We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap price, great service, unsatisfactory rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap price, great service, unsatisfactory rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I booked this on Hotwire for a really good rate of $70/night for the weekend. I was expecting something within walking distance to downtown judging off the hotwire map but this place is across the river and about a 10 minute drive.

Charles checked us in and he was very attentive and practiced great customer service. The lobby, bar, and other common areas were very nice. However, when we got to our room it was a different story. The accommodations were satisfactory, but I was expecting much more out of a Crowne Plaza brand.

The room had a bit of a musty/been smoked in smell and the bathroom was extremely small. The beds were double, not queen, and the heater made a tremendous amount of racket.

Overall, I was expecting a much more luxorious hotel just because of the brand name. Instead I got a run of the mill hotel with no pizzazz. The price was right and couldn't be argued with;however, if I had paid full rate for this hotel I would have come away very disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenshom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I sincerely regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    368
    300
    141
    95
See reviews for
269
403
40
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Rooms were old but had been renovated and bathrooms were small. Wasn't worth paying a lot for. Good for one night but cramped if staying longer. Looks like it might be better in summer as there were a of of outside activities to do. They did offer a shuttle for downtown though which was nice. Room views were of the parking lot and I am glad we weren't on the first floor because the balconies opened up to the parking lot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myboo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I sincerely regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carneys Point, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Location: Good location just off the highway on the West Side of the river. The only real drawback is if you want to go downtown, you have to drive or take a shuttle for $5. If you are going to Asheville you will want to go downtown!!!!

Appearance: Clean inside and out. Room was in good shape. This is an older hotel, but well kept.

General Up-Keep: In good condition in all the areas I visited.

Workout room: Did not use…… but looked like your basics
Restaurant: There is a bar and restaurant. Both have the same menu and I have to say the menu is very up to date with the latest trends. For my vegan diet, there were plenty of choices. Not I should of eaten them but the cross cut sweet potato fries were great!

Room: Room was in very good condition and clean. Again, being an older hotel some items showed wear or patching, but room was clean.

Overall Report: This place is big and has plenty to do onsite. It is a true resort and good place to get away. If you don’t have a car to travel downtown, I would stay at one of the downtown hotels. Asheville is a great town and one of my top 3 places I like to stop while traveling for work.

Would I come back: Yes

Would I bring my wife and family: Yes

Reason for this trip: Business

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard9i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.
Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Checked in on Saturday the January the 18th. Pricelined room for $167 (including taxes.) We checked in with a super flustered lady, we were pleasant and spoke slowly to attempt to calm her down as we were the only guests checking in. We asked about the pool and she didn't let us finish our question before informing us that both pools were closed and so was the golf course but she wasn't sure if the zipline was closed yet - in a very negative manor. No worries, we were here to visit the Biltmore. We went to our room and please see the attached pictures to see why we checked out immediately. What I didn't get a picture of was a door was open on the way to the room and a housekeeper in uniform was having some sort of party with her several small children while the room was being cleaned. This hotel is very overrated at 3.5 stars and I do understand why the front desk woman was so unpleasant as she must have to deal with very unhappy guests all day.

Room Tip: "all of the rooms are the same" - front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I sincerely regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Not a bad place to stay, just not quite as advertised. I read somewhere on the website that each room had a private balcony(True) with a great view of either Downtown Asheville or the sorrounding Mtns(Not True). We had a fabulous view of the parking lot, a row of trees, and a glimpse of interstate.

Room was clean. Temp was difficult to control, seemed to run at very hot or cool. Never found the "warm" we were seeking. Turned the unit off and on repeatedly during the evening and nght.

Hallways were a bit noisy, especially in the evening. Not so much in the morning, but maybe that was because we were the only people up at 6 a.m.

We made plans to come to Asheville literally 36hrs before we arrived, so our choices of places to stay were very limited. Would come back here again in the same situation. It is a perfectly acceptable hotel.

Room Tip: Inquire about free included breakfast when making your reservation. Read many reviews that said it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I sincerely regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bichonandon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I was surprised to read all of the reviews by customers who received free breakfast along with the price of their rooms, which were MUCH less than we paid. Wish I would have gotten that deal.

We paid over $200/night but no free breakfast, as it turns out. We were okay with the no free breakfast when we learned of it upon check-in. A detail we overlooked, relying on reviews to provide most of the information. Since it was our anniversary, and a special occasion, we decided we'd find fun places in Asheville to eat breakfast.

Check-in was easy and fast, the desk agent friendly. That was a relief, since we had just driven 5 hours in constant rain. We deposited our items in the room, and rushed out to make our scheduled evening Biltmore tour time slot.

We arrived back to our room at around midnight, to find BUGS crawling around. A cursory look revealed 5 bugs crawling on the ceiling and walls, which my husband caught in a cup while I called the desk. They sent up a different room key card, and we packed up and relocated. I took a quick shower, my husband fell asleep, and just as I was getting into bed, about to turn off the lamp, I almost screamed from almost touching another BUG ON THE LAMP! Yes, this room had some bugs crawling on the ceiling too, but would it be worth moving again? Chances were, there would be more bugs in the next room, and we were too tired to move again. Otherwise, the rooms were clean with all the amenities one would expect.

Someone from the staff slipped a note with some complimentary breakfast vouchers. We used the breakfast vouchers, and if we would have made the mistake of eating breakfast there without using them, the self-serve continental type of fare would have cost us $24 for each day. Also, if you are interested in the omelette, make sure you be very clear if you want your eggs done. Both days, my omelette was raw inside.

I gave an "average" rating because I understand bugs sometimes get in despite their best efforts, and also because they at least acknowledged the inconvenience by those vouchers, but I can't help but be slightly disappointed that in the end, we paid for rooms that were definitely not worth the price. We will return to Asheville in the spring to visit the Biltmore again, and will definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bichonandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I sincerely regret that we have missed the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations, but I can assure you that we will address every point you have mentioned with our staff using your feedback as a learning opportunity. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.

Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in the Villas at the Crowne Resort for three nights.The unit was clean, the rate was good for a 2 bedroom villa. We could have used a few more bowls and glasses. Although some of the villas had updated counter tops we did not. There was a t.v. in every room which my family liked. Overall, it was fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad we had the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will plan your next trip with us so we can provide you with another great stay in the future. Once again, thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort and we appreciate your feedback.
Shannon Mason
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Tennis & Golf Resort – 1 Resort Drive, Asheville, NC 28806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Asheville, NC 28806-3815 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing