We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, WONDERFUL BREAKFAST”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Room, WONDERFUL BREAKFAST”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was our first time visiting a B&B and we loved the experience of eating breakfast with the other guests. The Carolyn Grey room was everything we needed and had a massive bathtub. Would love to stay there again on our next trip to Asheville

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamcross326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    26
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
194
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a total gem in Asheville! I'm so glad we were able to book a room at A Bed of Roses, as I can't imagine a better way to experience Asheville - from the stellar location (we walked to dinner/drinks every night), to meeting Emily and Bill, two such truly wonderful and joyful people.

The whole house is like a Victorian dream, and our room was just gorgeous, with a lovely fireplace AND jacuzzi tub facing the bed. Very romantic. ;)

Emily and Bill: Thank you for being such fantastic hosts, for the breakfasts full of love, and for creating such an amazing experience for us. Can't think of a thing I would change!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aydika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! It was wonderful watching you both fall in love with Asheville the same way we did almost 4 years ago now. I'm sure we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2014

An outstanding B&B experience. We visited Asheville for 2 nights in late Feb. The Wilkinson room was cozy and comfortable. The gas fireplace was a wonderful added feature. The breakfast part of the B@B was very well prepared and presented, not to mention delicious. We have stayed in Asheville before and the Bed of Roses location is the best. The hosts love for what they are doing is conveyed into the care they offer to their guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thanks so much for the review! It's especially gratifying for us to hear that our love for innkeeping and for Asheville shows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and we loved it. The hosts were wonderful and the room was very comfortable and beautiful. We were just a walk from downtown and the hosts made sure we knew the best places to go and the best route to get there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The room we stayed in was great (The Wilkinson). The bed was so comfortable. The star of the show is the breakfast. It is a gourmet fest that is meticulously prepared. Also, each afternoon there are delicious cookies just out of the oven. Very close to downtown. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed in A Bed of Roses B&B around Christmas time with $150+ payment. It has great outlook and inside display but, overall, my stay for one night was not quite as I expected. Here I note a number of caveats.

First, I found several stink bugs in the room. B&Bs are usually old Victorian houses, so I am not sure if this is a common situation that visitors face. But, seriously, the time was in the middle of winter! I think it is reasonable to anticipate there will be more bugs in other seasons.

Second, hot water in the Whirlpool tub was not consistent. The Whirlpool bathtub inside the room was one of the attractions that made me choose this B&B. Yet it didn't really work properly.

Third, the heating system was not good enough. This B&B uses a kind of radiator that displays a beautiful fireplace when working, but I spent a cold night because that radiator didn't warm the room much as it looked.

Forth, the breakfast was so-so. This evaluation might reflect my personal preferences too much. However, after having the breakfast, I had a strong feeling that it was definitely not worthy of 150+ dollars.

Good stuff: The staffs are extremely kind. The house has a long history & wonderful atmosphere. That's why I rate it as "poor" not "terrible." But the caveats I describe above were crucial, by all of which I wouldn't strongly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Avoid the room on the first floor. Bugs are likely to appear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jml7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We regret that you were disappointed in your stay at A Bed of Roses. I'm sorry you chose not to share your problems with the room with us so we could have tried to help while you were here. Asheville has indeed been inundated with Stink Bugs this year, and I'm afraid that the cold weather drives them indoors, but we make every effort to eradicate them as soon as they appear. This is the first we've heard of them being spotted in the Carolyn Gray Room. This is also the first report we've had of poor water temperature in the whirlpool. We have two very large water heaters that can usually handle the extreme load of a B&B with 4 jacuzzis, 5 showers and a sanitizing dish washer. The Carolyn Gray room is heated by the central heating in the house. The cast iron electric heater is there for additional heat as well as ambiance. It is not meant as the sole heat in the room and is not usually needed as such. Again, we are sorry that you were uncomfortable and had we known we may have been able to help alleviate your discomfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, NC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I really enjoyed this bed and breakfast. It was beautiful and the innkeepers were so helpful and friendly. The breakfasts in the morning were delicious. The inn was close to downtown which we loved. Very quaint and relaxing. Would definitely recommend this inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obxphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review. We're glad you enjoyed A Bed of Roses. We love the location too! It's so convenient to everything. We hope you come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
749 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#18 of 39 in Asheville
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 39 in Asheville
544 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
198 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast

Property: A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast
Address: 135 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bed of Roses is a Queen Anne Victorian B&B set in the quiet, historic Montford District of Asheville, just 5 blocks from the vibrant downtown. There are 5 beautifully appointed guest rooms, all with private baths, flat screen TVs and free WIFI. A gourmet breakfast is included along with home baked goodies and complementary beverages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Bed Of Roses Bed And Breakfast
a Bed Of Roses Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing