We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved my second time at Crooked Oak Mtn Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crooked Oak Mountain Inn
Ranked #6 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
“Loved my second time at Crooked Oak Mtn Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My first visit exceeded my expectations giving them a 5 rating! You cannot get much better than that but my expectations were exceeded again on my second visit! The food was cooked to perfection (again!), the rooms were large with a great view (again!) and Patti/Bear went out of their way to make my visit a memorable one (again!). What I did not expect this time was that return customers are now friends! What a nice clientele!

There are so many sights nearby that Patti and Bear will provide directions to such as the Smokeys/Blue-Ridge Mountains, waterfalls, fall colors and of course the Biltmore estate!

I know I will be back again and again!

Room Tip: Flip a coin as you cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
333
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We vacation to Asheville every year and ALWAYS stay at the CrookedOak. Patti and Bear are super hosts who have a little bit of paradise on the side of a mountain. The rooms are great, the breakfasts are fabulous and always very accommodating.

Room Tip: Chestnut suite is the biggest and most beautiful with the private patio and super large bath. Willo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our first visit to Crooked Oak Mountain Inn and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. Bear, Patti and their staff go out of their way to welcome you and meet your every need or request. The rooms are beautiful and the mountain atmosphere is wonderful plus you are just minutes away from downtown Asheville and The Biltmore. If you are a dog lover, you will especially love this place as Charlie and Bailey ( 2 beautiful labs) will greet you with a wagging tail every time. I absolutely fell in love with both.
We will definitely be visiting again.
Holly and Chris

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully furnished and very cozy, warm and welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Inn Quick Tips:
1. Use their posted directions to reach the inn…our GPS was off by about a quarter of a mile
2. Plenty of parking for all…
3. Check in 1500…check out 1100
4. Grounds are beautiful; stay awhile!
5. Breakfast: hot coffee available at 0700; breakfast begins at 0800-0930: a bottomless fruit salad, muffin, sweetbreads, yogurt and granola are the start to your every morning followed by the specialty breakfast of the day (if for some unfathomable reason you don’t like their selection of the day, made to order eggs are always an option)
6. 24/7 snack bar access to water/soda, chips, cookies and trail mix (a donation jar is in place to subsidize this convenient grab and go)
7. Free land line provided for outgoing nationwide calls (cell phones do not always have reception up on the mountain)
8. Free WiFi…Courtesy computer available for quick checks of emails, etc. for those who don’t bring a laptop

We stayed for six days tucked at this mountain side gem of a B&B. While it feels like you are miles away from the center of Asheville, in reality, a 10-15 minute drive has you right back in the heart of the city. This B&B is beautifully landscaped with a cozy outdoor seating/hammock area. They have two Labrador retrievers on the premises that quietly great you with wagging tails from behind their enclosed area; as welcoming as that you will receive from your hosts before you can even open your car door. Patty and Bear offer a wealth of information (personal experience, books, magazine, etc.) on the area and local restaurants to help you decide how to fill your days. Upon returning to your room each day, you will find it as tidied and spotless as the day you arrived. Spend your evenings in one of their nooks and watch TV or sit by the gas fireplace.

‘The Willow Room’ (our large, comfortable, oh so clean, suite for the week): A large open room, one side the bedroom area (king size bed with enough pillows to build an igloo), other side a seating room…a ‘fireplace’ heater/nightlight, single serving size kurig coffee maker, private balcony, private bathroom…daily cleaning and fresh towels…NO TV (didn’t miss not having it)…NO mini-fridge (did miss this)

Our ONLY mishap was that the balcony seat cushions were soaking wet from a previous rain…we didn’t think to check because the weather outside was so beautiful…ended up with very wet bottoms!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spontaneoustrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We almost missed the mountain colors....they were on the decline, but hurricane Sandy brought some wonderful snow which provided some color we weren't expecting. This made the stay even better as the house was as warm as the people who greeted us at the door. The breakfast was fantastic!
We look forward to another stay there in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave_horn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Crooked Oak Mountain Inn and is the only B&B we've ever visited. Bear and Patti have are the standard of how B&Bs should treat their guests. They always give us a warm greeting when we arrive so you feel like you're arriving at home. They take us to our room and describe some of the room features, i.e. air conditioner, heater, robes, etc, to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The Inn was always very clean and our bed was very comfortable. My wife and I love lounging in the lower level sectional couch watching TV. Their dinner and activity recommendations are phenomenal. We love the flexible breakfast time frame (8-9:30am) so we can wake up slowly. The food is delish as well! Ask to try Bear's Belgian waffle. The scenery is amazing around the Inn and we felt very relaxed and worry free. Plus, the Inn is only about a 10 minute drive to the very trendy downtown Asheville. We definitely look forward to going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyandKarmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

If this place was any better it would be illegal! The location is only 15 min. from downtown Asheville and yet you'd think you were in the middle of the forest primeval. The Inn is furnished and appointed exquisitly. Each room is different but all blend with the common areas magnificently. It's done like you would do your home. (But you better be good at decorating.) The Innkeepers, Patti and Bear, are the kind of people that after you have been there one day you feel like you have known them all your life. The breakfasts are superb, the attentiveness and willingness to help with anything by the Innkeepers is great, the Inn is immaculate and if you ask, Bear my even coax a black bear through the property for you. He did for us. Outstanding accommodation in all respects.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kodyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Biltmore Village Inn
#8 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,550 reviews
The Reynolds Mansion
#2 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Oak Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Oak Mountain Inn

Property: Crooked Oak Mountain Inn
Address: 217 Patton Mountain Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-2848
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 miles from downtown Asheville, this mountain bed & breakfast is set on three wooded acres and offers the perfect place to relax while enjoying the gorgeous mountain views and natural setting. Inside, you will find rustic elegance and beautifully appointed guest rooms in a friendly, casual atmosphere. The breakfasts are abundant and the innkeekpers, Bear and Patti, are happy to accommodate special diets such as vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing