We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable...can find good deals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
198 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Comfortable...can find good deals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza on two fall trips to Asheville. We chose the Crowne Plaza because we found fantastic Hotwire deals, and Asheville can be quite expensive during this time of year. Although this place can use some work (especially on the grounds), the rooms and lobby are comfortable and large. The breakfast buffet is substantial. It is convenient to downtown and the highway (after you learn how to get there.) This is a great place if you want to do some hiking in the day, dining in the evening, and comfortable sleeping at night. I would not go there to just hang out at the hotel. I will definitely go back if they continue to offer good rates through Hotwire or Priceline.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    370
    302
    142
    95
See reviews for
270
404
40
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

Saying this is a tennis and golf resort is misnamed. It has a goat track for a none hole golf course. It's a decent hotel, but not a great Crowne. There is plenty of work going on, so it may get better. Overall, the folks were friendly, but just a so-so place

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThefarmOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

Pros:
* great fitness center ... Nautilus fitness equipment treadmills elliptical cycle
* Price
* pretty nice room, granite counters, comfy bed, balcony

Cons:

* bar and grille food was terrible
* location not near major activities (expect 10 min driveto most tourist venues)
* a heater unit caught on fire within the hotel resulting in a fire alarm at 7 am
* tennis is not included with room. Must rent courts for $10 per person per hour!!! That sucks for us tennis lovers. Seems like tennis and golf are separate from hotel losing much of the "resort" aspects
* pool is nice but small for a "resort"

Cons

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

This hotel is located approximately 5 minute car journey out of Asheville, on a hillside. It is mainly a golfing resort. We were offered a reasonable rate for an overnight stay in a king size room which was quite large with modern amenities. The resort has an outdoor pool which we didn’t use but could see from our room.

They offer a free trolley service into Asheville, which drops off and picks up at the same point into the evening. The Bell Boy sorts this out for you but after waiting about 15 minutes for him to appear we gave up and decided to eat in the hotel restaurant instead.

The food here is just ‘ok’. I was not too well that night and didn’t eat much of my meal, so it would be unfair of me to comment, but my husband ordered tuna which he said was overcooked and too peppery. He also complained that the breakfast the following morning was very mushy (he had the breakfast potatoes etc).

When we went to bed, there was a party going on in some of the rooms further down from us which woke us up a couple of times – I think this resort attracts the party crowd (guys on golfing holidays etc)? Also when we were getting ready to go for something to eat, on of the guys partying came and peered into our room as it was on the ground floor. Not the hotels fault, but gives you an idea of the kind of people mainly staying here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_wheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

I stayed here one night while in town for a medical appointment. While checking in I overheard a man ask an employee who appeared to be a concierge/manager/host type if there was any where to go out for dinner and dancing in town. The host fellow didn't know and went to ask his front counter employees, "Is there any where for adults to go dancing in town?" When the employees (in their 20s) threw out a few local hangouts the host said, "No, no for ADULTS, for GROWNUPS." As a 28-year-old professional I was greatly offended by his language. Apparently only the senior citizen crowd qualifies as adults/grownups now? The host fellow then went on a tangent about how downtown Asheville had been ruined and will never recover. The point being - Asheville is heralded for its hipness for all ages, diverse population of street kids and wealthy retirees, funky atmosphere and general existence as a place where you can be as granola or grandiose as you want to be and still fit in. The general attitude at the Crowne Plaza was stodgy and stuffy. If you're looking for somewhere to base your Asheville explorations from, I wouldn't recommend it.

Also, don't be fooled by the word "resort" in the name. It's a hotel, nothing overly fancy though there's a golf course, which I would hazard to say would be a disappointment if you'd come to the mountains specifically to play golf. Right now there's pretty heavy construction going on right by the hotel that kind of ruins the mood.

All that said - my room was large and quiet and the bed was super comfy. I'd pay around $90-$110 for the room if I was setting my own price. I would recommend this though if you happened to be in town for Bele Chere or some other downtown festival so that you can be fairly close without dealing with the late night crowds.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaySki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

My sister and I stopped to check out the availability having stayed here before. The girls at the front desk were very rude and had the nerve to stand there laughing in a little cluster. Not sure what they were laughing at and that really wasn't the point. Needles to say we were very turned off by there behavior and left. For the cost of the room $119.00 and $10.00 each for breakfast it really it is not all that nice anyway. Won't bother to go back either.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrip87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

We came here thinking this was going to be a resort- It is no resort! The golf course is a Dog and there are huge power lines running overhead right over the front entrance...also the place looks like a construction site, and the location is terrible - surrounded by interstates and nothing within walking distance. Also incredibly convoluted directions getting here...(Literally had to drive through a shopping center parking lot, following signs back onto another interstate, and finally into the Crown Plaza entrance)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborahuges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Asheville, NC 28806-3815 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing