We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$143
$136
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$80
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloft Asheville Downtown(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$179
$152
Aloft.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Residences at Biltmore(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Omni Grove Park Inn(Asheville)
$209
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,233)
Filter reviews
1,233 results
Traveler rating
248
386
328
157
114
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
386
328
157
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtsracquet clubbreakfast buffetclose to downtownoutdoor poolfitness centershuttle servicemini fridgeup to datebiltmore estatebalconiespetfireplacenc
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
972 - 977 of 1,233 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2011

One large barely dead bug in room, no tea in coffee/tea bar, towels closer to sandpaper, shower head at five feet level, non-working hair dryer, dated room, horrible sewage smell on a lower floor, 45 minute wait on check-in with no apparent concern by staff, adjoining room very loud and noisy indicative of poor attention to sound quality or guest placement, wrinkled bed skirting indicative of minimal housekeeping. List just way too long to go on. Breakfast bar ran out of waffle mix. Overall, just scraping by minimal level of acceptance. C- could do much better. Motel 6 quality mascarading as a Hilton.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your dissatisfaction with our location. We are sorry that you have not noticed all the capital improvements we have been making. We have added a state of the art fitness center with a saline lap pool, hot tub, and spa that guests have full access. We have added a Zipline Canopy Adventure on property and guests receive a $20 discount Nov 1 through March 31st (after that $10 discount). As you know, hotel hallway noise is often a problem, and we are in the process of installing "door sweepers " which should cut down on the noise. We hope you will take the opportunity to stay with us again and if you need anything at all during your stay, please contact the Front Desk.
Thank you
Lori Hollifield Guest Services manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Our first time going to the Crowne Plaza, Asheville resulted in an extra 30 minute search. My husband and I go there every November for his business trip, so we were surprized to find the way to get there so tricky especially at night. But once we got there the staff was friendly and inviting; rooms were large and nicely appointed. For those with pets, this is a good choice because some rooms have sliding glass doors directly onto the lawn. Our daughter's room had this situation and our room was a balcony overlooking the golf course.
We enjoyed one breakfast and one dinner on the property. The breakfast was very good, whether you chose the American or continental. There are two dinner choices; we chose the more casual one. There food was alright, but not great. Next time I would try the main dining room.
Overall, I would stay there again and hopefully have time to enjoy the facilities-tennis, swimming, etc.

Room Tip: End rooms give easy access to parking. All rooms appear to have sliding glass doors to either a balcony or patio. Those with pets would enjoy the patio.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marthawats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Thank you for writing and commenting on how our staff is friendly and inviting and how you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Your comments will be shared with our staff as we work hard to make your total experience positive and memorable. And yes, you are correct that ALL rooms have either a balcony or patio and we try to make sure guests with pets are in a room that opens onto a patio for their convenience. For other people reading this who think they might have difficulty locating us, please go to our website and click on "Our Resort", then "Directions/Map". The directions to the Crowne Plaza are clearly indicated from all major routes into Asheville.
Thank you
Lori Hollifield Guest Services Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I won this off Priceline, they consider this downtown Asheville but its really a mile or 2 outside so you cant walk to downtown.
Staff was friendly but hotel looks like a Country Inn and Suites , nothing like other Crown Plaza's i've stayed at before.
Indoor pool is at a racquet club down the hill, kind of a hassle.
Walls are super thin, you can hear everything. You know its a bad sign when then give you lavendar sleep spray and ear plugs on your bed to use.
Wi Fi is spotty at best and slow on the rare occasions i could connect.
Many other hotels in Asheville that are this price range or less are nicer and downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyonmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for noting how friendly out staff is, as we pride ourselves on out outstanding customer service and guest experience. Not sure why Priceline indicates we are close to downtown, but we do have a $5 per person, round trip shuttle service to the heart of downtown Asheville. And yes, the year-round indoor saline pool is across the parking lot at the fitness center, but in season there are two other outdoor pools, one of which is adjacent to many rooms. By the way, the fitness center is complimentary for our guests and it includes spin cycles, ellipticals, treadmills, exercise classes, etc, plus Adelaide Spa has now opened and will pamper you with several massage treatments, body therapies, skin care, sauna, even hair & nails also our shuttle will taje you to it . Hotel hallway noise is often a problem, and we are in the process of installing "door sweepers " which should cut down on the noise. We are also in the process of updating our internet service so all rooms will have speedy, uninterrupted internet connectivity. We hope you will stay with us again and maybe experience the on-property Canopy Zipline Adventure.
Thank you
Lori Hollifield Guest Services Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

loved it! went for my husband's birthday weekend in aug. Location was great- close to everything in asheville.
My only complaint was there's only 1 floor so the sliding door opens to the side parking lot.
My husband's complaint was- people walking and talking down the hall in the late hours made it hard for him to stay asleep.
Our 1.5 year old son LOVED it- the pool, wide hallways, riding on the luggage cart. The staff was very nice!
the bed was so comfortable and the pillows were awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herosmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you so much for writing. We are very proud of our Sleep Advantage package and pleased that you noticed how comfortable the beds and pillows are. If we had availability, we would have happily moved you to an upper floor if you had let us know you preferred not to be on a first floor. We have a total of eleven floors of rooms and only 3 are on the first floor. We are very sorry your husband was disturbed by inconsiderate guests in the hallways. As you know, hotel hallway noise is often a problem, and we are in the process of installing "door sweepers " which should cut down on the noise. We hope you and your family will come back again so we can demonstrate out outstanding customer service (and your son can ride the luggage cart again!)
Thank you,
Lori Hollifield Guest Services Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I've spent about a week at this resort for the last 5 years with my last visit being on Oct 18-21, 2011. Over these years I've seen the place starting to deteriorate.

The layout of the resort very linear with an expo center for meeting at one end and a series of two story building connected together leading to the lobby/bar/restaurant finally ending with a five story building on the opposite side of lobby area. This could mean a fairly long walk from your room to the expo center if you're there for a conference. Making matters worst is the 5 story building has ONE very slow, old, small elevator and the two story buildings don't have any elevator at all. Also the resort is out by itself, with nothing else around.So you have to pretty much drive or use the shuttle ($5) to go anywhere.

My room 570 (five story building) was nice and clean and fairly large with a nice sitting area.There wasn't really a view of anything, which would be nice since it's in the mountains. I did notice that another room in the same building (fourth floor) had a very moldy smell. Not damp or musty but moldy! I wouldn't have stay in it. Others stated to me that their room smelled also

If you're a Holiday Inn card holder you can get a free "Continental Breakfast" coupon, but it's my understanding that you go the the regular breakfast buffet but just get to pick some items. This seemed kind of cheap to me but luckily the meeting I was there for had breakfast.

They do have a nice bar on site, which can be pretty much hit or miss, but during my last visit bartender was about the best I remember working there. It has a fireplace and servers food.

It's not really a bad place, but it's starting to show it's age. I don't think I'd stay here until it was for a meeting. This review maybe a little bias since I had to wait until 3:15 to get in my room. I guess it just takes a little longer to get the cleaning carts in the small elevators!

Room Tip: Most meetings will use the expo center and/or the meeting rooms near the lobby. If you get a room between those two areas it will save walking. First floor in those sections will save climbing stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripper_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write and we are sorry that you have not noticed all the capital improvements we have been making in addition to the Expo Center, which by the way, the bellmen will drive you to if it's too far for anyone to walk. We have added a state of the art fitness center with a saline lap pool, hot tub, and spa that guests have full access. We have added a Zipline Canopy Adventure on property and guests receive a $20 discount Nov 1 through March 31st (after that $10 discount). We are also replacing all the common area carpets and hallway light fixtures for the comfort of our guests.

We are pleased you enjoyed Mulligan's, our Bar & Grille with the piano, fireplace & big screen TVs. At check in, Priority Club members receive the option of "picking a perk" - continental breakfast, free drink in Mulligans, or a snack bag of treats. The two story building closest to the Expo Center DOES have an elevator And it was nice you were able to check in at 3:15, since check-in isn't until 4 pm. We hope you will come back again to allow us to provide our usual outstanding guest service.
Thank you,
Lori Hollifield Guest Services Manager On Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews