We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Mountain Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crooked Oak Mountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crooked Oak Mountain Inn
Ranked #6 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Mountain Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a beautiful home in the mountains! Patti and Bear were wonderful hosts. The breakfast menu was awesome. Bear's Belgium waffles are fantastic, very light and airy. I am so glad he shared his recipe with me. I can't ain't wait to try them. The mountains views were incredible. The rooms are very well appointed. The suggestions for tours, restaurants and sight seeing was exactly what we were looking for. I would definitely recommend this Inn for anyone visiting Asheville.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
331
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange City, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

1) Patti and Bear's friendly welcome
2) Their helpful suggestions and directions to sightseeing and dining in Asheville
3) Scrumptious pecan waffles & pancakes as light as the mountain air
4) Stylish comfortable leisure rooms and dining areas
5) Proximity to Asheville downtown
6) Extremely comfortable bed and bath facilities
7) The gorgeous views and opportunities for outdoor activities
8) A library, games and other forms of recreation
9) Free snacks and drinks in TV area
10) Great souvenirs, like T-shirts, robes and homemade jams
Overall our favorite B&B -- a piece of heaven,3000 feet up
John and Jean from Orange City, FL

Room Tip: Next time we stay there we will choose a room on the main entrance floor, so that we don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We want to thank Bear and Patti for hosting us for the veteran's B and B night. We were welcomed by a tour of the beautiful inn and a glass of wine and hors D'oeuvres. Bear made a fire on the patio while we visited with other guests. Patti set up dinner reservations before we arrived. The Chestnut suite had every amenity that you would want and the breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection. We enjoyed the trails around the inn. Enjoy the sites of Asheville and then take a short drive up the mountain to the wonderful secluded retreat situated on the side of the mountain with beautiful views. The Popes

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPSLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
189 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Reviewed Crooked Oak this time last year and gave it lavish praise: things have only gotten better. It is our refuge from the bustle and conflicting demands of University life in Knoxville: a first choice for our annual honeymoon. From the warm welcome and glass of wine to fine-tuning tomorrow's breakfast, hosts Patti & Bear make us feel at home. The Crooked Oak is up the mountain on the edge of town, so after browsing first class arts, crafts, and food, we can escape in minutes to the serenity of this mountain getaway. Bravo! Crooked Oak.

Room Tip: suites are best, worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank centaur41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Well, it might have biased us a tiny bit that we drove up to this charming place were immediately greeted at our car by our host,Bear, and noticed the lightest of snow flurries falling around us. We were then immediately given a tour of the place and offered a glass of wine...a very welcome offering after a ling road trip. We stayed in the Willow Suite, which was beautiful and comfortable and had its own little porch. Bear and Patti were amazing hosts, taking care of us and even making dinner reservations at some fantastic places. They helped us arrange our daily itineraries, which was great for us since it was our first trip to Asheville. Oh, and breakfast was amazing. What a wonderful band b experience. We hope to be back soon!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texasbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I headed to Asheville for a much needed retreat and vacation. I could not have asked for a better place or better people to create that sacred space. I so enjoyed walking the trails on the beautiful nature-scaped property, sitting by the koi pond and swinging the swing. The Inn itself is lovely, cozy and the hosts are so accommodating. Breakfasts were scrumptious and I loved the glass of wine in the evening served by the fire. I felt cared for and nurtured. I highly recommend Crooked Oak Mountain Inn as the perfect place to stay for your next visit to the Asheville area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We came here for Veterans Day through b&b's for vets and are do thankful for the chance to come to such a lovely b & b with such friendly hosts again thank you we appreciate your hospitality . I would recommend this to any one wanting a nice quiet getaway

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deviltamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
The Reynolds Mansion
#2 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Oak Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Oak Mountain Inn

Property: Crooked Oak Mountain Inn
Address: 217 Patton Mountain Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-2848
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 miles from downtown Asheville, this mountain bed & breakfast is set on three wooded acres and offers the perfect place to relax while enjoying the gorgeous mountain views and natural setting. Inside, you will find rustic elegance and beautifully appointed guest rooms in a friendly, casual atmosphere. The breakfasts are abundant and the innkeekpers, Bear and Patti, are happy to accommodate special diets such as vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing