We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I just spent two nights at this beautiful B&B. The Inn surpassed all of our expectations: Bill & Emily were friendly & gracious hosts, the breakfasts were delicious, the location was great - a short, easy walk to downtown, and our room was pleasant and comfortable. We couldn't have asked for a better spot and will definitely be staying here again in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wilkinson room which was quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 251 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent 2 nights at this beautiful B&B. I loved the decor and our room was impeccable. Bill and Emily were extremely gracious and personable and the breakfasts were amazing! I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone looking for a very pleasant and relaxing experience. It is located in very close proximity to downtown. We will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Bed of Roses on our way back from the 2013 Masters at Augusta. We arrived later than expected but were greeted by both Bill and Emily when we arrived just after 9pm. They made us feel very welcome and took the time to suggest a few nice restaurants to check out for some food after our long drive. We booked into the Oliver Davis room and were not disappointed. It is a really small room but somehow this just adds to how cozy it feels. The bathroom was again small but really quirky. We loved it.

We joined some other guests for breakfast the next morning. My wife revealed afterwards that she was initially skeptical when I had booked a B&B as opposed to a hotel but commented that she really enjoyed the intimacy of meeting the owners and also meeting some interesting people at breakfast. I would definitely recommend a stay at this wee gem!

Room Tip: Oliver Davis was quirky and cozy!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark-english1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed three nights at the B&B and it was a very nice stay. It's a Victorian house close to Asheville's downtown. The owners are very helpful and the rooms are nice. We stayed in two rooms, both of which had Jacuzzi's, very comfortable beds, and good walk-in showers. One room is on the ground floor, the other four are up one flight.

The breakfasts are fabulous. It's one seating at a single table, but we found the company very congenial all three mornings. Very tasty breakfasts and pleasant conversation.

The owners are very helpful with advice about things to do, restaurants, etc. Sometimes when you stay in a house where the owners live, it can be hard to strike the right balance of them "being there" but not too much in your face. The owners here struck a perfect balance.

The rooms are not huge. The Carolyn Grey (ground floor) was a little tight, the Revell was more spacious. There's also a very nice common sitting room and a comfortable front porch.

Can't think of anything I'd do better. Nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We liked the Revell room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonsreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in "the nest"...it was so cozy and cute and a great get away for the weekend. Our hosts welcomed us and gave us a great tour of the city via map. They were wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were first class. Each day was a different meal and was served with some fresh juice. We can not say enough good things about A bed of roses!!! We will be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aandmbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant two night stay. Although we would not stay again if we were to return to Asheville, it is only because we enjoy staying in different places. Too many B & B's and too little time. However we would not hesitate to recommend a Bed of Roses to anyone we knew visiting the area. The neighborhood was historic and quiet and only a 10 minute walk to downtown. Emily was very helpful giving us easy to follow maps and suggestions as to where to eat. Bill was laid back, pleasant and interesting to converse with. We felt welcomed by them both. If you like roses, they are everywhere you look in many different forms whether fresh cut or a pattern on the china. Ignore any negative reviews as they should not dissuade anyone from staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotiaCantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a romantic trip to Asheville for our 1 year wedding anniversary. We were hesitant to stay at a B&B since it was our first time, but A Bed of Roses far exceeded our expectations! Bill and Emily were amazingly friendly, genuine and helpful hosts. They made us feel so comfortable and at home. The Inn itself was beautiful and the attention to detail was incredible. We stayed in the Turret Suite and it couldn't have been more romantic. The fresh flowers throughout the suite and plush linens were wonderful. The bed was awesome...we didn't want to leave! The tub was put to good use and the robes were a nice touch after a hot bath. Breakfast was phenomenal...the menu combinations and food prep were gourmet! We will definitely cherish our experience at A Bed of Roses and would recommend it to anyone. You get what you pay for and it's worth every penny. Thank you Bill and Emily for a wonderful stay! Expect to see us in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Autumn Shea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 39 in Asheville
661 reviews
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 39 in Asheville
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
North Lodge on Oakland
#17 of 39 in Asheville
130 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast

Address: 135 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $109 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bed of Roses is a Queen Anne Victorian B&B set in the quiet, historic Montford District of Asheville, just 5 blocks from the vibrant downtown. There are 5 beautifully appointed guest rooms, all with private baths, flat screen TVs and free WIFI. A gourmet breakfast is included along with home baked goodies and complementary beverages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Bed Of Roses Bed And Breakfast
a Bed Of Roses Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing