with the juices. Our first morning we both opted for the Denver omelette, sausage links, toast, and fresh fruit. The second morning we selected the blueberry french toast souffle and bacon, which was also served with fresh fruit. On both mornings the other choice was homemade granola, yougurt and fresh fruit, which also looked amazing. We were stunned at how fresh and plentiful the fruit was given that it was the middle of November! We were very impressed and satisfied with breakfast each morning. It was a great way to start our day.

The staff at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful. They offered maps of the city, driving/parking directions and dining suggestions. They even helped us find and make horseback riding reservations at Sandy Bottom Trails (about a 25 minute) drive. We thoroughly enjoyed our ride and the views.

Also included in the room rate was the daily wine and appetizers served in the main parlor from 4:30-6pm. The wine selection was more than we would have expected, and was accompanied with an assortment of cheeses, crackers, strawberries, and stuffed olives. It offered us a lovely little break at the end of a busy day of sightseeing before heading out to dinner.

When in Asheville, many people want to visit the Biltmore Estate, which we would highly recommend. Our advice would be to buy your tickets at Princess Anne before you go to the Estate They are the same price that you will pay at the Biltmore, but are good for TWO days instead of one! We regret we waited until the last day of our trip, because we wished we could have spent 2 days at the Biltmore. The wonderful staff at the Princess Anne gave us a fact sheet about the special events going on at the Biltmore that day (demonstrations, special tours,etc) and gave us fantastic recommendations to have lunch at the Bistro near the Biltmore Winery, which was an amazing experience!

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Princess Anne and would recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet stay with privacy and many small touches of hospitality. We think the hotel offered wi-fi, but we didn't bring our laptops. The staff was so helpful, friendly and full of good advice. The Princess Anne is a wonderful mix of historic charm and modern conveniences with a plentitude of Southern Hospitality!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 690 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2008

My husband and I spent one night at the Princess Anne Hotel and we had a very nice stay. With a friendly staff, cozy rooms, and quiet location, it is more like a B&B than a hotel. They even serve a delicious breakfast every morning in the beautiful dining room, which is included in your room rate.

A few details that we especially loved:

-complimentary wine and Hors d'œuvres between 4:30-6:00 daily
-spacious rooms
-central location to downtown, Grove Park Inn, and other activities
-free parking
-a staff that goes above and beyond on every detail

Will definitely recommend this hotel to friends visiting Asheville!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jrsmith324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

The only bad part about this hotel is that my husband and I could only stay for one night! :)

We came into town to see a band at the Orange Peel downtown, so we wanted to stay the night so we wouldn't have to drive back. Downtown is only a few blocks away, but you definitely want to drive there, not walk.

The hotel is charming! Large porch, courtyard with a fountain, birdfeeders, flowers...the works! Upon arrival, we checked in (no problems) and found our room upstairs. (One thing that was really neat is that the hall that our room was on had a motion sensor light that was only on when you walked toward it, so that cuts down on energy the hotel uses! Great idea!) The suite was more like an apartment. It had a great sitting area, kitchen, tv (some people on TripAdvisor complain that it is small, but why do you want to watch tv when you're in Asheville?!), a small bathroom with only a toilet and shower, and a bedroom with a large closet and sink. It also had large windows with wood blinds. It was a little awkward in the beginning to wash my hands in the bedroom, but I got used to it.

Breakfast was great too. We had an egg casserole thing (sorry, I can't remember what they called it), toast, bacon, fresh fruit (yummy!) and your choice of coffee or orange juice. You serve your own refreshments, which is nice, because you don't have to wait for the waiter to do it for you. We sat and ate our breakfast and read our complimentary newspaper while looking out of the window into the courtyard. Very relaxing!

I only wish we could have stayed longer, but we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovetraveling19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Princess Anne Hotel for 1 night over our anniversary weekend. We choose the hotel based on its proximity to downtown. We arrived a little after 3pm which was check in time and greeted by a friendly woman who went over a few details about the hotel and gave us our room keys. I must of mentioned on the phone when I booked that it was our anniversary as there was a bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived. We thought this was a very nice touch and most places would not have done that complimentary, great first impression. The room was nice and clean, comfortable bed, nice sitting area, fresh homemade biscotti, chocolate truffles and bottled water which were all nice extra touches. Although the room had a small bathroom which didn't have any shelves for our bathroom items. The room did not have an iron or ironing board, I know its an older hotel but these are essential items which I thought all hotels had. Luckily we had brought our iron but there was no board, we had to iron on the floor but no big deal. Wine and appetizers at 4:30pm were delicious. The wine selections were very good and they had a big spread of snacks to have with our wine. We thought this was the best social hour of all bed and breakfasts/hotels we have been to in Asheville. We like the idea of breakfast between 8:30-10am. This gives you the flexibility to eat breakfast when you want whether you are an early riser or like to sleep in. We were looking forward to breakfast as we had enjoyed the social hour the night before. We came down at about 9:30am and they had coffee/tea out for you to help yourself. I am a decaf coffee drinker which was in a separate carafe. I poured the coffee and it was ice cold, I had to ask for it to be microwaved. My husband drank regular and again his was in a large heated carafe but was also luke warm. I don't know about you but coffee is the way we start our day and on a chilly morning, cold coffee was not good. We were made aware that the breakfast would be a tomato and cheese omelet. We were served a few minuted later, the omelet was not good at all. The eggs were barely cooked and runny. There was a yellow tomato inside which was good but the omelet itself was just too mushy to eat, there was bread, fruit and grits served also which we didn't care for. Can you say huge disappointment, we had a great impression of this place so far but at a bed and breakfast the breakfast is half the part. We checked out that morning around 10am and had to stop for breakfast on our way home. We would return as their prices are very reasonable and we felt at home at the Princess Anne but hopefully the breakfast next time will be a little better.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacation920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

We stayed Thursday thru Sunday morning. Our suite was very comfortable and the staff was fantastic - very friendly, accommodating and helpful. They answered all our questions and assisted with booking taxi service to downtown. They were also able to give us directions and make suggestions for places to visit.

The breakfast each day was well prepared and presented and served quickly. It was so nice to have a selection of tea for me the non-coffee drinker. The water in the fridge, nightly chocolates and selection of tea, coffee and biscotti in the room was very nice.

We enjoyed sitting on the covered porch and talking with another couple visiting from London during the late afternoon while we had wine and appetizers.

The TV may have been small compared to the one at home but we were not there to watch TV and to just get the news it was fine. An extra shelf in the bathroom for toiletries and a box of tissues would be nice.

We liked the quiet neighborhood and ample parking.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tav73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Charming hotel with a good location. Staff is extemely friendly. Loved our one bedroom suite. The afternoon wine and cheese and morning breakfast is a wonderful perk. Highly recommend--plan on going back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Charlotte28203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

My husband and I visited for a long weekend in Janaury. We booked the hotel through their website and when we arrived we were not disappointed!

The inn is just a short drive to downtown. There is an ample parking lot so you do not have to worry about parking on the street. When we arrived in the afternoon we were greeted with wine and snacks. This was a nice added bonus for the weekend. There were two common rooms at the inn - a living room and study. The study was full of items / brochures about Asheville.

We booked a grand suite room. It had a living room, small kitchen, bedroom, bathroom and plenty of closet space. The room was nicely furnished...we felt at home right away. My only complaint was that it was hard to get in and out of the clawfoot tub when taking a shower! The bed was very comfortable and we found ourselves taking naps each afternoon after sightseeing.

The breakfast each morning was tasty. There was juice, coffee and water to pick from. We had french toast one morning and and egg frittata the next.

Overall, we had a great experience. We would definitely return and are planning to do so soon.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Clemsontiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
801 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $151 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing