We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B-Style Hotel in Asheville, NC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B-Style Hotel in Asheville, NC”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in the Master Suite on the second floor, a wonderful set of rooms, especially for extended stays. It has a master bedroom, living room w/TV and pull-out sofa, and a kitchenette with a table for four and an additional seating area - great for morning coffee with the paper or book. The compliementary breakfast starts the day off nicely, with wine time" in late afternoon capping off the day - a great opportunity to chat with fellow travelers.

The hotel is located in the residential area with easy access to downtown dining and entertainment. It is a bit of a walk, but doable if you want to walk off dinner!

Room Tip: This is an old hotel, apparently reclaimed from being demolished; as such the floor are creaky and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
It was wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Princess Anne Hotel! We are so happy that you found your suite comfortable and spacious, and that you also enjoyed walking in to town. We anticipate your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    95
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
447
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Princess Anne for two nights in October. The small hotel is perfect for enjoying Asheville. 10 minutes to the Biltmore and 3 minute drive to downtown. We were in the 3 room Master Suite on the third floor and had plenty of space with a small kitchen, a TV sitting room, nice bedroom and modern bathroom. The hotel only has queen sized beds. The afternoon wine and cheese period (4:30-6) was extremely nice sitting in the old living room and meeting other guests. John, the manager, mingled with the guests and helped on restaurant recommendations and making reservations. The complimentary breakfast was a nice way to start off the day. The hotel is quiet and charming and we enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SteveK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our location so convenient! We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the company of other guests during our wine and hors doeuvres. We hope to see you back at the Princess Anne soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladson, SC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Princess Anne in March of this year and just returned home from our second visit. Our room both times was spacious and nicely furnished with a large walk-in closet. The hotel is quiet and historic, and the service and personnel are exemplary. We enjoyed the wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening and the absolutely delicious breakfasts both mornings. Guests are given a choice of three breakfast entrees.....usually an egg dish, pancakes or waffles, and a more healthy granola option. This morning I had delicious walnut pancakes with applewood smoked bacon and fresh fruit. Yummy! Wireless Internet access is free; parking is convenient. The hotel is located in a residential area, not surrounded by businesses or commercial ventures. Will we return to the Princess Anne? Absolutely!!!!

Room Tip: We've stayed in 204 and 304. They are identical, and we loved them both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshainSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for such a kind review! We are thrilled to hear you loved everything about the hotel from the decor to the friendly staff. We anticipate your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I booked a room for our 23rd wedding anniversary (with chocolate covered strawberries, roses and champagne). The one thing that has always troubled me about "restorations", whether it be an automobile, aircraft, or building, is that they are usually made to look "brand new". This hotel restoration, expertly done, did not attempt to hide away the true character of the place. Single pane double hung windows remain in the rooms (and yes the function perfectly). Exposed plumbing adds to the feel. Original wood floors with the occasional creak or uneven spot. The functioning 1950's elevator. The one thing that was definitely brought into the modern day was the bed's memory foam matress which was heaven. This hotel was very cool, the staff very friendly, and the breakfast outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are so happy to hear you chose our hotel for your 23rd Anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to write your appreciation for the mix of modern comforts and historic preservation in the Princess Anne Hotel. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
212 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place is great. Think time warp. Take away the completely modern bathrooms, kitchenette, AC and flat screen TV and you are staying in a modern state of the art hotel of 1932! Furnishings are all in great shape but the style is definitely as looked back in the day. Everything is clean and spotless. We had to leave early the next day and when I saw that breakfast wasnt served until 830 I asked if they could accomadate us for 8 a.m. and they did so with a smile. This place is a real sleeper and I reccomend highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogchow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of the Princess Anne! We are glad you enjoyed our historic hotel. We were happy to accommodate you for an early breakfast, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Quiet, friendly, private, cozy, great breakfast! Highly recommend. Great location convenient to everything. We look forward to coming back soon. Food and service us exceptional. The owners and staff are the best and always make us feel welcome and accommodate all requests with sincere caring. A gem in Asheville!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dune5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We are so happy to hear that the staff at the Princess Anne made you feel at home! Thank you for detailing all the things that you love about staying with us. We will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

All of the perks of a b&b - fabulous breakfast, fantastic wine and app hour, beautiful rooms without all of the awkwardness. You know, sitting next to the person at breakfast that you bumped into at 3 am trying to fun your bathroom across the hall. ;). Seriously, we had a great time. We've stayed in lots of different Asheville b&b s and hotels and this was by far the best. Well kept, friendly staff and great walking distance from downtown. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the two smaller rooms and it was plenty big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren82484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that The Princess Anne is your favorite place to stay in Asheville. We also think our Bed and Breakfast/Hotel hybrid is the best of both worlds. See you next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
221 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Property: Princess Anne Hotel
Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing