We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
232 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced luxury!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

PROS: Wonderful stay! Clean, comfortable and large rooms. Wonderful breakfast and evening reception. Very friendly staff. We felt like we were staying at a much pricier hotel. Very resort-like. Beautiful mountain setting.

CONS: Pool could not handle the amount of traffic it was seeing and was actually closed for one evening of our stay. Elevators were oddly placed. They were not in the lobby (!?!?) and were actually quite far from the lobby. Also, the elevators were only at one end of the building. While the food was good, we would have liked it to have been more simple, especially at breakfast. Serve basic scrambled eggs and sausage that kids will eat rather than the enchilada eggs that they wouldn't touch. (Also, I don't know what was served the night before we checked in, but the smell was awful! It made the entire downstairs stink, which is not what you want to experience when you walk through the main doors of a hotel!)

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pb4166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    312
    85
    27
    16
See reviews for
522
476
37
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We just had a great stay at Homewood Suites in Asheville. The Mon-Thurs night dinners, in addition to full breakfast every day, is a great deal and the food is good. They had three beers on tap for the dinners, including a local brew. The staff were all nice and helpful, particular the buffet staff and Tim, who drove us to downtown Asheville in the shuttle. The bed was comfortable and the celling fan was a nice touch. Sofa was comfy. Whirlpool bath in suite was good. Did not hear outside vehicle noise, even though we were right by the entrance. Good location, very easy to get downtown by car, bus (bus stop right out front) or the hotel shuttle. Nice fireplace in the lobby. Hotel appears to be quite new and well decorated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riley_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Clean and very comfortable. What more do you want.....
We took advantage of the Biltmore Package and all went very well. The weather was a little chilly but that's expected in the mountains during the late fall. The staff was very friendly and the suite was clean and very comfortable. We are looking forward to returning and I would not hesitate to use HOMEWOOD SUITES again.
Only complaint....I would like to see oatmeal available at the well stocked breakfast bar......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrtgofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Traveling with children can be hard for parents and kids alike. Parents are hyper aware of their kids' behavior and stress trying to be considerate to other travelers. (At least- they should be!!!) Kids can't have fun with parents shushing them and keeping them on best behavior. We came to the Homewood suites- and the atmosphere itself, through the combination of an incredible staff, well laid out hotel and rooms, and incredible family-friendly ammedities- made our stay so relaxing and memorable.
The staff literally learned our kids' names in an afternoon. They high-fived the boys in the lobby and hallways. They laughed at our six year- old's not- funny "knock knock jokes." They seemed interested in our travels in town and the surrounding area at dinner every night. We used the shuttle service a lot, and never once did they delay or grumble at driving us around Asheville. This service was heaven- sent, as Asheville is tricky to navigate. I was able to do laundry at the hotel, run the dishwasher in our room- it truely felt like "home away from home".
As a mom of three little boys- I didn't have to worry about minor spills or the boys staying seated at breakfast and dinner. The staff came to them, helped my sons carry plates and cups while still making them feel like "big kids" and serving themselves at the breakfast counter. Their accomodations and sincere interest in our family's comfort allowed my husband and I was able to enjoy ourselves! I was impressed that all the families were sought out, spoken to and joked with. In result, all of us travelers felt comfortable enough to talk to each other about their stay in Asheville.
The biggest difference was the hotel staff themselves. Never have I felt so welcomed, and pampered. They were polite, super friendly, and knowledgable. We took every recommendation they had for restaurants and places to visit- and were not once disappointed.
The rooms, public areas, and the pool were very clean. The suites were very comfortable. We will never stay anywhere but this chain again! It turned a family vacation into a true relaxing get away. THANK YOU!!! It was the first time in 6 years we stayed in a hotel and enjoyed it!!!

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have an incredible view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin3763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to Asheville tolook for a retirement home. We choose Homewood Suites because they had a kitchen. We had a full size fridge and dishwasher, a microwave and a cooktop. There was a small dining table. Our suite was quiet, clean, and well decorated. The tv even swiveled so you could watch it from the sofa area or the bed. They have free complete buffet breakfast as well as dinners Monday thru Thursday. The hotel is convenient to all the expressways as well as downtown. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: ask to be on the back side of the hotel away from the ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankR821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from a six night stay. Over all, it was a very good value for the money. Tunnel Road is not exactly the "garden spot" of Asheville, but it's a 5-minute drive to the center of the city (through a tunnel, hence the name, I guess) and I'm sure it's half the price of the hotels in "downtown Asheville." The rooms are truly "suites," and very spacious, with a little kitchen (full-size refrigerator, microwave, stove top). The only issue I really had was the bed. It looked great, but I found it lumpy and really not very comfortable. I asked for another pillow also as none of the (at least) five on the bed were in the least bit firm. I did get a firmer pilow shortly after I asked, so they were responsive and I apprecaiate that. I did not let the fact that the bed was lumpy ruin my trip or anything but I wouldn't so I was getting a great night's sleep every night. But other reviewers I see here found the beds comfortable, so to each his own. The breakfast wasn't bad but I would pass on the dinner.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ligal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

this is really a great stay here. nice suites. great staff. free parking, breakfast. near down town and everthing. if your looking for a great place and a great price this is it. go on the hilton web site and pre pay for a better price. so i say this one is great.

Room Tip: king beds are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgetfoodnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
1.7 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
2.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Address: 88 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#4 Family Hotel in Asheville
#12 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full renovation completed in Spring of 2017. Experience Asheville’s finest all-suites luxury hotel located within minutes of downtown Asheville, Biltmore Estate and the city’s finest dining. At Homewood Suites by Hilton, Asheville, extra room is just the beginning. Our spacious and roomy suites have separate living and sleeping areas, work desks with complimentary internet, fully equipped kitchens and new high definition LCD televisions. Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast served in our all-new fireplace lobby and Monday-Thursday evenings, you can look forward to a complimentary evening social. Make your luxurious mountain vacation dream come true at Asheville’s new Homewood Suites by Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton - Asheville Hotel Asheville
Homewood Suites Asheville
Homewood Asheville
Asheville Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing