We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crooked Oak Mountain Inn
Ranked #7 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked our first trip to Asheville and were fortunate to reserve the chestnut suite for our Anniversary. Bear and Patty do a wonderful job. The suite was well equipped with a beautiful shower and separate SPA tub! The King sized bed is very comfortable & cozy. Our favorite parts of the suite were the ability to open the windows at night to let the cool breezes in, having our own single cup keurig coffee maker in the room for tea and/or coffee at our leisure and the little balcony off the side to wake up and sit out on in the mornings.
The Inn has many rooms, and common areas, all comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast is substantial and DELICIOUS!!!! Homemade breads, jams, pancakes, waffles, eggs and potatoes were some of the choices depending on the day. Fresh coffee, and many any juices to choose from. The saddest part was only staying for a long weekend!!
You won't be disappointed with your stay; the couple takes great pride in their home and it shows through their details and trickles down to their staff. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hennac03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 563 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

My friend made the reservation. I have mixed feelings about staying at B&Bs. However, I certainly enjoyed our stay at this one. Bear, Patti, and helper Ron all contributed to the excellent service and upbeat atmosphere. The inn has many places to sit and relax indoors and out, which I particularly like. Lovely view as we woke up in the morning. It is hard to imagine any guest leaving dissatisfied.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We've been coming to the inn several times a year since 2009 and enjoyed every trip. Patti and Bear are the best inn keepers we have ever met and we have stayed in numerous B&Bs throughout the years. They make everyone feel very welcome and go out of their way to ensure that all of the guests are happy and well taken care of. They are extremely knowledgable regarding Asheville and the surrounding areas and gladly give recommendations for activities, shopping locations and restaurants.
The location of the inn is perfect, just 10 minutes from downtown Asheville and 15 from the Baltimore Estate. The breakfast is gourmet and worth the drive, truly. We have stayed there so many times it feels like home!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Literally, in the woods on top of a mountain, you are just outside of town. Bear and Patty have a wonderful location that just helps the cares just meltaway. The rooms are good sized and very comfortable. As with most B&Bs, you meet nice people. The trek to get there takes you over winding gravel roads, a mountain peak is between the inn and the city. Great vistas looking out over the mountains. If you are on the south side, you will be looking for a Ferrari that fell into the woods. Bear and Patty make you feel rights at home. The breakfasts make you break the diet. Don't leave without a having pancakes or waffles. Great location outside a great city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhjraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Seriously, stop looking, just stay here... you won't regret it! As soon as we drove up the driveway (the drive up the mountain had us wishing we could just stop and build a house anywhere on their road) Bear and Patti greeted us and excitedly showed us the whole property. The Inn is beautiful and in a perfect location. There's nothing like sleeping with fresh mountain air coming in the open window. Breakfast was certainly a highlight of the experience. There was an occasion on our hike on Mt Mitchell where I told my wife "Oh man, it's only 2 o'clock... we have to wait 18 more hours before we can eat breakfast." We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I are just in love with this place and our wonderful host's Patti and Bear! The location is a dream spot; Sitting just above it all, 15 minutes to downtown Asheville and 10 minutes to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Fine dining with an incredible breakfast (prepared by our Gourmet chef hosts) and great recommendations for evening dining. We love hiking the trails along the Blue Ridge and Bear knew exactly where we should go for the best views. We even decided to stay an extra night and even though our room was booked, they accommodated us with our option to split our stay any way we wanted in two of their rooms. Both rooms were absolutely marvelous and they even moved our belongings while we were out hiking the mountains. The 3 acres around the house are scattered with nice trails and cute settings. In all, it was an incredibly peaceful stay and we will be back!

Room Tip: Our favorite is the Willow suite, but the Chestnut suite was very elegant. Both rooms were exception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christianlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful experience with Bear and Patti this past weekend. The location is wonderful as it feels as though you are in the middle of the mountains but downtown Asheville is just down the hill. The owners really make this experience incredible as they are incredibly warm and welcoming. Not to mention their food and service is amazing. Definitely stay here if you are looking for a relaxing weekend with the ability to still see Asheville. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalorello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
812 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,639 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Oak Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Oak Mountain Inn

Address: 217 Patton Mountain Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-2848
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $110 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 miles from downtown Asheville, this mountain bed & breakfast is set on three wooded acres and offers the perfect place to relax while enjoying the gorgeous mountain views and natural setting. Inside, you will find rustic elegance and beautifully appointed guest rooms in a friendly, casual atmosphere. The breakfasts are abundant and the innkeekpers, Bear and Patti, are happy to accommodate special diets such as vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing