We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I love the Princess Anne Hotel! I have stayed there several times in the past four years, and I
Have always had a perfectly wonderful stay there. The hotel is clean, comfortable, quiet, and the staff helpful. The breakfast is the best ! I would not stay anywhere else in Asheville. I prefer the quiet atmosphere over the busy resort environment of the bigger hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you Susan for the "Perfect" Review! We are delighted to hear that you continually have a great stay at the Princess Anne. We look forward to seeing you in the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    94
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
437
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a perfect bed and breakfast in a quiet residential neighborhood. The hotel staff meet every need, from the afternoon wine to the perfect breakfast. The rooms are very clean, and the beds are comfortable. The hotel has sitting areas inside and out. They provided us with wine glasses and utensils so a large group could eat lunch on the side porch. At the end of the busy day, we gathered in anther comfortable room to unwind. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I shared a suite,and we had more than enough room and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knowitall_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We were delighted to hear that you had such a lovely experience at the Princess Anne! It was great to hear that all your needs and the needs of your group were accommodated. Thank you so much for recommending us so highly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Princess Anne now feels like home. I have made it my only place to stay when in Asheville a few times a year. The staff is welcoming and gracious. They cannot do enough for you. I had a medical meeting this past Friday which started before breakfast hours and Jennifer (night manager) had put a granola plate complete with delicious vanilla yogurt and fresh fruit in my refrigerator on Thursday evening while I was out to dinner, so I would have something in the AM. The wine and hors d'oeuvres served nightly from 4:30 until 6:00 PM are just excellent, as is the cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. You will not find a hotel anywhere else in Asheville offering this level of hospitality for such reasonable rates. The rooms are quiet, comfortable and reminiscent of the hotel's 1924 vintage and the atmosphere is just wonderful. The Princess Anne is the perfect size, too. With 15 rooms, it is large enough so as not to feel intrusive like some B&B's do, yet small enough to have every need noticed and met quickly and efficiently. Oh yes- they put the most delicious chocolate truffles beside your bed each day - not to mention complimentary bottles of water and amazing biscotti! .The Grove Park Inn is at least $100.00 more per night with no wine hour, no breakfast and you have to pay for your water..No contest whatsoever as to where I would rather stay!!! .

Room Tip: Rooms and suites on the third floor are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatalanYankeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We are honored to have you as a regular at the Princess Anne! We are so happy to hear about your lovely experience, thank you so much for taking the time to share it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Princess Anne B&B is unassuming, in a quiet neighborhood, away from the nightlife of downtown. But yet, it is only a mile away from most of the activities in downtown Asheville. The Hotel is like an old 1930s building, but yet has everything you would need. There is an elevator that has the look and feel of something from years gone by, but yet works great for moving luggage to your room, or the lobby. The room had both a living room and a bedroom, along with a mini kitchen. There was a TV in each room, and wifi in the room. There was lots of living space in the unit. No tub, just a shower, but the shower was larger than mine at home.
The breakfast each morning was delicious. It kept me filled until late afternoon. They offered 3 breakfast entrees each morning. There was something for everyone. And plenty of juice and coffee.
The room I had (#205) looked out across the street. I did not hear anyone above or next to me.
You can walk to downtown, but it is up hill coming back.
They offered wine at happy hour, but we were never back in time to join in this event.
Everyone who worked the front desk was cheerful and helpful.
We found this hotel with a coupon which made the price comparable to other places in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing all the great details of your stay! We are happy to hear that you appreciate all details about the Princess Anne Hotel! We anticipate your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at Princess Ann. It is a pleasure to use a hotel where excellence is consistent.

Yes, the wood floors do squeak. But this building is a historic structure and that goes with the territory.

The staff is friendly and welcoming. The breakfast offerings are delicious as are the afternoon wine and food offerings.

This is a great place to stay in Asheville.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuardDog61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We were delighted to read your review of the Princess Anne. It is wonderful to hear that your second stay was as great as your first. Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a very good hotel, away from the hub-bub of a vibrant, cool city. The hotel staff is quite good and very friendly and so were the guests -- but, if you want quiet, you got to look elsewhere. As the hotel info booklet in the room states: the walls are thin. And if there's somebody above your room -- forget about sleeping until you want to. You are up whenever the people above you walk around. Ugh. If you want to stay here, take the third floor and earplugs.

Room Tip: Only go for the top, third floor -- if you want peace and quiet in the morning or late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Princess Anne. We are happy that you were pleased with the staff and ambiance of the hotel. We are so sorry to hear that the noise of your neighbors in our historical hotel kept you up at night! We thank you again for your valuable input and hope that if you return, you will allow us to put you in our quietest suite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I cannot say enough about the staff at the Princess Anne. Everyone was so helpful, and the hotel is charming. The breakfast was a perfect way to begin a busy day, and we took advantage of the afternoon wine and appetizers each day. The location is also great- close enough to walk downtown without all of the noise and activity. Thanks for a wonderful girl trip, we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We hope the Princess Anne is your new mother-daughter destination! It is wonderful to know that our staff was so accommodating and that your stay was so pleasant! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Property: Princess Anne Hotel
Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing