We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eminently satisfactory...and little more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Eminently satisfactory...and little more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent two weekend nights at Asheville's Homewood Suites in early February 2013. The hotel is nicely located just off I-240, near several chain restaurants and grocery stores and a short jaunt to downtown Asheville. The staff was very friendly, from the desk clerk to the breakfast bus boys to the guy cleaning the indoor pool. The rooms and public areas were all clean and sufficient, but nothing special. I rented a one-bedroom suite and thought the living room and lavatory area would be bigger. Nevertheless, each room came with a full kitchen, and the shower space was very big. On the negative side, the bed wasn't comfortable, and the complimentary breakfast, while served in a nicely decorated dining area, wasn't very tasty. Our living room TV also froze after about 10 minutes of viewing each time we turned it on; we didn't complain but chose to notify staff upon checkout. All in all, the location, cleanliness and amenities were good for the relatively affordable rate. However, if you're looking for Asheville luxury, definitely consider elsewhere.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms on the third-floor and above provide a semi-mountain view, as opposed to odd-num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for making us a part of your visit to the Asheville Area. We are glad that you were happy with our central location, the hotel's cleanliness and the service provided by our team. I apologize that you did not find the bed comfortable, enjoy our hot full breakfast offering, and about the problem with your television. We appreciate you letting us know about the TV so we could switch it out with a new one, and are sorry we were not able to for you while you were still here. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on a future visit to our area.
Warm Regards,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    299
    81
    26
    16
See reviews for
487
449
35
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Celebrated 40 years with my Bride. Wanted to explore Asheville, while celebrating. Great time as always. The warm greeting, the clean fresh room started the weekend great. Shuttle service took the worry out of diving, parking and Celebrating. Breakfast was very pleasant both in taste, freshness and service. From the elevator to the pool / hot tube was clean and well maintained. The best managed hotel that I have stayed at in the last 30 years. Truely an Awesome stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welcomehome2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while celebrating your awesome milestone of a 40th wedding anniversary. We are so happy that you enjoyed one of our suites, the pool / hot tub, the shuttle service and breakfast, and were able to relax for the special occassion. We hope to see you for another relaxing getaway soon.
Sincerely,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I travel a lot and have stayed in dozens of hotels. The employees at this hotel were extremely friendly. The maid service didn't interrupt us knocking on the door and were on top of their game. The room was impeccably clean with no odors whatsoever and didn't have a overwhelming chemical smell that most hotels use to cover odors. All the furniture and fixtures were like new with what seemed like little wear at all. The beds and bedding were extremely comfortable. The heating/cooling worked perfectly. The internet was fast and never down. The atmosphere was quiet. The price was extremely great. The hotel was located right off the interstate. The hotel setup was rather odd with the elevator and parking but other than that no complaints at all. I would recommend this hotel to everyone traveling to Asheville. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Necer1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while traveling on business. We are happy you enjoyed your visit and found everything to your satisfaction. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Homewood Suites in Asheville, NC for a quick overnight in January 2013. Since we've stayed here a few times in the past, it felt like returning home. One of the primary reasons we chose to stay the first time is that we are a family of 5 and like to have room to spread out. While some other hotels call rooms suites even though there are no separate living and sleeping spaces, we've found the Homewood Suites to have very roomy suites with separate living and sleeping areas. It works very well for us as the younger kids can go to sleep and the older kids can stay up watching TV without bothering the rest of the family. The free breakfast and dinners are a nice touch too. We also choose this hotel for the indoor pool as my 7 YO LOVES to swim. It did not disappoint.

While the amenities are great, the true gem here is the staff. They've always gone out of their way to make our experience a very pleasant one and they really make you feel at home. We had a lovely conversation with the manager one morning at breakfast when our youngest was acting up a bit. He was absolutely charming and really connected with our son. The reception, restaurant and housekeeping staff are also very warm and welcoming and have gone out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. For example, we missed the complimentary dinner one night but my son mentioned that he wanted dessert. The restaurant staff were in the process of cleaning up before leaving for the night, but went to get him a piece of pie and asked if I wanted one too. It would have been very easy for them to continue cleaning up and tell my son that dinner was over but they went the extra mile.

The housekeeping staff is also extremely honest. My daughter accidentally left her IPod and charger behind when we checked out. The housekeeping staff found it and brought it to the staff at the front desk who called us and kept it until we could stop by and pick it up. Everything was totally intact which was a major miracle in my book. I've had plenty of friends who have lost electronics in hotels without ever having them returned. We are very thankful that the staff at the hotel is so honest and trustworthy.

All in all, this hotel provides a great value for the money but the real difference is the wonderful individuals who made our stay(s) special.

Room Tip: Ask for something facing the mountains otherwise you'll get a view of the restaurants and shops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieCVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for coming back home recently, we had missed you. We appreciate being able to provide accomodations that adequately suit your families space needs. I truly feel blessed every day having a team surrounding me that truly value our guests and their experience staying with us. I am so happy that you felt at home, and that our team took care of you, and am also glad that we were able to get the ipod and charger back to you. Thank you for your kind words and we hope you come home again soon.
Sincerely,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here one night while driving through Asheville. Like most Homewood Suites this is a great hotel. It's very quiet and the rooms are wonderful. The breakfast in the morning is also good. The omelet I had was great. You will get a great night's sleep in this hotel.
The hotel is very close to downtown Asheville so there are plenty of great places to eat and explore. The next time I'm in Asheville, I will stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChildeRoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your way through the Asheville Area. We are happy to be able to provide a place that is comfortable for you. The feelings are mutual, we love you too!
Warm Regards,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel was located just outside the downtown area, a little bit too far for walking but Shuttle Services provided by hotel made it an easy commute. The hotel although outside of downtown, is still well located due to being easy accessible from main highway, as well as being situated among several businesses in the surrounding area that can come in handy, from restaurants to supermarkets, and even a mall within just a few miles. The hotel itself was in Great condition, appearing to be recently renovated or very well kept. The complimentary Breakfast was greatly welcomed with its variety of foods and its convenience. The Dining room was well equipped with sufficient tables to accommodate all guest and not have a need to wait around for one to became available. The rooms were spacious, clean and inviting. The pool served its great purpose to maintain the kids entertained, The Staff was probably the best part of the hotel as they were always very friendly and eager to assist in any way possible. I was so satisfied with the hotel, I immediately started looking for a Homewood Suites for my upcoming business trip in a completely different city.

Room Tip: The sofabeds were in Great condition, we were able to book a king one bedroom suite that saved us a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina1jacksonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for being our guest while traveling with family to the Asheville Area. We are pleased that you were happy with our central location and found convenient all the things located near us. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and dining room, our spacious suites, our pool / hot tub, the service we provided to you and are extremely happy that you are a Homewood Suites by Hilton fan. Thank you for you kind words and we look forward to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful hotel all-around, friendly staff, great suites, complimentary full breakfast daily, and complimentary dinner Mon-Thurs - can't beat that!! Will definitely choose Homewood Suites in future for every stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
true7, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently. We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed one of our suites, the service we provided and Breakfast and Dinner. We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Troy Ferguson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
1.7 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#24 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
2.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Address: 88 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#4 Family Hotel in Asheville
#12 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Asheville’s finest all-suites luxury hotel located within minutes of downtown Asheville, Biltmore Estate and the city’s finest dining. At Homewood Suites by Hilton, Asheville, extra room is just the beginning. Our spacious and roomy suites have separate living and sleeping areas, work desks with complimentary internet, fully equipped kitchens and new high definition LCD televisions. Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast served in our grand fireplace lobby and Monday-Thursday evenings, you can look forward to a complimentary dinner and drinks. Make your luxurious mountain vacation dream come true at Asheville’s new Homewood Suites by Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton - Asheville Hotel Asheville
Homewood Suites Asheville
Homewood Asheville
Asheville Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing