We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is everything you could want in a B&b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princess Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is everything you could want in a B&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I came here for a getaway and fell in love with it the moment we walked in. Beautifully decorated, cozy common area with fire place. Bedroom was so pretty, very spacious and the bed had very good mattress with really nice linens. Breakfast was excellent and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. Location is wonderful. I can't say that I would change one thing about this place. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much or all the nice things you had to say about the Princess Anne! We're happy to hear you wouldn't change a thing. We anticipate your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    92
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
72
435
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eden, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were looking for a place near or in downtown to stay for two days while we came into town for a concert at the US Cellular center. Just happened to come across this gem in our search, and thought we would try it. Boy are we glad we did! We usually stay at another location when we come to Asheville each year, but we will be looking to stay here next time we come into town! The charm of the older building, and all the little quirks that come along with that are what my wife and I loved. We had a suite on the second floor and were very pleased with the appointments. The room was very comfortable, had individual a/c units in the bed room and living room, and was very clean. The breakfast every day was fantastic, and it was nice to have an actual fresh meal to start your day with then the typical hotel breakfast. The hotel staff were more than pleasant, and extremely helpful. The hotel was able to provide us with Biltmore tickets when my wife and I chose to go on our second day there. We were extremely close to downtown and convenient to many restaurants and shopping. We highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a unique experience while staying in Asheville. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the premier suite and it was perfect for our little romantic weekend. We didn't nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We're so happy to hear that you stumbled across our hotel, and loved it! Thank you for the fantastic review, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Originally planned to stay at another hotel further outside of town, but changed directions and went with the Princess Anne. Boy am I glad we did!!! Truly one of the best experiences that we've had at a hotel or B&B. The "hotel" in the name is definitely deceptive, because it is far from your average hotel. The staff at the front desk were extremely positive and welcoming, the rooms were clean & quaint, and you really get bang for your buck. The complimentary wine & hors d'oeurves in the evening and the complimentary breakfast in the AM were both fantastic. My wife had Belgian waffles and I had a sausage and gouda strata that really started the day off in the right way. We will most certainly be staying at the Princess Anne again!

A word of note - this didn't bother us, but could see it being an issue for others. The structure is old (circa 1924) and so the floors creak and the walls are thin. If you are a light sleeper, this might be an issue. However, the age of the building certainly adds to the charm!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are delighted to hear you had a well-rounded boutique hotel/bed and breakfast experience at the Princess Anne. We anticipate your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great place...historic yet has modern conveniences. Room was like a mini apartment. Old time charm and very clean. Location was perfect. Close enough to downtown to walk but getting around by car was no problem. Staff was friendly and helpful with a recommendation list of places to eat right when checking in. Breakfast was top notch and gourmet. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of the Princess Anne! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location, breakfast and everything in between. Thank you for your high recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Wide hallways built to capture airflow, hardwoods, kitchenettes with fridge, individual HVAC controls, but be ready to convert temperature from Celsius to Fahrenheit. Happy, professional staff. Large lounge area with fireplace, side porch, breakfast area with tablecloths and hot food made to order. Huge suites with multiple rooms, but would have preferred a queen or king size bed and firmer mattress. Enjoyed the afternoon wine and snacks, too. Not within reasonable walking distance to downtown, but very close to everything. A relaxing atmosphere for chilling out. Did find dead flies on the windows when raising the blinds, and the blinds were dusty - just a small lack of attention to detail.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms do not have to worry about folks above you walking about on hardwood floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and thank you for your valuable feedback. We recommend if you stay with us again that you request a third floor room. Due to the space in our historic hotel we are not able to have King sized beds in the hotel. However, every bed in the hotel is queen sized. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at this hotel. It is so historic and beautiful. It's absolutely full of character. The rooms are suites that are very large and include a nice kitchenette, separate living room, and bedroom. The room was filled with windows that let in tons of natural light. The breakfast was delicious, and were the snacks and wine provided each afternoon. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The only things we did not like were: the small bathroom--there is no tub, just a large shower, and the sink/vanity is actually in the bedroom; the noise from the people stomping around upstairs--I don't think that most people would be this noisy, I certainly don't feel that we were, but that's the chance you take having hardwoods and being beneath another room; and lastly the location is ok--the hotel is a quick 5 minutes from the beautiful Grove Park Inn, and close to downtown, but only walking distance IF the weather is optimal. There are a couple of restaurants and a bakery very close by. However, since this is not your typical hotel, and more like a B&B, you have to expect that it is going to be in more of a residential neighborhood. We would certainly stay here again, but we would ask for a top level room just in case.

Room Tip: Try to get a top level room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We often tell people the Princess Anne is a Bed and Breakfast and Hotel hybrid. Please give us a call next time you come to visit and we will try our best to put you in a third floor Premier Suite with a clawfoot bathtub. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

For a hotel that was built in the 20s, this holds up as a modern getaway for couples, small groups or single travelers. The Princess Anne is a beautiful old house that has some old world charm (such as a sink in the bedroom versus the bath) but has been retrofitted to support modern life (free wifi that reaches every room). The location is perfect for visiting Asheville, it is easy walking distance from downtown, several pubs, cafes and Trader Joes. If you want to see the Biltmore, get your tickets here because you get 2 days for the price of 1!

The breakfasts were delicious and the wine and hors d'oeuvres were divine. We happened to be there during a winter storm that basically closed the city down. The staff made calls to find restaurants that were still open for dinner, and offered extra food from the kitchen. In the morning, I asked to borrow a shovel but they shoveled out our car while we had breakfast. That's just a hint of the fantastic service you get here!
If we are ever back in Asheville, this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: The suite with the kitchenette comes with microwave, mini fridge and stove top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astronette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for detailing all of the things you loved about staying at the Princess Anne! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about the hotel from the real keys to the room upgrade. We anticipate your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Property: Princess Anne Hotel
Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing