We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience and would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2009

My wife, 8 week year old, and I stayed at this hotel on our way out to Charlotte, NC (May 14) and on the way back to Nashville, TN (May 18). We stayed in the room with the separate bedroom, king size. The living room/kitchen area was very roomy, with comfortable furniture. The kitchen had a full size fridge and a nice size microwave. The bedroom and bathroom were much bigger than we expected and surpassed our expectations. The room was very clean and nicely laid out. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a great experience and we will stay there again on our next trip to Asheville.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lastlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed in room 515 with 2 adults and 2 kids. This is a double queen suite with double doors separating the living area. The room is located by the stairs in the corner furthest from the elevator, which makes for a quiet area. The room has a nice kitchen with what appears to be granite counters, tile floors, a full fridge, microwave, range, dishes, pots, even a garbage disposal. The queen beds seemed narrow to me but were nice. The bathroom was located in the bedroom and was clean.

The WiFi was intermittent, probably due to the distance involved. They let us use a standard Ethernet cable, which hooked to a jack in the bedroom, for no additional cost. TV channels were standard without any on demand options. Breakfast was very good, with a plethora of options and circulating staff keeping the place spotless and bringing coffee refills.

The staff was very helpful. They have a map and a 5 page printout about the restaurants in town. Why does Asheville have a vegetarian restaurant?? Well, they do, and it is pretty awesome even though I’m not a vegetarian. There is a shoppette in the hotel that has the most stuff I have ever seen, including kid and adult DVDs, bath toys, and kid’s books. Which reminds me, there is a DVD player in the room.

Overall, a very good place. The only strange thing was the elevator is on one side of the rectangular hotel, so it can be a long walk. And you probably wouldn’t want a room in the low numbers as there are rooms right opposite the elevator, which seems like it would be noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuiteLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Arriving on a Sunday about 4 pm, we waited an hour for our room to be available. (I overheard others with the same problem the following Saturday, so apparently this is a common weekend snag.) The disappointment continued as the suites are smaller than they appear in the photos (not as roomy as Embassy Suites). Since we booked an 8 night stay and are "gold" level Hilton Honors members, I was hoping for the attractive mountain view in the back of the building, instead our room faced the front porte cochere, parking and Applebee's.

In our suite the carpeting and upholstery were much cleaner than the average hotel, but the routine cleaning wasn't up to par -- visible dust on the ceiling fan, under the TV, on wood chairs. One day we returned to find our room hadn't been made up at all. When I contacted the front desk, the first response was that housekeeping was still getting around to the last of the rooms, then they called back and claimed we'd left the "do not disturb" on all day -- we didn't!

On the plus side, the hotel is very conveniently located (easy to hop onto the I-240 loop to drive to attractions), many restaurants & a grocery store nearby, very good hot breakfast (quiche or scrambled eggs with bacon or sausage) with REAL plates & silverware. We tried the evening meal 3of the nights it was available and thought that 2 out of 3 meals the food was of a lower quality than the breakfast, but still a nice benefit when you return to the hotel tuckered out after sightseeing. The breakfast and dinner staff are very attentive about replenishing the food items, and you don't even have to bus your own dishes! Together with the breakfast, and the ability to keep milk and sandwich fixings in the full-size fridge, it makes the hotel a good value. The hotel provides a small selection of DVD's to borrow, and we made use of the computer in the lobby to check our e-mail.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWAVLGM, Barbara Kulwiec, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you did not find everything as expected. We have experienced an increase in travelers recently and have added additional staffing to assure continued service delivery. Thanks to feedback from travelers like you, we are able to provide detailed service training to our staff. We are looking forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

This is a very solid Homewood Suites, in line with many others which I have stayed in. I was there recently for business for 3 nights, and stayed in a king suite on two different floors (two separate trips totaling 3 nights).
I had a good breakfast each morning, and the evening meal menu looked appetizing, but I didn't get a chance to take advantage of that service. Front desk was helpful in the 2-3 interactions that I had with them. Both rooms were very clean, and as a traveler's bonus, had a lot of electrical outlets (I like that - good for charging phone, PC, bluetooth, etc.).
Excellent location as well. There are several surrounding restaurants, and only a long walk or short drive through the tunnel into downtown Asheville.
I have stayed previously in one other hotel in Asheville - Hampton Inn on Tunnel Road - which was good but not as nice as the Homewood. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoutheasternTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWAVLGM, Barbara Kulwiec, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2009

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. It is our #1 goal to satisfy every guest every time. We are looking forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We took our 15 year old grandson to Asheville on Winter Break and spent 2 days at this hotel. My wife and I have traveled far and wide and stayed at about every level of hotel. I'd have to say that at the rate we paid for a King Suite with pull out sofa, it would be difficult to find a better value anywhere. The room was clean and comfortable with a small kitchenette, dishwasher, refrigerator, comfortable arm chair, sofa, a desk with
chair. and a large flat screen TV. The seperate bedroom had a king size bed and another large flat screen TV. plus a nice sized bathroom and closet.

The hotel provided a complete breakfast included in the rate. The dining room was spacious and comfortable. The food service area as well as the tables were constantly cleaned and maintained. Food choices were adequate and satisfactory to each of our party.

Also included in the room rate was complimentary beer and wine and a "lite meal", although many people would find that the meal was more than adequate to suffice for dinner.

We found the location on Tunnel Road to be convenient to the things we wanted to do in Asheville (ie. The Biltmore House and Grove Park Inn)

Our grandson enjoyed the indoor pool and we used the gym on the second floor.

As a final note, we had requested that the sofa bed be made up for our grandson.
We were allowed to check in early (1PM). The sofa bed had not been made up,
but within less than 10 minutes (without any further request from us) house keeping was there to make up the bed. Just another example of the excellent service provided by this hotel.

My only complaint (although minor in comparison to the plusses) was that you could
hear other guests in the bathroom and water rushing through the pipes. We were on
the first floor so it may not be a problem on the second.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garypcsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWAVLGM, Barbara Kulwiec, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2009

Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your positive comments with our Housekeeping Staff. It's very important to us to assure every guests' 100% complete satisfaction during their time with us. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

My husband and I and our three children visited the hotel in February and were very pleased with the friendly staff and quick check in. However, when we were preparing for bed in the evening, we found there were stains and trash left in the fold out sofa from previous visitors. The hotel staff quickly remedied the problem, they did not charge us for the night and gave us a new room, but is was still an unpleasant surprise.

The remainder of our stay was fine, and our children enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. The continental breakfast was okay, the coffee was good, and the seating adequate.
Overall, the stay was fine, with just the one major hiccup with the fold-out bed.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jmf_davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWAVLGM, Barbara Kulwiec, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2009

Please accept my sincerest apology for having such a terrible experience. Thank you for letting us know right away, so we could take immediate actions and follow up on additional staff training. We are looking forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here. Everything is nice and the breakfast was good (and free!). We enjoyed the indoor swimming pool, especially being the middle of January, and didn't find too many other hotels with indoor pools. There were just a few small things that we noticed on our stay:

There was no oven in the kitchen/ette, and no instructions for using the microwave or washer. The television in the bedroom could have been mounted higher up so that you could watch tv while laying down instead of having to sit up in the bed. When we went to park around the backside we weren't sure which door to go in to the elevator... we chose the wrong door and had to go back and re-park by the other door, rather than walking through the length of the hotel to get to the elevators.

A very nice hotel and a very nice stay. The beds were very comfortable, all the amenities were nice with marble sinks and etc. The service was good, and the ambience was very nice (classical music playing throughout the lobby and pool area). And for the price we paid, it was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in, and certainly one of the larger (with all suite rooms). We would definitely stay here again. It was also nice to have a separate living room because we could put our infant to sleep there without disturbing her in the bedroom (as most hotels are only one room).

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpengeistt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWAVLGM, Barbara Kulwiec, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with your fellow travelers. We always welcome any suggestions to improve our guests' stay with us. We hope to serve you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
1.7 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#26 of 66 in Asheville
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
2.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
7.7 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road

Address: 88 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#4 Family Hotel in Asheville
#12 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $118 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full renovation completed in Spring of 2017. Experience Asheville’s finest all-suites luxury hotel located within minutes of downtown Asheville, Biltmore Estate and the city’s finest dining. At Homewood Suites by Hilton, Asheville, extra room is just the beginning. Our spacious and roomy suites have separate living and sleeping areas, work desks with complimentary internet, fully equipped kitchens and new high definition LCD televisions. Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast served in our all-new fireplace lobby and Monday-Thursday evenings, you can look forward to a complimentary evening social. Make your luxurious mountain vacation dream come true at Asheville’s new Homewood Suites by Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton - Asheville Hotel Asheville
Homewood Suites Asheville
Homewood Asheville
Asheville Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing