We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpretentiously Delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unpretentiously Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We've stayed at the Princess Anne three times and never been disappointed. The quiet neighborhood, excellent service, good food and reasonable rates are hard to beat. This is an old but revitalized structure, so there's no pool and no fitness center. And yes, the hardwood floors creak in places. But the staff are wonderful and the decor does NOT suffer from the "How many different and garish colors can we have?" syndrome. Classy without being stuffy. The breakfast menu typically has only three choices, but they're always delicious.

Room Tip: We've always stayed on the top (third) floor. Don't know if it's just as quiet below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMB2ndSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
You're completely correct... often you find color-themed rooms full of antiques you are afraid to sit on. At the Princess Anne Hotel & Luxury Stays, we provide new name-brand furniture with a classic, homey feel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and continue to return. Thank you for the wonderful review and I'm sure we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    94
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
438
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

My family and I recently stayed at the Princess Anne. We were not disapointed. Our rooms were very nice, albiet a bit small for the price. The hotel has that "old home" feel and the wooden floors all squeak (which in our opinion was nice). The staff knows the area well and will make plenty of recomendations for dinner and entertainment for your day/evenings. The breakfast is filling and very will done ... there are usually three menu options for breakfast including a vegitarian option. The only drawback is it's not downtown, but it's a short walk over I240 (they say 15 minutes, but we easily made it back and forth to downtown in 10 minutes). Their garden is beautiful and the fragrent herbs are a great touch. Free wine and appy tray out until just after 6pm.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
I'm glad our front desk staff was able to provide you with helpful information to make your stay more enjoyable! I'm not sure which room type you were in, but most of our rooms are two-room suites. If you found the Deluxe Room too small then maybe try one of our other rooms next time. Also, next time, be sure to ask the front desk staff for the safest, most convenient route to downtown from our quiet neighborhood. It sounds as if you could have avoided some of the traffic with that information. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to be of service in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah, ga
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went to Asheville for a weekend getaway and stayed at the Princess Anne luxury apartment about 1 block from the hotel. It is in an old apartment building called the Charlotte. It would be great fun for an extended stay. We felt like we were in a Parisian apartment. It was very fun and a great spot to come to after a day of sight seeing throughout Asheville.

Room Tip: We really love the hotel but they were booked and the luxury apartments were just as fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mcarpenter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
I'm so happy you enjoyed your visit at our beautiful Princess Anne Luxury Stays! It's true, they are designed for longer stays, but we welcome guests for even one night. Hopefully next time you can stay for an extended vacation! Take care and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

One of the best boutique inns at which we have had the pleasure to stay ever!! Absolutely friendly and helpful staff, John, Ashley and owner Howard; especially since we were trailering a 22 ft sailboat and thus needed some special quidance parking in the quaint neighborhood in which the inn is located. The complimentary hors d'oeuvres were wonderful, and again the staff experts in providing beyond the usual service by plating some up for us as we arrived a bit after the 6pm scheduled ending time. Their dinner recommendations were spot on the money. The suite accommodations are spacious and softly comfortable, well appointed amenities, and the included plated breakfast delicious. We so enjoyed our stay on our way from Michigan to the IntraCoastal Waterway of South Carolina, that we cut our sailing short by a half day so we could return on our way home to stay a second time at the Princess Anne.

Room Tip: Both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We all enjoyed meeting you both and learning all about your adventures, both at sea and at home/work! Take care and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 20th Anniversary and had a wonderful time. It is away from the noise of the city, but close enough to go and enjoy downtown.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your review! I hope that your 20th anniversary was memorable and that we may help you celebrate again for your 21st anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

A modern feel to a beautifully restored hotel. Wonderful breakfast! Employees are exceptionally helpful and nice. Will visit again!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessAnneHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Anne Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

After reading other reviews extolling excellence of this hotel I have nothing to add. It's perfect- from front desk check-in staff to room to afternoon wine (excellent) and hor doerves to breakfast to beautiful parlor/sitting area to large comfortable suites. Everything 1st class about this hotel. Even coffee, organic teabags and truffles in room are the best. This hotel gives you so much value for their nightly rate it should give lessons to overpriced hotels such as Ritz Carlton on how to run a hotel. My husband and I have travelled all over the world and this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in- I can literally think of nothing the management can do to improve.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niso2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Property: Princess Anne Hotel
Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing