We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility on the hill”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crooked Oak Mountain Inn
Ranked #10 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton Twp., Mi.
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tranquility on the hill”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Peaceful, relaxing. Bear is a great host and cook as well. Does wonders with eggs. Omelettes are the bomb. No tv in the rooms is a plus. Great surroundings in the woods. Beware of the dropping acorns!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darwoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
82
342
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. I love how the inn is close to downtown, but you feel like you are staying far into the mountains. It is very private and beautiful. I like how it is decorated, not too fancy, where you don't feel comfortable. Our room was very clean and comfortable. There was no tv in our room, but that didn't bother us. Breakfast was delicious. There weren't any choices, but again that didnt bother us because it was so good. I'm sure they would accommodate dietary needs with notice. I highly recommend this B&B and would love to go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audra1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is where magic happens. Patti and Bear have lovingly created this beautiful jewel
nestled in the mountains. They truly thought of every detail to create the perfect
atmosphere to relax, refresh and get away from it all. The breakfasts were scrumptious,
our room gorgeous. We loved the woods and gardens with the Koi pond. Patti and Bear
treated us like friends from the moment we got there.Thank you Patti and Bear for a
wonderful experience. We enjoyed every minute and will be back.
Jane Cash and Roy Cartwright, Cincinnati, Ohio

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roydee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our annual September trip (our 7th) to Asheville just ended, and I always hate to leave Crooked Oak and Patti and Bear when it's time to get back to "reality". It is always like we're home with dear friends and the stay was as always - wonderful, relaxing, warm and comfortable, food to die for, and just being basically pampered in every way imaginable by Patti and Bear. It's so secluded on top of Patton Mountain, and the peace and tranquility are a wonderful way to spend 4 days (or more!). We fell in love with the Inn - AND Patti and Bear even more - on our first trip 7 years ago, and it's a annual trip that we look so forward to each year. We always stay in the Willow Suite (our suite of choice!), but all of the rooms are gorgeous and Patti's knack for the big and small details are so evident in each and every room. If you're planning a trip to Asheville, you have to experience the ultimate pleasure of staying with Patti and Bear, trust me! It couldn't be a more perfect choice!

Room Tip: Pick any one of the 6 - 2 are suites - and you won't go wrong with the choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msikes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our first trip to Asheville and we couldn't have decided on a better place to stay. The Crooked Oak Mountain was the perfect getaway location. From the moment we stepped out of our car, I felt like i was staying with an old friend and not a B&B. Bear (owner's nickname) was always friendly, warm and funny, and yet was always very attentive to your needs. The inn is kept in great shape. The room and bathroom were well decorated, clean, and very comfortable. The smallest details attended to. However the room and inn were not so lavish that you felt like you had to tip toe around the place. The location is up (elevation wise) from Asheville (but only 5-10 minute drive) in what I would consider to a a fairly secluded elevated area (the final part of your drive is on a dirt road (with a few switchbacks to deal with!). So the location is very quiet and peaceful. Since they only have six rooms, you see and talk to many of the guest staying there and bear is never more than a shout away. His knowledge of the area is extensive and he is always willing to share that with you. The breakfasts are awesome. If you sit at the right table you can see them working in the kitchen and hear Bear whistle as he works. There was also one other small item that we personally enjoyed. We are dog owners and Bear has two wonderful labs. My wife and i were able to take the dogs for walks each morning for our exercise. A gem of a B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A four day getaway with my daughter for my birthday! We were looking for a destination that had some adventure mixed with relaxation. Asheville offers both. We booked at Crooked Oak mountain after calling and speaking with Patti and Bear. They were so helpful and knowledgeable about the area on the phone that we just had to meet them. Patti was out of town so when we arrived we were greeted by Ron who has been a part of the Inn forever. He gave us a tour and we instantly fell in love with the Inn. It is like staying with good friends. The accommodations were perfect. The outside was beautifully landscaped with short walking paths, outside terraces and a calming koi pond. Bear prepares amazing breakfasts each morning, taking special care of dietary needs. All breakfast breads, muffins, yogurt dip are handmade along with omelets, waffles, and my favorite, bacon, to start our day. The warm, friendly atmosphere of sitting on the terrace with other guests feels like a homecoming. Our room was decorated in soft blues and the bed was the most comfortable ever. There was nothing that was missed in our room. Two very comfy robes, Thyme toiletries plenty of plush towels.

Planning another adventure to Asheville in the Spring and going right back to Crooked Oak Mountain Inn!

Room Tip: We toured all the rooms at the Inn and every one is exquisite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I have visited Asheville at least once a year since our first anniversary 8 years ago. I don't remember what it was that made us choose Crooked Oak Mountain Inn for our lodgings that first time (the Vivaldi playing on the website, maybe?), but we have made it a point to stay there every time since that first trip. You're up on a mountain away from it all, yet only a 10 minute drive into downtown. The accommodations themselves are wonderful, but Bear and Patti are the reason we keep coming back. They are two wonderful people who really go above and beyond to make your visit special. Between the restaurant recommendations and reservations, directions to anywhere you need to go, the fact they put the 'breakfast' in 'bed and breakfast'...we recommend this inn to everyone we know planning a visit to Asheville and look forward to coming back many more times.

Room Tip: We've stayed in 4 of their rooms and they've all been a good place to rest after a day in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NateTheRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
755 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
210 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 66 in Asheville
5,963 reviews
The Reynolds Mansion
#2 of 39 in Asheville
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Oak Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Oak Mountain Inn

Property: Crooked Oak Mountain Inn
Address: 217 Patton Mountain Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-2848
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 miles from downtown Asheville, this mountain bed & breakfast is set on three wooded acres and offers the perfect place to relax while enjoying the gorgeous mountain views and natural setting. Inside, you will find rustic elegance and beautifully appointed guest rooms in a friendly, casual atmosphere. The breakfasts are abundant and the innkeekpers, Bear and Patti, are happy to accommodate special diets such as vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing