We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed February 24, 2007

This hotel was a bit difficult to find, as previous reviewers have stated. It's pretty neat though however that even though it is located seemingly nearly in a parking lot, it has a very isolated location--once you arrive at the hotel--you feel that you are far away in a more natural non industrial environment. We were not able to hear our neighbors, I didn't think the walls were paper thin, we heard nothing, and the hotel is much larger than you would expect from the website pictures. It appears that they have done some extensive remodeling of the rooms, much of the exterior of the hotel looks somewhat old, but the rooms reminded me of an Omni we had stayed at in Orlando. That being said, I would not recommend necessarily for families with small children--I have two small children and the bedding is off-white--very similar as well to bedding at the Renaissance in downtown Asheville, quite pristine, which meant I was something of a nervous wreck the whole time trying to make sure my little children didn't dirty the bedding in anyway. It was a very luxurious room, probably more suitable for business travelers or couples, singles on a golf weekend. The drive to family type restaurants was a little confusing and difficult, the nearest strip with this type of restaurant was a very busy and not attractive area. But on the whole I would recommend this hotel, it has an in-house restaurant and bar which would be ideal for couples or singles--it is a wonderful place for a more adult clientele rather than families with smaller children, and a very lovely place.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgiagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,186)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2007

I recently stayed at this hotel while I was in town for a business meeting. The hotel is spread out and you can have quite a hike to get to your room. The property is OLD and the rooms show it. The walls are extremely thin and the sound of your neighbors, not to mention people walking in the hallways, will keep you up. The front desk staff was average at best and snippy when asking questions.

I would NOT stay at this location again. If you are a golfer, this is the place for you because you would spend all your time on the course. If you have ANY OTHER BUSINESS in Asheville, find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amm925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2006

My wife and I planned to visit the Biltmore for their Candlelight Christmas. We booked through the hotel because their packages with the Biltmore did not work properly. We were bringing our dog, so we needed a pet friendly hotel. The hotel knew we planned to leave the dog in the room for the 2 hours we went to the Biltmore when we were booking but made us sign a form saying we wouldnt leave the dog once we checked in. Our room was not ready when we arrived even though we requested an early check in. Room was not ready several hours later when desk clerks said it would be. Desk staff was much less than helpful. We were forced to kennel our dog to keep from being fined for leaving him. Would have stayed at a quality hotel if we knew we would have to kennel our dog. Grounds were disgraceful, would be embarrassed if I was the owner/ grounds manager. Beer bottles everywhere, cigarette butts covered the grass outside smoking rooms, trash strewn all about. Definitely not a pet friendly hotel and I would not consider this redone holiday inn a resort. Very disappointed and will never stay there again!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank danny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2006

For $89 this is by far the best deal in Asheville. The photos on the hotel website are accurate. Huge, clean guest room with white duvet, plenty of fluffy pillows, a lush white show curtain and new carpet. We had balcony that overlooked the golf course and little pond. The staff was curteous and helpful. The work out facilty was fine, not outstanding, but had enough equipment and plenty of towels. The public areas of the hotel felt like a mountain lodge. Whereever we stay (a family of four) cleanliness is my biggest concern and this hit on all cylindars. We would have expected to spend at least $40 more per night for the experience we had. We didn't have breakfast in the dining room but it smelled great and was reasonably price for around $10 for adults and $5 for kids for the buffet. I highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2006
Thank Nashvillecleanfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza when we went to visit the Biltmore Estate. We got a package deal through the Biltmore website. The hotel was nice, nice soft fluffy beds, nice bathroom. My only problem was the sliding glass door onto the patio had been broken into at one time and would not lock. So they added a separate lock that worked, but I would have felt better if they had replaced the door.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank louannjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2006

We arrived in the evening on the Saturday following Thanksgiving, and we were pleasantly surprised. I am a member of the Priority Rewards Club (though the lowest "class" of the club). The staff was extrememly friendly.


When we arrived in our room, it was clean, fresh, and absolutely comfortable! You WILL get a great night's sleep. The hotel was quiet even though they were busy due to the holidays.


We ate at the Pros' Table (restaurant on site - 3rd floor), and the wait staff, wine, and food were all wonderful. (Try the Pork Camembert!) Our waiter was friendly and always there when needed. We stayed on the first floor of near the golf course.


We will DEFINITELY stay here again when we go to Asheville.


While the hotel access IS through a parking lot, technically, it's an access road to the shopping plaza; it's easy to find if you look for the signs which are clearly marked.


You won't be disappointed when staying here! The staff is very helpful as well in helping you find what you're looking for in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank smjack8088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2006

Mom and I stayed here for a weekend to rest before heading to a retreat up in the mountains. We had a 3rd floor corner room, with 2 queen beds, balcony overlooking the green and an updated bathroom with lovely granite countertops. Since we were there to rest, we took great advantage of the new luxurious linens and sleep "kit" (a Crown Plaza specialty), snappy room service, and quiet surrounds. There were some classic "challenges" that are typical for a large hotel during a peak weekend, but the staff handled each expertly. Among them: loud teenagers in an adjoining room (security up there within 5 minutes, checked back 30 mins later), packed dining room at dinner time (staff made some very good dining recommendations for nearby restaurants), and unavailable valets to attend to our luggage (check out time extended per request). I wish that the hotel had more sophisticated dining options, and a better laid out entrance/exit scenario (the current entrance is very hard to find, and is literary between a parking lot and an onramp for the interstate), but the autumn colors were lovely and the overall experience was just lovely. No odors, excellent housekeeping, helpful staff. May I strongly recommend to all travelers who are contemplating staying @ a Holiday Inn property to apply for Priority Rewards; we were upgraded to a special room and we received special vouchers.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#43 of 66 in Asheville
249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
3.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Address: 1 Resort Dr, Asheville, NC 28806-3815 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $112 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing