We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Asheville
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Yes, the hotel was a little difficult to locate. But, the service and the rooms were outstanding. I will be booking the site for our next stay in the NC mountains.

Room Tip: We called to have our request of joining rooms and everything was done as requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traverette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    341
    277
    133
    86
See reviews for
248
368
38
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

To be fair, we didn't use any of the recreational facilities that are on site and it seems as if this resort may be geared toward that. The room was reasonably furnished, the bed was very comfortable. There were also a couple of things that could be improved upon, such as the carpet had a couple of stains and the balcony doors were very dirty. The soda machine on our floor was totally out of soda, however, it still took coins.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familylady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We visited Asheville during the Thanksgiving weekend and stayed two nights in Crown Plaza.
The hotel is right next to the golf course. Our room has a balcony and nice view.
The hotel is outside of Asheville town but only 5 minutes drive to downtown and about 25 minutes to the Biltmore house.
The bed was pretty comfortable. The air-conditioner/heater unit made some loud noise at night.
If you like to stay in a quiet surrounding this is the place

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orien2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Thank you so much for posting your comments as we always appreciate getting feedback from our guests. I am very pleased that you can appreciate our large 125 acre property with all the exisiting ammenties as well as the many great features yet to come, and we take great pride in providing an exciting resort experience for everyone. Having such a large resort so close to downtown Asheville and the Biltmore Estate is also a great feature, and I have a feeling that the 25 minute timeframe you mentioned takes into account the ticketing and shuttle to the home as we are only 3 miles to the front gate of Biltmore. Again, we very much appreciate your feedback and will use your suggestions to better serve our guests in the future. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

One large barely dead bug in room, no tea in coffee/tea bar, towels closer to sandpaper, shower head at five feet level, non-working hair dryer, dated room, horrible sewage smell on a lower floor, 45 minute wait on check-in with no apparent concern by staff, adjoining room very loud and noisy indicative of poor attention to sound quality or guest placement, wrinkled bed skirting indicative of minimal housekeeping. List just way too long to go on. Breakfast bar ran out of waffle mix. Overall, just scraping by minimal level of acceptance. C- could do much better. Motel 6 quality mascarading as a Hilton.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your dissatisfaction with our location. We are sorry that you have not noticed all the capital improvements we have been making. We have added a state of the art fitness center with a saline lap pool, hot tub, and spa that guests have full access. We have added a Zipline Canopy Adventure on property and guests receive a $20 discount Nov 1 through March 31st (after that $10 discount). As you know, hotel hallway noise is often a problem, and we are in the process of installing "door sweepers " which should cut down on the noise. We hope you will take the opportunity to stay with us again and if you need anything at all during your stay, please contact the Front Desk.
Thank you
Lori Hollifield Guest Services manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, N.C.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Our first time going to the Crowne Plaza, Asheville resulted in an extra 30 minute search. My husband and I go there every November for his business trip, so we were surprized to find the way to get there so tricky especially at night. But once we got there the staff was friendly and inviting; rooms were large and nicely appointed. For those with pets, this is a good choice because some rooms have sliding glass doors directly onto the lawn. Our daughter's room had this situation and our room was a balcony overlooking the golf course.
We enjoyed one breakfast and one dinner on the property. The breakfast was very good, whether you chose the American or continental. There are two dinner choices; we chose the more casual one. There food was alright, but not great. Next time I would try the main dining room.
Overall, I would stay there again and hopefully have time to enjoy the facilities-tennis, swimming, etc.

Room Tip: End rooms give easy access to parking. All rooms appear to have sliding glass doors to either a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marthawats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for writing and commenting on how our staff is friendly and inviting and how you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Your comments will be shared with our staff as we work hard to make your total experience positive and memorable. And yes, you are correct that ALL rooms have either a balcony or patio and we try to make sure guests with pets are in a room that opens onto a patio for their convenience. For other people reading this who think they might have difficulty locating us, please go to our website and click on "Our Resort", then "Directions/Map". The directions to the Crowne Plaza are clearly indicated from all major routes into Asheville.
Thank you
Lori Hollifield Guest Services Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I won this off Priceline, they consider this downtown Asheville but its really a mile or 2 outside so you cant walk to downtown.
Staff was friendly but hotel looks like a Country Inn and Suites , nothing like other Crown Plaza's i've stayed at before.
Indoor pool is at a racquet club down the hill, kind of a hassle.
Walls are super thin, you can hear everything. You know its a bad sign when then give you lavendar sleep spray and ear plugs on your bed to use.
Wi Fi is spotty at best and slow on the rare occasions i could connect.
Many other hotels in Asheville that are this price range or less are nicer and downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyonmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for noting how friendly out staff is, as we pride ourselves on out outstanding customer service and guest experience. Not sure why Priceline indicates we are close to downtown, but we do have a $5 per person, round trip shuttle service to the heart of downtown Asheville. And yes, the year-round indoor saline pool is across the parking lot at the fitness center, but in season there are two other outdoor pools, one of which is adjacent to many rooms. By the way, the fitness center is complimentary for our guests and it includes spin cycles, ellipticals, treadmills, exercise classes, etc, plus Adelaide Spa has now opened and will pamper you with several massage treatments, body therapies, skin care, sauna, even hair & nails also our shuttle will taje you to it . Hotel hallway noise is often a problem, and we are in the process of installing "door sweepers " which should cut down on the noise. We are also in the process of updating our internet service so all rooms will have speedy, uninterrupted internet connectivity. We hope you will stay with us again and maybe experience the on-property Canopy Zipline Adventure.
Thank you
Lori Hollifield Guest Services Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

loved it! went for my husband's birthday weekend in aug. Location was great- close to everything in asheville.
My only complaint was there's only 1 floor so the sliding door opens to the side parking lot.
My husband's complaint was- people walking and talking down the hall in the late hours made it hard for him to stay asleep.
Our 1.5 year old son LOVED it- the pool, wide hallways, riding on the luggage cart. The staff was very nice!
the bed was so comfortable and the pillows were awesome!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herosmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you so much for writing. We are very proud of our Sleep Advantage package and pleased that you noticed how comfortable the beds and pillows are. If we had availability, we would have happily moved you to an upper floor if you had let us know you preferred not to be on a first floor. We have a total of eleven floors of rooms and only 3 are on the first floor. We are very sorry your husband was disturbed by inconsiderate guests in the hallways. As you know, hotel hallway noise is often a problem, and we are in the process of installing "door sweepers " which should cut down on the noise. We hope you and your family will come back again so we can demonstrate out outstanding customer service (and your son can ride the luggage cart again!)
Thank you,
Lori Hollifield Guest Services Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Asheville, NC 28806-3815 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing