We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is one of the most charming places you can stay in, I would bet, all of North Carolina. The location is right off Charlotte Street which connects you to downtown Asheville. It's a bit of a walk downtown but no biggie on a sunny, warm day. The rooms here are so comfortable, and I so enjoyed the "happy hour" with wine and cheese. I also loved the breakfast as it was sort of a "set" menu instead of just a buffet. I now live in Asheville, but it's my go-to recommendation for folks who are looking for a relaxing stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We are so happy to hear that you will be joining us as a resident of Asheville! It's unfortunate we can't have you as a guest as often but we hope you will come by to see us. Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your wonderful experiences at the Princess Anne Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 692 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently stayed at the Princess Anne for a weekend get away with my wife. We absolutely loved our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. Our bed was extremely comfortable and the room had a nice little kitchen area. The front desk staff was very helpful with dinner suggestions. The breakfast each morning was a highlight of the weekend. We will definitely return

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandw869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

We appreciate your kind review of the Princess Anne! We are delighted to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and the staff helpful. We anticipate your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This past weekend we had the best time at Princess Anne Hotel. The Happy Hour was so nice and the accomadations were great. The breakfast in the morning was super. Thank you for a very nice visit. The customer service was outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us at the Princess Anne Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to say such nice things about us in your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel is every elegantly furnished, quiet, charming, and on the National Register of Historic Places. The staff is gracious and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are fairly small since they are original, but they couldn't be more comfortably furnished. We loved it. Can hardly wait to visit again..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to detail all the things you loved about the Princess Anne! We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the comfort of the suites as well as the excellent customer service we constantly strive for. We know we will see at the hotel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Princess Anne Hotel. The staff was helpful and attentive, and we enjoyed great conversation with other guests during the appetizer and wine hour. Breakfast was delicious, healthy, and tasted very fresh. We also really loved that it was from 8:30-10 instead of super early as is the case with other places.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

We appreciate you detailing your "Awesome Stay" at the Princess Anne! We are happy to hear you had a great time in Asheville and even made friends with other guests at the hotel. We can't wait to see you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here Feb 2013 What a hidden gem. We are seniors but could walk to town from here. A great city Asheville, alot to do great stores great pubs and food. But the best was live music everywhere, your choice. The B&B was wonderful 2 rooms a living room area with small kitchen and separate bedroom Every afternoon wine and wonderful appetizers. Oh the breakfast was the best ! John at desk was very helpful with the area. There was always a welcome fire going when got back to hotel.You are making a mistake if you don't book here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexmanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We were delighted to hear your fantastic review of our hotel! We are happy to hear you took advantage of our convenient location, walking into town and seeing all that Asheville has to offer. We know that we will see you at the Princess Anne next time you are in Asheville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here on a short getaway to Asheville as I had found a good deal on Sniqueaway. We wanted to stay in a Bed-n-Breakfast that was close to downtown so we could walk to restaurants/bars at night and the Princess Anne fit the bill.

Overall, we had a great stay and really enjoyed the inn. It's a nicely restored property in very good condition. The common areas (breakfast room, sitting areas, etc...) are nicely decorated and the rooms are relatively modern, clean and spacious. This is a great place if you want a mix between a hotel/inn and a bed-n-breakfast. It's larger than many B&Bs so provides some privacy but also maintains some of the amenities. Here is a quick break-down:

Outside/Location: Nice lighting at night, newly painted and in very good condition, porches and sitting areas (several of them) had furniture that was in good condition and would be enjoyable in warmer weather (it was in the 30s when we were there). There is plenty of parking behind the house and on the street around the hotel. Not much of a view as the hotel is located in a residential area, though there is a nice little sitting area in the back with a fountain and nice landscaping. It is about a 20 minute walk (hilly) to downtown Asheville through residential and mixed-use neighborhoods, then under the freeway and into the city. We felt safe (there was no one out in the cold weather), but it wasn't the most scenic walk, especially as you pass under the freeway, next to the YMCA, and into the city. The City Bakery and a Fuddrucker's are located just one block away, you pass them on your walk into the city.

Common Areas (dining room, living room, etc...): All are very nicely painted, decorated and furnished. There are quite a few large windows in the dining room that overlook the backyard/courtyard, very nice for enjoying your morning breakfast. The room also was quite large with many separate tables (2-person tables) for enjoying breakfast together or alone, and could probably accommodate most of the Inn at one time. The common space had several different sitting areas and a nice gas fireplace for socializing, reading a book, or enjoying the evening hors d'oeuvres.

Food/Amenities: The breakfast was very good, with a choice of three different entrees each morning, typically an egg-based dish, a bread-based (pancakes/french toast), or healthy (house-made granola, yogurt, etc...). All of it was fresh, nicely prepared, with diverse ingredients. The wine and hors d'oeuvres were also pretty good, several different white/red wines offered and a nice selection of nuts/meats/cheese, olives, some veggies, etc....

Room: We had a superior suite located in the corner on the 3rd floor. It was a 2-room suite with a nice sitting area and kitchenette, queen bed, bathroom with walk-in shower and toilette, and a sink in the bedroom. The bathroom was just too small to accomodate the sink, but that was ok, it worked out well for us. The queen bed was relatively comfortable, but not great. The shower had great pressure and temperature, and the bathroom fixtures were all in very good condition and relatively new.

Positives:
- good location (20 minute walk to downtown, quiet residential area)
- very good condition (fresh paint), not musty at all (some B&Bs are)
- relatively modern rooms, bath fixtures, etc...
- good breakfast and afternoon wine/snacks
- truffles, house-made biscotti and good coffee in the rooms
- very reasonably priced
- friendly staff

Negatives:
- restored hardwoods are creaky (luckily we were on the 3rd floor)
- wall-mounted electric heaters in rooms provide uneven heat (hard to maintain a constant temp)
- location of heater in bedroom blew right over bed onto our faces (I'm a light sleeper and this wasn't too bad, I was still able to sleep fine, but it was noticeable and not ideal)
- small TV (<30") in sitting area

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor if squeaky hardwood floors bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yoontaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience at the Princess Anne Hotel! We are happy to hear that much of your stay was enjoyable and that you found the hotel accommodating to your traveling needs. We are glad that you stayed in a third floor suite in the hotel, lighter sleepers can sometimes be bothered by the squeaking of our historically restored floors. We hope that you will return soon and will be delighted to know that we are installing larger TV's in all the rooms and suites! Thanks again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
802 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,632 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $151 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing