We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent romantic and elegant weekend get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this charming hotel. Our suite was very spacious, very nicely accented and had all the modern amenities one appreciates today. Spending some time in the library at the large open fire-place and enjoying some wine and hors-d'oeuvres was very relaxing and the home-made breakfast the next morning was delicious. Best of all, exceptionally friendly and personalized service and staff that is genuinely interested in making your stay a great experience.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is top floor and our suite was spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wormserami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

We were delighted to hear about your wonderful stay at the Princess Anne! It is great to know that our staff made you feel so welcome. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 717 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Fantastic and charming. Hotel had the greatest inclusive breakfast that we have ever had. Will not hesitate to stay here again. Only a couple of minor drawbacks. The pillows in the room were flat and hard, and somewhat uncomfortable, but if you like firm pillows you are set. The other drawback is that the hotel is not downtown, but just outside in a very quiet neighborhood (which creates a home like feel which is nice). It is maybe a 3 minute drive to downtown or a twenty minute walk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

We appreciate all of your kind comments and your valuable feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and most everything else about your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel has a tired elegance about it. The staff are amazing - very helpful and always smiling. Our room was a little dated but the bed was very comfortable and it was spacious. Breakfast was lovely. We found it an easy walk into town so there was no need to drive and search for parking. We would definitely stay again if we returned to Asheville.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank scully1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review! Thank you for the feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I went to Asheville for a couple days, before meeting our friends in the mountains of Georgia. We loved our stay at the Princess Anne, and the people there were very friendly, and helpful. Anna was the best. The wine and cheese in the afternoons was great, and the breakfasts we had both mornings were plentiful, and delicious. I liked how we had a small sitting room in the hotel, besides the bedroom, with kitchen, and coffee pot, and extras. Bathroom was small, but the only thing I wish it had, was a hook in there for hanging up my gown. Sink was in the bedroom, but luckily we both got up at the same time. Mattress was a little soft in the middle. Otherwise, we had a very enjoyable stay. I found the lighting was adequate. I liked reading the history of the hotel, and what is used to be. It has been there since 1924.

Room Tip: We had a good room with the street directly below. we were on the third floor, and it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy60805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about the Princess Anne! We are happy the staff and accommodations made for a great trip, we hope to see you in the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The PA looks lovely from the outside - understated, on a quiet residential street. It's NOT in the main downtown area (which you could believe from the website). That's quite a walk and uphill on the way back.
The staff are great - friendly and ready to help, but we were disappointed on the whole. Our room/suite was just so uninviting. Though there was a nice view down on the back fountain, the walls were painted poorly (splotchy) with the sleeping room in what I can only call meconium green (look it up). Decor looked like someone raided a cheap 2nd hand shop for unconnected bits and pieces. Lighting was unwelcoming. The sitting area was attached to the sleeping area (both cramped) by a strange narrow hallway. The bathroom had a tiny table and then empty space. We looked, but there were only hand towels for the shower. This was in a claw-foot tub which rocked when you stood in it so we almost fell and had to help each other.
Water got hot and cold indiscriminately. The toilet seat was too small for the fixture (very unpleasant).
The kitchenette WAS nice. No complaints there.
It just seems that for the money we spent, the room should have been a place we wanted to be, rather than one we avoided.

Room Tip: Try to get the view over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruhu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We are happy to hear that the staff was helpful during your say, that you found the outside of the hotel lovely and the location as promised. We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your suite! Thank you for all your valuable feedback about your stay! If you stay with us again we will be sure to put you in a room with a view of the fountain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We prefer smaller hotels, bed & breakfast accommodations The Princess Anne was just what we were looking for. The staff is very accommodating, the complimentary breakfast & afternoon wine & cheese were delightful We loved the different outdoor seating areas also. We will come back

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marbleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We appreciate all the kind things you had to say about our hotel! Thank you, we hope to see you in the Princess Anne soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the entire experience. We only wish our stay had been longer. We have stayed at nearby BnBs but found this to be equal or superior. The staff was friendly and attentive. Unlike most BnBs we could choose when to arrive for breakfast and the food was excellent. We found it to be an easy walk to downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptakerSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for writing a lovely review of the Princess Anne! We hope that you can plan a longer stay in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Asheville
317 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
820 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
777 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#15 of 68 in Asheville
6,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: $127 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing