We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally Found the Perfect Asheville Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We've been to Asheville several times, and have finally found the perfect boutique inn. Originally built in 1924, the inn has been restored to perfection - the feel of a 1924 inn with the best of today's amenities and comfort. John checked us into our suite, and was very helpful in giving directions and making reservations for us. Thank you, John! We were delighted with our suite - a small living room, a nicely furnished kitchen, a very comfortable bedroom and an ample, well appointed bathroom with plenty of good towels and a lot of high quality soaps, shampoos, conditioners, etc. Several closets, as was so typical of hotels in the past, gave us plenty of room for suitcases, purchases and the coats we needed when the weather turned cool. The inn is located about a mile from downtown Asheville with its myriad of restaurants and galleries, go a little further and you're at the River Arts District. The staff hosts an afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres reception which includes drinks, cheese, fresh fruit, meats and a variety of crackers and breads. Perfect before-dinner fare, and beautifully laid in the living room. Breakfast is a treat; guests are offered three breakfast choices each day. We had delicious choices, including cheese grits with spinach, topped with eggs and served with hot toasted artisan bread and fresh fruit, but the choices that day also included pumpkin pancakes or hot oatmeal. As foodies, we were delighted with the choices as well as the preparation and service. Important to note that the dining room includes real linens and flowers. Guests really feel pampered. We will go back to Asheville, and we will stay at the Princess Anne. We have no complaints about the inn, the service, the food or the safety. It was a terrific weekend.

Room Tip: We loved having a suite for the long weekend, plenty of room to spread out, plenty of room for the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoFudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

We are thrilled to hear that the Princess Anne is your "Perfect Inn"! We enjoyed hearing the details of all the things you loved about staying with us. Thank you for such a kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 699 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just got back from Asheville and thoroughly enjoyed myself once again at the Princess Anne. This small circa 1924 hotel of 16 rooms offers the perfect combination of elegance and relaxation. Last night was chilly, so management lighted a fire in the living room where good quality wines and delicious hors d'oeuvres are served every afternoon at 4:30. Such a nice touch and so appreciated. Breakfast is also included with your room and one may select from three cooked-to-order meals. The Orange Cranberry French Toast with applewood smoked bacon and fresh fruit was the highlight for me this time. The coffee is great, too! And served at linen-covered tables with linen napkins and fresh flowers in the bud vases. Nothing is too much trouble for the Princess Anne staff. Pleasant personalities and warm smiles. Since I have to be in Asheville three or four times a year, I have become a regular at this lovely, privately-owned hotel. Give them a call. You will be much happier here!!!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have no floor creak above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatalanYankeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you loved so many things about the Princess Anne Hotel. We hope to be preparing you another delicious breakfast soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were only able to stay the one night, but had a fantastic experience. The nice touch of wine and apps in the late afternoon was great. The room/suite was spacious and very comfortable and the location ideal for downtown Asheville. The service we received from start to finish was top notch. Next time we go back to Asheville this will definitely be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlbinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We are delighted to hear that we made such a great impression, even though you only stayed for one night. Thank you for such a kind review! We are happy to hear you found your room comfortable, and the location convenient. We look forward to you booking a longer stay in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What was best ... the staff? the breakfast? the happy hour? Hard to say. Our group of 5 chose the Princess Anne for our annual long weekend getaway and we were pleased with every aspect of our stay. The staff went out of their way to help us with reservations, local information, directions, and even shared the recipe for some of the fantastic hors d'ouvers served during happy hour. We plan to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSLetsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for such a delightful review! We are very happy to hear that you can't decide what the best part of your stay was. It sounds like our staff went above and beyond to make sure you had a wonderful vacation. Thank you for taking the time to write about your great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in the Master Suite on the second floor, a wonderful set of rooms, especially for extended stays. It has a master bedroom, living room w/TV and pull-out sofa, and a kitchenette with a table for four and an additional seating area - great for morning coffee with the paper or book. The compliementary breakfast starts the day off nicely, with wine time" in late afternoon capping off the day - a great opportunity to chat with fellow travelers.

The hotel is located in the residential area with easy access to downtown dining and entertainment. It is a bit of a walk, but doable if you want to walk off dinner!

Room Tip: This is an old hotel, apparently reclaimed from being demolished; as such the floor are creaky and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

It was wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Princess Anne Hotel! We are so happy that you found your suite comfortable and spacious, and that you also enjoyed walking in to town. We anticipate your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Princess Anne for two nights in October. The small hotel is perfect for enjoying Asheville. 10 minutes to the Biltmore and 3 minute drive to downtown. We were in the 3 room Master Suite on the third floor and had plenty of space with a small kitchen, a TV sitting room, nice bedroom and modern bathroom. The hotel only has queen sized beds. The afternoon wine and cheese period (4:30-6) was extremely nice sitting in the old living room and meeting other guests. John, the manager, mingled with the guests and helped on restaurant recommendations and making reservations. The complimentary breakfast was a nice way to start off the day. The hotel is quiet and charming and we enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank SteveK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our location so convenient! We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the company of other guests during our wine and hors doeuvres. We hope to see you back at the Princess Anne soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Princess Anne in March of this year and just returned home from our second visit. Our room both times was spacious and nicely furnished with a large walk-in closet. The hotel is quiet and historic, and the service and personnel are exemplary. We enjoyed the wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening and the absolutely delicious breakfasts both mornings. Guests are given a choice of three breakfast entrees.....usually an egg dish, pancakes or waffles, and a more healthy granola option. This morning I had delicious walnut pancakes with applewood smoked bacon and fresh fruit. Yummy! Wireless Internet access is free; parking is convenient. The hotel is located in a residential area, not surrounded by businesses or commercial ventures. Will we return to the Princess Anne? Absolutely!!!!

Room Tip: We've stayed in 204 and 304. They are identical, and we loved them both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarshainSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for such a kind review! We are thrilled to hear you loved everything about the hotel from the decor to the friendly staff. We anticipate your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
812 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $132 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing