We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crooked Oak Mountain Inn
Ranked #7 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I wanted to make a good reservations for my husband for his birthday weekend. After searching many B&B's and reading reviews, this one won me over. As most ladies, I am very picky where I stay and certain things that lady has to have when away from home. Well, here at Crooked Oak Mountain B&B went over and beyond our expectations. Although it is nestled in the mountains, it is very convenient to all activities that we enjoy doing. Mr Bear is a great chef and catered to us with great enthusiastic and a great big smile. The bed was very comfortable The hospitality was Awesome. The water is Real water, not the nasty NC city water. Thanks Mr. Bear. We will be back.

Room Tip: Sage room has a hall bath but still very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 563 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

"Bear" and his wife have a beautiful mountain home that would make anyone feel relaxed. He makes a mean breakfast that you can enjoy with a view and then digest while sitting on the porch. He made us feel comfortable and welcome at all times of the day. We hope to bring our family/friends there soon!

Room Tip: Perfect for a relaxing weekend away within distance of Asheville.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were at Crooked Oak five nights. It was our second visit and we were really looking forward to it. Since the weather wasn't the best, it gave us the opportunity to be very lazy for a couple of days. We loved just hanging around, reading, talking to Bear and Patti, walking the mountain roads, and enjoying the gardens. We pay a special tribute to Ron, for his wonderful work there. This is a very special place.

Room Tip: The two end rooms are much more luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roydee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A Mountain retreat. Quite,well appointed and comfortable rooms. Bear does an amazing breakfast. We are Gluten and Diary Free. he catered for us with magnificent breakfasts.
Such an affable host.
We really look forward to going to back to Crooked Oak

Room Tip: We stayed in the Willow Suite- the largest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray Goldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Crooked Oak is wonderful! You feel like you are driving forever, and then reach this round house, which ahas more room than you could imagine. Beds are so comfortable, and the breakfasts are incredible. Bear and Patti take care of their guests, whether dinner reservations, recommendations for hikes or shopping, or just a glass of wine. If we had the time, we'd go every couple months -- you feel totally revived after visiting. Added benefit -- we've seen a bear both times we've stayed!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Why get a second home in the mountains when you can stay at this lovely place and eat like royalty. Bear and Patti are the model inn keepers and the food is always exceptional. The feeling of welcome is unmatched and the decor and grounds are so beautiful and relaxing you won't want to leave. The attention to detail is extraordinary, everything you need is here, and things you didn't know you needed until you experienced them. The location of the Crooked Oak Mountain Inn is perfection, you feel like you are at a remote mountain retreat, but you are only 15 minutes from downtown. We really can't say enough about this Inn or the Innkeepers, which is why we consider this our mountain retreat and keep coming back.

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites. It's not much more expensive and the added room and balcony is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earthlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just returned from four nights at this lovely inn and enjoyed our stay immensely. The location is secluded but once you've found it, easy to go to downtown and other locales. Bear, our host extraordinaire, more then amply filled his role and that of his wife, Patti, temporarily sidelined while recovering from knee surgery. Patti should be proud .. Bear is the consummate gracious innkeeper anticipating and fulfilling all of your expectations and more in a unique mountain top B&B. We've stayed at many, many B&Bs .. this is perhaps the best yet! We feel we have a new friend in Bear of Asheville!

Room Tip: The Chestnut room is bright and airy .. we loved the high ceilings and the stained glass hanging at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kybirdcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
812 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,638 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Oak Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Oak Mountain Inn

Address: 217 Patton Mountain Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-2848
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $110 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 miles from downtown Asheville, this mountain bed & breakfast is set on three wooded acres and offers the perfect place to relax while enjoying the gorgeous mountain views and natural setting. Inside, you will find rustic elegance and beautifully appointed guest rooms in a friendly, casual atmosphere. The breakfasts are abundant and the innkeekpers, Bear and Patti, are happy to accommodate special diets such as vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing