We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Princess Anne has it all--comfort, convenience, personality. It has the charm of age but has been modernized just enough. Downtown is just minutes away (you can walk easily, if you're so inclined), but the neighborhood is quietly residential. Breakfast was perhaps the best I've had at a B&B, and the wine and nibbles each afternoon could almost be a meal. The staff couldn't be more helpful. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Asheville!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about the Princess Anne Hotel. We were delighted to hear that our staff, location and wine and hors d'oeuvres are "Simply the Best". We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    98
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
454
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We'd stayed there a few years back, wasn't sure what to expect. Not only has the charm maintained but they've found a way to raise the bar and make it an even more memorable stay. The staff have nothing but solid suggestions of "things to do" on the local area, and we took them up on a restaurant idea that was the best meal we ate all week.

We're coming back, and a lot sooner next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotoCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are happy to hear you will be back at the Princess Anne Hotel soon! It was also great to hear that we helped you enjoy your entire Asheville visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay here, and it continues to be the best B and B we have stayed at. It is truly more a posh hotel with amazing breakfasts ( three distinct choices each morning) as well as a fantastic happy hour with delicious appetizers. We arrived past happy hour and the woman at the front
Desk, after hearing of our long driving day, took the time to get us a welcoming glass of wine. The owner and staff are so helpful and welcoming! Rooms are quiet and comfortable with elevator access. Even with two rainy days there, it was sunny and inviting! Don't miss this jewel when visiting this fun city!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha3312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We appreciate the wonderful descriptions of the Princess Anne! We were happy to hear that you even enjoyed your rainy days here. We look forward to seeing you in the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our stay at the Princess Anne was one of a kind. This beautiful bed and breakfast was such a pleasant surprise. Anna's warm greeting was just the tip of the iceberg. The evening wine and appetizers tasted even better in the lovely library. Our room was spacious and beautifully appointed. In the morning, we thoroughly enjoyed healthy and hearty breakfast.
Our trip was designed to see the Biltmore, but the star of the trip was the Princess Anne!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windycitycrawdads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to write such a nice review about the Princess Anne Hotel! We are happy to hear that we were the "star" of your trip. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went on a SniqueAway offer with a nice discount off the regular rate. This B&B hotel is an older 3-story structure in a wooded residential area. It has been renovated and well maintained. Ample parking in the rear, nice landscaping, comfortable lounging areas inside and out, staff very friendly. John at the front desk allowed us to check-in early, and was helpful suggesting where to visit and how to get there. The hotel's location is a little off the beaten path, but the walk to downtown was not too strenuous, and enjoyed the older homes and scenery along the way. Asheville, home of authors Thomas Wolf and O Henry, is sort of like the San Francisco of NC, with several classical art deco buildings, used bookstores, antiques, street musicians, statues, parks, a Mast General Store, and plenty of good restaurants. We had lunch about 2:30 at the Tupelo Honey, and despite the late hour, it was still a 45-minute wait. Using MapMyWalk, I figure we logged 3.3 miles our first day. Our hotel suite was roomy with a living room and kitchenette and separate bedroom, with WC off the hallway and a lavatory in the BR. The bed was very comfortable, and noise level was very quiet. Had a little trouble using the heating and cooling (metric units, hand controls a little complicated). While we were gone we missed the complimentary wine and cheese served from 4:30-6:00. The next morning we enjoyed a large breakfast with fresh fruit, scrambled eggs with lots of extras folded into the mix (including asparagus -- never had THAT in my eggs before, but will again), sausage, toast, great coffee, and several juices. After checking out, we took John's advice and visited a botanical garden a couple of miles to the north, then spent the rest of the day exploring Biltmore Estate, the largest house in the U.S. since 1895 and still privately owned by the builders descendents. All-in-all, a nice anniversary celebration, and the Princess Anne Hotel deserves a good deal of the credit.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on 3rd floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barberrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice and detailed review of the Princess Anne Hotel! We are happy to hear that you took advantage of our location by walking to town and that you loved the breakfast. We are sorry to hear that you had a little confusion when using your heating system, we hope we can help clear up any confusion on your next visit. Thank again for taking the time to share your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

On our trip to Asheville we stayed at 3 locations, one of them a 5 star. This was our favorite of all, thank you so much Anna, you are a jewel !

We loved the location and the wonderful breakfast every morning. The room was clean and comfortable, it was so nice to have the little kitchen for coffee every morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
It was delightful to hear that The Princess Anne was your favorite place to stay in Asheville! We are happy to hear the location, breakfast and local coffee fit all your needs. We anticipate your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is listed in the Historic Register. It deserves it! The suite was so comfortable, the breakfast served in the diing room was delicious. It was conveniently located, the staff was very helpful and friendly. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverspirit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write us such a lovely review! Thank you for letting us know what you loved about the Princess Anne Hotel. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
249 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 66 in Asheville
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Property: Princess Anne Hotel
Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing