We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Three night stay at this hotel exceeded our expectations. Suite was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Sherry at the Front Desk was very helpful by providing me with a charger when I discovered that I didn't have my phone charger with me. Every staff member was friendly and interested in making our stay pleasing. Breakfast was varied on all three days of our stay. It was more than a continental breakfast and had most everything you could want - quiche one morning, bacon and eggs the next, and the usual variety of cereals, breads and fruits. The location is convenient to I-240 and 40. Restaurants nearby are Olive Garden, Outback Steakhouse and Cracker Barrel; also some fast foods and an Ingels grocery store. We will definitely stay here our next visit.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kanisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    310
    85
    27
    16
See reviews for
521
474
37
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crestwood, KY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

The Asheville Homewood Suites is located off Exit 6 on I-240 in east Asheville. The hotel is situated in a busy commercial area that includes other motels, restaurants and retail shops. Perhaps not as spacious as Embassy Suites, our two room suite featured a living room, small (but well equipped) kitchen with microwave, range, fridge, sink and cabinets. There is a small (but adequate) dining table. The living room is not large but adequately sized and nicely furnished, with sofa, lounge chair, TV and work area. The bedroom and bathroom are combined in the next room (which can be separated with French doors) and contains a second TV. The hotel appeared to be booked the night we were there, but the rooms were quiet and we were not disturbed by any noisy neighbors. Our room appeared to be clean and well-maintained.

The breakfast buffet is not especially large, but there seems to be a little something for everyone, as far as hot and cold dishes -- and contrary to a previous post, we DID have scrambled eggs, and they were quite tasty.

The staff was friendly, efficient and professional, and were very helpful in suggesting dinner options (downtown Asheville offers many eclectic restaurants; we dined at the "1869 Grille" which features outdoor dining where one could view street musicians and plenty of people-watching -- lots of fun).

I understand that not everyone is going to have a consistently good stay at the same hotel property, but I really believe that the (very) few negative reviews about this property are overstated -- the positives FAR outweigh the negatives.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, spacious accommodations, close to downtown dining options.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank KYMisterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

I booked the hotel based on favorable reviews from others and stays at other Homewood Suites hotels. The Asheville location didn't deliver.

It's not in a good location. It's located near a busy street with no curb appeal. I paid extra for a Land of Sky room and when I looked out the window, I saw the roof of the super cheap motel and the street down below. The mountains are in the distance, but most immediately, you see neon.

The room was tired. The carpet was wrinkled and stained from wear. Our two-queen bed suite featured a tiny table for two and a galley-type kitchen that was much smaller than other Homewood Suites that we've stayed in. The living area was also very tiny, and furnished with a small sofa and chair with ottoman. The TV and DVD player were standard.

The next room had a dresser, a desk and chair, and a night stand. The Queen beds were very comfy with great pillows.

The bathroom was not up to snuff. There was mold on the tiles and the bathroom drain in the tub was so slow, it left one standing in several inches of water.

Perhaps the worst thing was the housekeeping. When we returned, our dishes were never done. I stacked them in the dishwasher, but I couldn't run it because they do not provide any dish washer liquid. Housekeeping is supposed to do it, but every day they did not and I ended up going downstairs to get some detergeant. I also found that housekeeping didn't wash off any surfaces -- not the floors, not the tops of the counters, not in the sink area or in the tub. They made the beds and refreshed the towels -- that was it. There was no replacement of coffee, for instance. At $235 a night, you expect more. We were there for five days and four nights. Too long.

The breakfast was okay. They have those strange eggs that are cooked in a mold. There was a choice of cereals, bagels, waffle, and bread. They have some yougart also. I'm not sure why they don't have scrambled eggs, but the breakfasts at the Hampton Inn are better.

The evening reception was okay too. There are very few, if any, choices for vegetarians, however. One night featured beef hotdogs, beef chili, and lodge pretzels. Sure, there's beer and wine, but the food was pretty horrible.... but it's "free" so maybe people don't care. I noticed that they have the same four or five meals each week and rotate them throughout the month, M-Th.

The front staff was simply wonderful. They were very sweet and helpful. If not for them, the stay would have been truly horrible. I tried not to think about the room that much. It wasn't something that we looked forward to at the end of the day.

There are a few wonderful hotels that I think I would stay in. The Doubletree near the Biltmore looked nice. There's also a cute little place in Little Switzerland called the Little Switzerland Inn that had the most charming surroundings and a great restaurant right next door. We would have stayed there had we known.

If you're looking for a room just to sleep, then it might be okay. If you've got children and have to spend time in the hotel, I would choose something else.

  • Liked — Front desk staff were very nice.
  • Disliked — Location and housekeeping.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights at the Homewood Suites, Asheville as we wanted to visit Biltimore House. We could not fault the hotel at all. The suites were luxury itself, we even had a large fridge with a freezer and a dishwasher in the kitchen section. There was one TV in the lounge and one in the bedroom. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the staff were great and where so knowledgeable about the surrounding area, the lady on the front desk gave us directions that the 'locals' would use to get to Biltimore House.

The breakfast and manager's reception of an evening Mon-Fri was very good. The hotel is located at traffic lights and the road outside is a main road and quite noisy but this did not bother us. Our room was located at the back and overlooked the mountains, it was very peaceful.

There is a free shuttle to the mall and downtown Asheville. The scenery around there is beautiful but so is most of North Carolina, it is also near to the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Biltimore House, Estate and Winery are magnificient we would like to go back to Asheville again and perhaps stay a little longer to see more of the countryside and visit Chimney Mountain.

We have stayed at other Hilton Hotel group i.e. Hampton Inns and enjoyed them but the Homewood Suites certainly are 'top of the tree' - we stayed at the Disney Floridian whilst in Orlando and as for the quality of the rooms I would say that they are of equal standards.

We would definitely stay at the Homewood Suites, Tunnel Road, if we returned to the area and would thoroughly recommend anyone to stay there. It is clean, the food is good and plentiful, all the staff were excellent and no matter what you asked them they seemed to know. The training that was given to the staff was excellent. We had a fantastic time in the Asheville and hope one day to return and explore more of the area.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing - could not fault it
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Brummy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

I stayed here one night with my family of two adults and 3 children ages 3,5 and 9. We decided to stop to visit the Biltmore Estate while driving to Atlanta from Baltimore and chose this hotel to stay for the night because of the price. We got a special deal for $50 a night for a King studio suite. The studio suite was small for a family of 5. It had a king bed and a pull out sofa. My daughter and I shared the bed and my husband and two boys camped out on the sofa. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was nice and had a variety of hot and cold selections. The hotel is only about 5 minutes drive from the Biltmore Estate.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank echima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We stayed here after reading several tripadvisor reviews. They were correct. Great staff. Knowledgable. Everyone that worked there said Hello! and was willing to help with any of our needs. The room was clean and the bed was so easy to sleep in! We had a king suite. We traveled with our 2 young kids so we all fit. The only cons were the room was a little small kinda like your first apartment, but better decorated. The water pressure was very low even when you changed the shower head settings. Also hint* if you go to exploreasheville.com they have a 10%coupon for the hotel and also some other deals. We would stay here again without question!

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — water pressure
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mountaintravelero8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia area
Level Contributor
343 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

We had 5 people staying in the suites. Worked awesome for us since we had 3 beds to divide between us. There was free pizza at dinner time and a great free breakfast in the morning. Our beds were comfortable and my son didn't complain about the sleeper sofa.
There was plenty of room for us. Check in people were nice though they did let people from off site use the laundry and that set us back a lot timewise. Really convenient for Biltmore and after that, easy to get onto I-40.
We loved it. So hard to go back to regular rooms after suites!

  • Liked — close to restaurants, close to Biltmore, loved the rooms
  • Disliked — can't think of a thing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank elawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
1.7 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
2.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Address: 88 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#4 Family Hotel in Asheville
#12 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full renovation completed in Spring of 2017. Experience Asheville’s finest all-suites luxury hotel located within minutes of downtown Asheville, Biltmore Estate and the city’s finest dining. At Homewood Suites by Hilton, Asheville, extra room is just the beginning. Our spacious and roomy suites have separate living and sleeping areas, work desks with complimentary internet, fully equipped kitchens and new high definition LCD televisions. Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast served in our all-new fireplace lobby and Monday-Thursday evenings, you can look forward to a complimentary evening social. Make your luxurious mountain vacation dream come true at Asheville’s new Homewood Suites by Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton - Asheville Hotel Asheville
Homewood Suites Asheville
Homewood Asheville
Asheville Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing