We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No WIFI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Ranked #42 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Corrales, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“No WIFI”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Called ahead to make SURE they have WIFI in the room. It was so weak and limited, that it was a waste of time to take my computer. DON'T ADVERTISE IF YOU DON'T Provide! Room was great....ask for one overlooking something other than the parking lot. Elevator was the worst I have experienced including a Chinese one 20 years ago that stopped on EVERY floor. Only large enough for 3 people without bags, same one used by maids and workers, only one per building, so totally insufficient. Best gym of ANY hotel I have stayed at. Good food, over priced by 10%. Mainly a conference hotel/resort. Nice employees who tend to every need. Nice bar, over priced by 20%. Recommend you byob. Parking not next to rooms, so travel light especially in light of elevator problem. Hotel water is too "soft" 'hope not softened by salt, since bad for seniors. Takes 3X as long to rinse off, causing use of 66% more water. Nice bed and TV.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking trees and grass and golf course....NOT the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey6448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We will share your comments with our staff as tending to your every need is a goal for us and we are happy you noticed! It's great that you enjoyed the fitness center with the indoor saline lap pool, spin cycles, ellipticals, treadmills, weights, yoga and exercise classes, etc. We were also pleased you appreciated the pillow top mattresses and lavender spray, and we provide eye masks and a curtain clip to keep it dark in the morning, to assure you the best sleep possible. We are sorry that you feel the restaurant and bar prices are too high, but remember all Priority Club members receive a 10% discount at the restaurant and Mulligan's Bar & Grille. Regarding WIFI, most rooms have full internet access and we are working on the last few with a weak signal. Any time anyone is unhappy with any aspect of their room, we are happy to change your room whenever possible. Just give us a call at the front desk and we will take care of the rest. Thank you for your business.
Lori Hollifield
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    376
    309
    145
    99
See reviews for
281
409
41
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Asheville for the Labor Day weekend. Most hotels were booked or overpriced. We found the Crowne Plaza to be the most affordable. Upon arrival we were a little "spooked" by the abandoned feel of our wing of the hotel--an area of the resort that still needs updating. Ask for a room in the newest area of the resort. Quite a ways from all the attractions in and around Asheville. However, the bar food (hamburger) was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PotsNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thank you for your comments and we are very pleased you enjoyed your hamburger in Mulligan's, our bar & grille. Many people gravitate to Mulligan's in the evening to enjoy the food, drink, camaraderie, fireplace, pool table, piano and several big screen TVs. As you noted, we are in the process of upgrading areas of the resort and try not to assign rooms in that area. If anyone is ever unhappy with their room or location, the front desk is happy to re-assign rooms whenever possible. Your comfort and satisfaction is our main objective!
Thank you,
Lori Hollifield
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I booked this hotel through Priceline. I was expecting a business hotel and it was that but much more. We were greated by a very friendly front desk Christopher. He put us in a very wonderful room overlooking the mountains and golf course. The fresh white linens and the lavender linen spray were a nice touch! Thanks for the wonderful stay and we will return next time! Thanks, Marcy

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MovieGirlM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thank you for the positive feedback from your last stay. It is always a pleasure to hear great comments which will be shared with our staff. We were pleased you enjoyed the Sleep Advantage amenities that we provide to all guests in their rooms. In addition to the pillow top mattresses and lavender spray you noted, we provide eye masks and a curtain clip to keep it dark in the morning, to assure you the best sleep possible. The rooms also include a mini-refrigerator, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, coffeemaker, radio/CD player, in addition to complimentary high-speed internet service. We are looking forward to you staying with us again and want to make it the best stay yet. If you need anything during your next visit please do not hesitate to call or come by the front desk.
Thank you,
Lori Hollifield
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in late August while bringing our daughter back to UNCA. While the hotel is not within walking distance to downtown we liked the peace and quiet the resort offered while being just a few minutes drive to downtown. We took advantage of the site facilities. We enjoyed the pools, esp the indoor salt pool, and also had a great (free) yoga class and the tennis courts. Golf next time.The staff were all great. My son and I also did the on-site zip line tour (not free). It was actually very relaxing to enjoy the large grounds after the hustle bustle of Asheville. The room was adequate and we all had a nice relaxing time. I would come back here.

Room Tip: would choose higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thank you for the positive feedback from your last stay. It is always a pleasure to hear such great comments and we appreciate you taking the time to write them. We've glad you took advantage of some of the great facilities we have on site. We hope you will stay with us again and want to make it the best stay yet. In addition to the pools, perhaps you'd like to go on the Zipline Canopy Adventure. If you need anything during your next visit please do not hesitate to call or come by the front desk.
Thank you,
Lori Hollifield
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Staff was friendly, check-in great. The room was smelly (mold?) and outdated. It was clean. Hallways are dark and musky, doors were broken, etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjoe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are installing new lighting in the hallways and carpet in most of the common areas and are looking into why your room would had an odor as there is certainly no mold in the rooms. If you have a problem during your stay please let our team know so we can fix it. We hope you will give us another chance to provide outstanding customer service and hospitality. If you need anything during your next visit please do not hesitate to call or come by the front desk.
Thank you,
Lori Hollifield
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel many times because I often travel with my dogs and don't want to pay enormous pet fees. It can be confusing getting to downtown from the hotel, but once you've figured it out, it's a fast 5 minute drive. This hotel just added a new fitness faciility with both an indoor and outdoor pool.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoscraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thank you for the positive feedback from your last stay. It is always a pleasure to hear great comments which will be shared with our staff. It's always pleasure to accommodate you and your canine friends! As you found out, it's just a quick 5 minute drive into downtown Asheville, and for those that may not want to drive, we provide an on demand $5 round trip per person shuttle service to a centrally located convenient spot downtown If you need anything during your next visit please do not hesitate to call or come by the front desk.
Thank you,
Lori Hollifield
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the grounds, facilities, location, and staff. We will stay here again when we need lodging in Asheville, and will recommend to friends. There was more available at the resort than we had time to explore!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_NC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoriHol, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thank you for the positive feedback from your last stay. It is always a pleasure to hear great comments which will be shared with our staff. We are looking forward to you staying with us again and want to make it the best stay yet. Next time we hope you will take advantage of the fitness center, golf course, tennis courts, and the on-site Zipline canopy tour. If you need anything during your next visit please do not hesitate to call or come by the front desk. It is my goal to make sure everyone on my team gives great service.
Thank you,
Lori Hollifield
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Asheville, NC 28806-3815 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing