We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Fleabag”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Log Cabin Motor Court
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2007

In the six years that I have had him, my dog has never had fleas. That is, until we took him to the Log Cabin Motor Court. The first night we stayed in the Cozy Corner Cabin, my wife and I saw fleas in our bed. Of course, by that time, the office was closed down so we spent an uncomfortable and itchy night. I called them after our visit to give them a courtesy heads-up and I was dismissed by the owner. She alluded to the idea that my dog came to her cabins with the fleas. When I explain that my dog is treated with Frontline, she made it clear that the conversation was over. This was not the only problem, though. I was incredibly disappointed by the location. Don't be fooled by the photos. They make it seem like the cabins are in some enchanted forest. The cabins are directly off a very busy commercial street and there is a freeway running directly behind them. Being sandwiched between two loud thoroughfares does not make for a peaceful location. Please do yourself a favor, pay a little bit more, and stay somewhere decent. The money I saved on this rat trap has been spent on more Frontline and flea shampoo.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RockyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LogCabin, Owner at Log Cabin Motor Court, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2008

We have been pet friendly for 7 years and this is our very FIRST complaint about flees. We wash 100% of the liens (including comforters), do extra cleaning and spray between customers with pets. This extra effort has paid off with 1000’s of very stratified customers. The customers prior to and after this event did not have any issues with flees.

It is interesting that because her dog had flees, she insisted that they came from our place. Is possible that her pet picked up flees outside or somewhere else? I might add, after she left the so called “flees issue” also left with her dog. 94% of all our customers say they will return to our cabins someday. You don’t get these kinds of comments by being a “flee bag” establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Log Cabin Motor Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 252 of 252 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2006

We stayed in Asheville's The Log Cabin Motor Court for vacationfrom Georgia. It is located at 330 Weaverville HWY, Asheville, N.C. 28804and number is 828-645-6546 at cabinlodging.com. We stayed in the "Cozy Corner", which sounded cute...it was disgusting and should be reported asuncleanly and unsanitary. There was mold all over the ceiling, severalspots in the ceiling had stains and water dripping down...there werecockroach feces in the shower and moldy windows in the shower, the showerfossett and drain were entirely rusted and left rust stains around theareas. There was also a smell of gas throughout the cabin, like the gasstove was leaking. This placed was entirely unsanitary. We requested a discount on our night's stay and were ignored, then we disputed thetransaction and were declined. I also contacted the Asheville betterbusiness bureau and AAA and the NC dept of environmental and health services, but this place should be closed down.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jwareh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LogCabin, Owner at Log Cabin Motor Court, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2008

The issues described by this customer DO NOT exist. These are not our words, but the words of the North Carolina Health Inspector.

This customer contacted AAA, Better Business and North Carolina Department Environmental & Health Services. The NC Health Dept did a surprise inspection of our cabins and found NONE of the items she list in her complaint in her cabin or any other cabin. Furthermore the inspector gave us a rating of 98 out of possible 100 points. One of the very best ratings in the industry.

When Health Services reported back to this customer, she was so mad with the results that she threatened the North Carolina Department Environmental & Heath Services inspectors with e-mails and other actions.

We also had an inspection by AAA and they gave us a Diamond Rating, none of the items listed in the complaint were noted by the inspector. Likewise, letters to the BBB did little to make this customer happy.

94% of all our customers say they will return to our cabins someday. You don’t get these kinds of comments for 1000’s of customers without being clean and enjoyable place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

Not nearly as cool as it sounds. Several of the cabins in the back are just off the interstate, including the one I stayed in. Trees blocked the view, but I could still hear the traffic the whole time, which destroyed all of the charm. I give it 2 stars in the hope that maybe the cabins in the main/front area are better? Avoid cabins 18-20.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Beatrice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2006

Personal opinion as an Asheville native and resident: the Log Cabin Motor Court is an example of a kind of rustic motor court that was common in the 1930s and 40s but that is rare in the U.S. today, so worth a look if you are in interested in this kind of fast-disappearing place, but with the many wonderful B&Bs in Asheville, and the numerous inns and personality places, plus the dozens of well-run chain hotels, this place is at best a curiosity. It's absurd that this simple spot gets such a high ranking.

--Lan Sluder

9  Thank LanSluder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2005

We were in Asheviile this past weekend, October 7, 8 & 9, for our anniversary and it was beautiful. The leaves had not come out as much as we had hoped, but it was still lovely. We stayed at the Log Cabin Motor Court. If you like quaint, basic and inexpensive accomodations, this is the place!! The restaurant was also great! Don't miss Chimney Rock Park. The Needle's Eye is an experience.

12  Thank sweetpeainva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
4.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
0.0 mi away
The Pines Cottages
The Pines Cottages
#7 of 21 in Asheville
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Log Cabin Motor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Log Cabin Motor Court

Address: 330 Weaverville Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-1229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Price Range: $50 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away near a main artery to downtown Asheville is one of the most unique accommodations the area has to offer - authentic log cabins which were built in the 1930s. PET FRIENDLY. Located 5 1/2 miles north of Asheville, the cabins offer the same quaint charm and romance that tourists to Asheville have enjoyed for years. One and two bedroom cabins and a four bedroom lodge are available. Some cabins have fireplaces and kitchens. All are fully equipped with linens, cable TV and wireless internet. Picnic tables and grills are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Log Cabin Motor Court Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing