We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner before the show at ACT”
Review of Magnolia's Raw Bar & Grille - CLOSED

Magnolia's Raw Bar & Grille
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Fairview
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner before the show at ACT”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A friend and I had dinner before going to see "Bark the Musical at the Asheville community theatre.
We had drinks which were reasonable priced, and dinner, consisting of salads, soups, and main dinner of a salmon sandwich. Salads were crisp and good and dressing tasty. Salmon sandwich was cooked right and excellent. Out server was friendly and gave very good service. All in all a very pleasant experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skishine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    6
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“SENIOR'S TAKE NOTICE!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wednesday nights feature a 10% discount on your food! We had a fried oyster platter and an
8 oz ribeye. A caesar salad and a gaelic ale (local brewer). All food was great, but the oysters
were a little overdone for my partner, yet the young woman on the other side of the table said
her platter was superb! After a $3.88 discount we ended up with a bill of 27.37, which is not bad.The restaurant is larger than it looks, our group (of 20) had a separate room for ourselves yet the windows were open to the balance of the location. The servers are competent and try to ensure that the meal is enjoyed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shanadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went in for something to eat, They have a late night menu starting at 8:30pm Winter hours. Ordered the shrimp basket, Awesome, loved the batter they used on the shrimp and everything on the late night menu is $9.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank doris915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
“WOW What a change!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have always eaten at Mags when we were nearby. The place is deserted and dark. The food used to be delicious and creative. Last nite when we went the prices are crazy high. Most of the food is fried. Which many ppl today have problems with. One 1 pound of shrimp was 12 bucks. Really?? What happened to the food?? What happened to the chef that used to be there?? I always looked forward to going for dinner. Not again!! Don't do it. Snotty waitresses..eesh no ty

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, FL
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cozy Outdoor Dining”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The patio area is cozy and cute, but the meal was forgettable. I had chosen this spot because the website pictures were pretty and the menu looked delicious. Unfortunately, the main reason I came was for the oysters on their menu. We were told they didn't have oysters, because of Isaac on the gulf coast. Hello--that's not the only place to get oysters. You are supposedly a "raw bar." So oysters--no. I am also a fried green tomato fan. Theirs were TOO breaded. If you knocked off the breading on one side, they were pretty good. My husband ordered a steak, which was riddle with gristle. He lamented not bringing the dog with us, as at least someone would have enjoyed the meal. I can't remember which fish dish I had, but it was fine. We also had their seafood gumbo and clam chowder. The chowder was better than the gumbo. Oh yeah -- we were told service would be slow because they had a special event happening. There was a table of about 20 inside, and then 3 tables of about 10 people outside. Even though I didn't think service was particularly slow, I thought it bizarre that that small amount of people would "throw them."

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoILookRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia's Raw Bar & Grille also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing