We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get-a-way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I planned a nice romantic weekend in Asheville. We chose A Bed of Roses for the location, asthetics, and price. All of our requests were quickly meet, breakfast was enjoyable, and Emily and Bill were most pleasant and inviting. We both had a great weekend together and would recommend this B&B.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 254 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bed of Roses last summer and thoroughly enjoyed it! The breaksfast was amazing and definitely a highlight of our trip! The innkeepers are incredibly friendly and always have baked goods ready. The B & B is also walking distance from downtown Asheville which was nice. Overall, we had a great visit and would definitely return to the Bed of Roses.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sojourner1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was my first time to visit a Bed & Breakfast. From the very beginnings with all the phone calls & questions, Bill & Emily were always very polite, helpful and courteous. Upon arrival, I was not dissappointed ! They greet you when you arrive, show you to your room, and help you get settled in. The room was great, had more space than anticipated, and very clean. It's only a few minutes walk to downtown to the shops & restaurants, in a good area too. Sasha & Nadia their 2 cats even came out to greet us and say hello. This was an AWESOME 1st experience and I will definetly recommend them !!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyV1ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Having spent some time at B&B's in the Asheville area I had high expectations, and I was surprised that A Bed of Roses exceeded them.

Service was fantastic, the owners were very friendly and knowledgeable. It was clear that they cared about our experience. They even provided print-outs of rain-day activities in Asheville since we had some drizzle.

The accommodations were wonderful,and the bed was sublime. Every detail was paid attention to. It was a bit chilly and rainy during our visit, and a space heater was properly positioned just where you would want it. It was clear that the owners had spent the night in the room and looked around and thought "what would I want when I wake up, shower, etc".

Due to our plans we were only able to enjoy one breakfast there, but it was excellent. They had asked about nutritional requests and we had said none despite being picky eaters. Our plates returned to the kitchen empty since everything was so phenomenal.

All in all, an excellent trip, and a great break from reality.

Room Tip: Loved the Turret room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyMcIntosh, Owner at A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

Bill and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay at A Bed of Roses! We hope you get to enjoy more of our breakfasts on your next visit!
Emily Flynn McIntosh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I noticed another reviewer used Thomas Kinkade's name to describe the house. That's what I thought when I saw the picture and wanted to stay there. It lived up to it perfectly. Emily was decorating for Christmas when we walked in and the two resident kitties, Nadia and Sasha, greeted us as well. We stayed in the Turret Suite and Emily and Bill's breakfasts every morning were fabulous. Walking distance to downtown Asheville and just minutes by car to the Biltmore Estate and the Grove Park Inn. The neighborhood is very nice to walk around in and I took lots of pictures of the homes on the quiet streets. We plan to come back in the spring!!

Room Tip: First time staying here in the Turret Suite, so don't know about the other rooms. Private bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apprider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at A Bed of Roses for our 2nd Anniversary and loved it. It was a very charming visit, in a lovely setting. Between the cobbled walkways and historic decor, I felt like I staying in a Thomas Kinkade painting. We stayed in the largest room, the Turret Suite. It spans the entire front of the house on the second floor. It felt very private, with the bathroom situated between the bedroom and separate sitting room (complete with fireplace and balcony). The bed was very comfortable and the room was quite spacious. There is a large jet tub that doubles as a jacuzzi. Breakfast was wonderful, with creative, yet delicious options each morning. As a cat-lover, I enjoyed the "host" cats that wandered around. I also loved the neighbors cat that greeted us along the walkway. Overall, a fantastic experience with great hosts!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

For our first trip to A Bed of Roses in October of 2009, we were in town for a very un-organized wedding! When plans changed at the last minute, we were not able to extend our stay inthe room we'd already booked, so we ended up having the pleasure of staying in both the Carolyn Grey and Oliver Davis rooms. Both rooms were equally comfortable and romantic. This October 2011, we stayed in the Wilkinson room and also had a fabulous stay. This B&B couldn't be any more conveniently located, the owners couldn't be any kinder, and the food couldn't be any more delicious! We'll never stay at another Asheville B&B--A Bed of Roses feels like home!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
802 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,632 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
250 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed of Roses Bed & Breakfast

Address: 135 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $109 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bed of Roses is a Queen Anne Victorian B&B set in the quiet, historic Montford District of Asheville, just 5 blocks from the vibrant downtown. There are 5 beautifully appointed guest rooms, all with private baths, flat screen TVs and free WIFI. A gourmet breakfast is included along with home baked goodies and complementary beverages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Bed Of Roses Bed And Breakfast
a Bed Of Roses Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing