We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant - Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant - Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

My wife and I attended a company meeting in Asheville, NC June 2 - 6 and wanted to spend the weekend after in the area to do some sightseeing. After looking on the net for B&B's on various sites (with the first being TRIPADVISOR), we settled on "A Bed of Roses". It was a very good choice. There are other B&B's which were not much less but this one seemed to have a unique charm. It didn't hurt that my wife fell in love with the Turret Suite, their best room. We booked that Saturday and Sunday nights. The suite has a queen bed in the turret room, and a beautiful bath with jacuzzi tub for two separates the sitting room with a private balcony. Upon arrival Janice, one of the owners, met us and showed us around the house and to our room. During our stay, she was a fountain of knowledge regarding the area and about this Victorian house which was built in 1897 and lovingly restored by Janice and Chris. Breakfast was elegant, sumptuous, and tasty although with anyone having plans, the 9:00am time was late in my opinion (8:00am - 8:30am would have been better for our plans). Coffee was always ready at 7:30am though for earlier risers. The location is within walking distance of downtown and the artisan shops so famous in Asheville. Log on to <www.abedofroses.com> and check them out. Also, if you want to have a very memorable dinner check out my review of the Savoy Restaurant.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Powerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    26
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
191
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

My husband and I had a lovely stay at A Bed of Roses in mid-March of this year. We're from Boston, and decided to visit the Asheville area for a week, to experience the city and do some hiking. We chose A Bed of Roses after looking at about 9 other options, based on good reviews, and it's close proximity to downtown.

The location is fantastic. The place is a 10-15 minute walk to the heart of downtown Asheville--we didn't drive there once, so that was a huge plus and saved us renting a car until later in the week. Second, the B&B is just beautiful, clean and well maintained, and the hosts so welcoming. We got stuck overnight in Atlanta due to the tornado, and without us even asking they took that night off of our bill. The breakfasts were delicious --alternating sweet and savory--and could carry you through until dinner! And there were fresh-baked goodies and tea left out all day the kitchen, every day.

The B&B was also very well stayed--we met guests from New Hampshire, Vermont, Pennsylvania, Mississippi, and Germany during our visit, all of whom seemed very happy with their stay (although the Germans were a bit sweeted out with the sweet breakfasts, they said because they weren't used to it!).

The only thing we will do differently if we stay again is to book a larger room--we stayed in the Wilkensen Room. While it was comfortable and very romantic (with gas fire place and nice bathroom), it was too small for two to really sit and have a snack or cup of tea together.

All in all a wonderful stay, well worth the money, and highly recommended, especially if you want to be close to downtown.

  • Liked — Short walk to downtown Asheville; hospitality; food
  • Disliked — Chose a small room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank srattigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

We spent 3 wonderful nights at a Bed of Roses and couldn't be happier about our stay. The property was kept spotlessly clean the entire time we were there. We stayed in the Wilkenson room and found it to be quiet and comfortable. Some very nice amenities include: individual toiletries refreshed daily, including bath salts, satin and terrycloth robes, fresh baked goods and beverages every afternoon, remote controlled fireplaces in the rooms, and wireless internet. The inn was within a ten minute walk of downtown so we never had to worry about parking (we overheard someone say that they had driven around for 35 minutes to find a spot). The innkeepers have perfected the art of gracious hospitality. We felt that they were always available if we needed them but they never intruded upon us. Also, the breakfasts were truly gourmet, both in taste and presentation. We had an excellent experience and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this bed and breakfast to our friends and family.

  • Liked — Iced tea and baked goods enjoyed sitting in the sunshine on the front porch
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything I didn't like
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AudraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2008

My wife, who is pregnant, and I decided to have a BabyMoon in Asheville, NC and stayed at A Bed of Roses the nights of 2/8 and 2/9. Neither of us have stayed at a B & B and wanted to give one a try. We picked at great place to be our first!
I made our reservation over the phone and booked the Biltmore package, which for less than the price of a one day ticket, you get a 2 day ticket.
We arrived early (well before check-in) and Janis gave us our Biltmore tickets right away and off we went to explore Biltmore, which is absolutely stunning. We came back in the afternoon and checked in. We stayed in the Wilkinson Room on the 2nd floor. The room was very romantic, especially the fabric canopy over the bed. The room had a fireplace, which we used at night and a good sized bathroom. Later that night, after returning from dinner, we enjoyed the complimentary tea and coffee and had some chocolate covered strawberries (they owners prepare and keep snacks out all day long). The following day they had brownies, which were delicious.
The breakfast was definitely a plus for us. The first day was pecan french toast. The second day was a spanish/western omelette with sausage and apple, a biscuit, and corn dish. Everything was great!
The owners are very friendly, and provided us with information about how to get around. The B & B is located less than a mile from the visitors center, which we visited twice for ideas on what to do. They also have off-the-street parking, which was good.
Without being absolutely petty or nit-picky, there really was nothing negative that we can think of about this place. We could hear the water filling up the Jacuzzi in the next room, but it was not disturbing, it just made us want to get into it, but we did not book a Jacuzzi room since my wife is pregnant!
We had a great time and hope all of our future stays at a B & B are just as good as this one.

  • Liked — Was located in a very quiet neighborhood and you could walk (about 20 mins) to downtown
  • Disliked — that we did not stay longer!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mapkyc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2007

What a great place! The innkeepers were so helpful and friendly from check in to check out. The house is gorgeous just like the pictures. The bed was SO comfortable. We stayed in the Revell room. The location is close to downtown which was very nice. The breakfast the next morning was great! We enjoyed eating at the dining table with the other guests and enjoyed the conversation. If you get a chance to stay here you won't regret it! We hope to return again in the future!

  • Liked — Can't pick just one thing!
  • Disliked — That we didn't stay longer!!!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank krbmc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2007

This was a wonderful place to spend the weekend. The area is residential but close to downtown. Offstreet parking was an added bonus in a city with narrow streets. The rooms were clean & comfortable. After a long day of sightseeing, it was very relaxing to sit on the front porch.
The food was fabulous. In additon to a wonderful breakfast each morning, there were homemade treats available throughout the day. Our host & hostess had menus for local restaurants on site which helped us choose a place dine in the evenings.
Great host & hostess, great place to stay.

  • Liked — Great food
  • Disliked — Small stairway to 2nd floor
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

My girlfriend and I work hectic jobs and our time together is very precious.
That's why I'm so grateful that I found A Bed of Roses. Our host Janis was warm and welcoming without being intrusive. Throughout the day and night we were tempted with homemade snacks, coffee and tea, and soft drinks. Snacking and sipping gave us the chance to meet and converse with our fellow guests and they were a friendly bunch. Good conversations!
The Carolyn Gray Room was made for relaxing with its two-person Jacuzzi and deep queen-sized bed. It was obvious that the room was decorated with care. The colors were rich and inviting.
We arrived tired but the room rejuvenated us. Not just rejuvenated, but made us frisky. While most of this is the result of my sweetie being the most wonderful woman imaginable, at least part of it stems from the romantic atmosphere that we found at A Bed of Roses.
I think this would be an ideal getaway for those who are beginning to shape a relationship, honeymooners, or those, like us, who want to rekindle what's precious in their lives.

  • Liked — Our room was so charming
  • Disliked — No disappointments
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tumblepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast

Property: A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast
Address: 135 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bed of Roses is a Queen Anne Victorian B&B set in the quiet, historic Montford District of Asheville, just 5 blocks from the vibrant downtown. There are 5 beautifully appointed guest rooms, all with private baths, flat screen TVs and free WIFI. A gourmet breakfast is included along with home baked goodies and complementary beverages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Bed Of Roses Bed And Breakfast
a Bed Of Roses Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing