We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence remains consistent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellence remains consistent.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at Princess Ann. It is a pleasure to use a hotel where excellence is consistent.

Yes, the wood floors do squeak. But this building is a historic structure and that goes with the territory.

The staff is friendly and welcoming. The breakfast offerings are delicious as are the afternoon wine and food offerings.

This is a great place to stay in Asheville.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuardDog61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We were delighted to read your review of the Princess Anne. It is wonderful to hear that your second stay was as great as your first. Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    94
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
441
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a very good hotel, away from the hub-bub of a vibrant, cool city. The hotel staff is quite good and very friendly and so were the guests -- but, if you want quiet, you got to look elsewhere. As the hotel info booklet in the room states: the walls are thin. And if there's somebody above your room -- forget about sleeping until you want to. You are up whenever the people above you walk around. Ugh. If you want to stay here, take the third floor and earplugs.

Room Tip: Only go for the top, third floor -- if you want peace and quiet in the morning or late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Princess Anne. We are happy that you were pleased with the staff and ambiance of the hotel. We are so sorry to hear that the noise of your neighbors in our historical hotel kept you up at night! We thank you again for your valuable input and hope that if you return, you will allow us to put you in our quietest suite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I cannot say enough about the staff at the Princess Anne. Everyone was so helpful, and the hotel is charming. The breakfast was a perfect way to begin a busy day, and we took advantage of the afternoon wine and appetizers each day. The location is also great- close enough to walk downtown without all of the noise and activity. Thanks for a wonderful girl trip, we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We hope the Princess Anne is your new mother-daughter destination! It is wonderful to know that our staff was so accommodating and that your stay was so pleasant! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A wonderful experience that I look forward to repeating! The daily breakfast (included) is so delicious! The staff is friendly and helpful, very knowledgable of the area. More like staying in a friends comfortable home than a hotel!

Room Tip: We had one of the regular suites and it had the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that the Princess Anne was your "Perfect Getaway"! Thank you for sharing your kind words about your stay in the hotel. We hope to see you on your next trip to Asheville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nicer than chain hotel, but not lacking some of the conveniences.
The location is a bit far out of town - walkable but not the best route -- our local hosts insisted we should not walk to downtown. But, being out of town has the advantage that it is very quiet - no bar noise. Unfortunately, we did hear other visitors when they came back at night and in the morning: next door neighbor had bad allergies & upstairs resident apparently needed a few more steps on the pedometer, so was pacing frantically.
Breakfast was limited to 3 very filling options & could easily make changes for dietary restrictions.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, but we could never find the ice machine (very European) - ice could have been provided in the turndown or in the mini-fridge. Housekeeping was very good, and actually provided chocolates and toiletries after the first night.
We would stay again but suggest this is not convenient if you don't have a car.

Room Tip: upper floor so you don't have people walking on your head
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysPacked2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Princess Anne! We are happy to hear that you had an overall good experience and that you would stay at the hotel again. We apologize for the inconvenience of not having an ice maker in the hallway of our hotel. Due to the fact we are a 16 suite historical hotel we only have the space for one large ice maker in our main kitchen. We hope that everything else was enjoyable and that our staff was accommodating to your every need! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just got back from a two night stay at the Princess Anne and it was wonderful. You cannot beat the service that you receive here. Everyone is cheerful and so welcoming. My husband and I both thought the breakfast was amazing. The blueberry almond pancakes were awesome! The location is great as downtown is just around the corner. The employees were great with finding us great restaurants to eat at.

The room was very nice. It had so many special touches with chocolate truffles, great soaps, nice tea & coffee and even biscotti. We hope to return to the Princess Anne very soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We were thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us at the Princess Anne! Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We hope to see you soon for another "perfect" stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The employees at the front desk (Ana & Robert) were very helpful with suggestions.
The breakfast was very good and always changing. The cocktail hour (4:40 pm to 6 pm)
with quality wines and snacks was a pleasure while sitting on the front or back porch and visiting with other guests. The room was very nice and clean. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We were thrilled to hear that you "loved" your stay at the Princess Anne! Thank you for detailing how much you enjoyed everything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Property: Princess Anne Hotel
Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing