We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza for business and I couldn't have been happier with this hotel. The people at the front desk are very friendly and made checking in quite pleasant. My room was on the 5th floor with a view of the mountains. It was extreemly clean and spacious with a balcony. This is a great place to stay in Asheville

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
I'm so glad that we were able to "wow" you with our service from check in to check out, and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. We continue to maintain that we are one of the hidden gems of Asheville, and I am so glad you were able to appreciate what we have to offer. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    368
    300
    141
    95
See reviews for
269
403
40
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel with a conference. It was very comfortable & we really enjoyed being able to have access to a balcony with fresh air. Loved the rocking chairs on the front porch also. Certainly like having free wifi in hotels and this one didn't disappoint either. My only gripe was the noise of the ice maker near to our room - would be great if these machines have their own space, away from sleeping quarters.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of our property, and I am glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of your time with us. I can undestand your comment about the noise of the ice machine, as it is always a fine line between being close enough for convience, but far enough away to prohibit noise. Thank you again for your comments, and I hope you can return again for business or leisure in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

As a Crown Plaza this hotel seems dated from the Tiny Elevators to the wear in the rooms.I stayed for a convention on site otherwise dont think i would stay here. The staff is very friendly and helpful but any Holiday Inn Express will be nicer and less expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
I apologize that we could not live up to your expectations with regards to the elevators and rooms in particular, and I am very sorry that this created a negative impact on your experience with us. Though we have an older property that has been rennovated throughout the years, we are always looking to improve our product, and due to newly revised Crowne Plaza standards, these improvements wil continue over the coming years. Our staff as you mentioned is always a great asset to our Resort, and I appreciate your feedback in this area. I agree with your statement that a Holiday Inn Expess would come at a lower rate, but being a full service resort with 125 acres, 8,000 fitness complex, golf course, spa, zip line course, etc. is what keeps us competitive with other Resorts in our area, and our rates a bit higher than some hotel chains. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My sister and I take a trip together each year, and this year was to the Biltmore. We were told when we arrived that check-in wasn't until 4pm but were able to check into our room early anyway. The room was nice and very clean--we loved that there is coffee in the room. Tammy at the front desk was very helpful, informing us of sights to see, explaining Biltmore activities, shuttles, etc. Food was good in the hotel restaurant, especially breakfast (made-to-order omelettes and Belgian waffles, and buffet). We also appreciated the help from our concierge Marilyn--she gave us a rundown of happenings in downtown, told us the best restaurants (we took her suggestion and ate at the Strada--delicious), and printed out our boarding passes for our return flight home. We used the gym facilities and had a good workout; also walked the path around the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pwills528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our Resort, and I am so glad that you had such an enjoyable trip to Asheville with your sister! I appreciate that you were able to pinpoint specific staff members that went above and beyond the call of duty, and I will be sure to pass along your comments to both Tammy and Marilynn. Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to see you again for next year's "Sisters Trip".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornelia, ga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband was scheduled to attend a conference at the CPR on September 20 and 21 and I tagged along to keep him company. We have been to many conferences over the years, in many different settings. .. from the sublime to the nightmarish. We paid the conference rate of $99 a night. I had read the rather mixed reviews on Tripadvisor prior to our stay so my expectations were in the range of 'I'll make the best of it'. As it turned out, I didn't have to. The property gives the impression of being isolated although it is only a mile from the humdrum of downtown Asheville and I appreciated that. It was conducive to a leisurely (or maybe not so leisurely if you are so inclined) walk after breakfast or in the evening to wind down. The staff was friendly and helpful and those individuals I interacted with were anything but indifferent. They seemed industrious and happy to be of assistance. Our room was very nice and impeccably cleaned. Sheets and towels were blindingly white and crisp and all manners of potions and lotions were supplied in the room. I especially enjoyed the shaving/makeup mirror in the bathroom and told my husband I wanted one for home. We had their 'express' room service breakfast one morning and it came right on time and no detail was overlooked in the preparation of the tray. I noted the fresh flowers on the library tables in the corridors and in the public bathrooms and felt they were a sweet touch. When we return to Asheville, which we will as it is only a two hour drive from our home, we will be staying at the Crown Plaza Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annacate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, and I appreciate your rave review. I'm so glad you were pleased with the little details such as the fresh flowers we have around the resort, and of course we are always thrilled to get such great comments of our staff. Can't wait to have you back on your next trip to Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdese, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Full disclosure I stayed here as a spouse with my wife who was on a business trip. I do not play golf or tennis.

This resort is really a nice motel and it somewhat shows its age. Check-in time is 4:00 pm rather late in my experience. The waiting line to check-in was long and there was no one at the priority check-in desk. The distance from the lobby to most rooms is quite a walk. Driving and parking at the entrance closest to your room is advised. That entrance takes you into a narrow, undecorated hallway which looks like it is taking you to a basement.

The room was clean, furnished like a motel not a “resort” with a tiny bathroom. The free wi-fi in the room was so incredibly slow as to be useless at times. The rug had a burn from an iron and one of the lamp shades was cracked. The switches on the bases of the lamps were very difficult to operate. The walls, must less the doors, were so thin that normal conversations in adjoining rooms or in the hallway was easily overheard. The TV listing was, strangely, neither in numerical (channel) order or alphabetical, nor did the TV show all the channels listed. Periodically the telephone in the room would ring twice with no one there.

While there are vending machines, they do not take credit cards so make sure you have dollar bills. There is no shop at the hotel if you wish to buy a magazine, etc.

Having been told on check-in that as a priority member we were entitled to a 15% discount on food in the restaurants, we discovered on check-out that you had to tell the wait staff at each meal, something they failed to tell us on check-in. The hotel did give us the discount. There are two restaurants: one for fine dining, and a pub. The menu is basically the same at both, as are the prices. The wait staff was, for the most part, indifferent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat-TL++
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
A motel is defined as a lodging establishment most often utlized by travelers due to the convienence of parking in front of your room and being able to enter ones room directly from the outside. Though all of our rooms have either a patio or balcony, not a single one is accessible from the outside, meaning that we are not, and will never be a motel. I cannot determine from your review what room you were in, or what group you were with, but hopefully you contacted the front desk to inform us of some of the issues you encoutered in your guest room so we could correct the problem. I do apologize for the lack of information you recieved during check in regarding the 10% discount on food for all Priority Club guests, and I am actively looking at a solution to make the process easier, since our restaurant staff is unable to determine one's membership through their computer system. I truly thank you for this feedback. I hope you are able to return in the future and have a more enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Crown Plaza has it all. Great accommodations, Tennis, Golf, Swimming, Spa, good food and only a few miles from the dynamic vibe of downtown Asheville. and Biltmore. It has a Huge Expo Center and many meeting rooms all perfect for conventions. Nice indoor and out door pool, Even a Zip line on the property!

Room Tip: Entrance to the property is just off the interstate in a curve - could be easy to miss if it is your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NcTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your short by sweet review of our Resort, and I am thrilled that you were able to take advantage of so many of our amenities. You covered all the areas that I feel make our Resort stand out compared to other options in Asheville, and I feel like your tip is valid and will be beneficial to future guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Can't wait for you to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Asheville, NC 28806-3815 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing