We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian Food; A Feast!”
Review of India Garden

India Garden
Ranked #252 of 785 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sarasota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food; A Feast!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I happened upon this restaurant when shopping. What a wonderful surprise! The atmosphere was clean, neat and very calming. Staff was friendly and attentive. Husband ordered the Tandoori Mixed Grill and I had the Chicken Pasanda. Both were excellent! And we are still talking about it two days later. We shared the bread basket assortment because we really aren't familiar with Indian breads. All were fresh, soft and quite tasty--a nicely complementing the more spicy main dishes. Husband requested a sample of all three sauces. All of the vegtables, including the salad were fresh and arrived very hot or cold as needed. Because it was a bit chilly outside I ordered a cup of tea and regret that I didn't ask about it. It was exotic and delicious. There is also an assortment of wine and Indian beers but hubby stuck with Sam Adams. Highly highly recommend and we definitely want to return ASAP.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Always open”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Food is good and fresh.
It was open on memorial day too.
Food was tasty.
Nice and neat.
Far from downtown.
I did't liked starters that much.
Salt was less in all dishes.
Manchurian was more like muthiya in indo-chinese style though it was tasty. Rotis are less in quantity compared to other restaurants.
Over all good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deepsharpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A well kept secret....”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

...tucked away in a strip mall across from the Asheville Mall. I've eaten at several of the Indian restaurants in Asheville and find this to be the best. Spices are used judiciously and don't overpower the food. There are a lot of options for vegetarian diets and the lunch buffet is a bargain. It seems to be more "authentic" rather than "westernized." The raita is cooling & delicate, the tamarind sauce is tangy, the mint chutney... addictive with the garlic naan. Vegetables are cooked just right. If you're looking for some authentic food in an intimate setting away from the hustle and bustle of down-town, I highly recommend India Garden.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank betsypinkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Proud to be a "regular"”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

In general, I find the Indian food in Asheville to be superior to Chinese, Mexican, or even Japanese or Thai options. I think that Mela, Chai Pani, Cinnamon Kitchen, and India Garden are all good. Perhaps because India Garden is near where we live and it's easy to park it seems to be the one we go to most. It was where we went to get take out for our first meal as residents of Asheville, so India Kitchen will always have a special place in my heart (not to mention stomach) Everyone in our family really likes the lunch buffet especially, and when I'm in the mood for a big filling comfort food Indian meal, it's hard to beat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank talaria9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“$10 lunch buffet: service OK: Not Horrible.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Had the lunch buffet on Friday, August 10th. The dining room was very comfortable, nice table clothes and cloth napkins, pleasant music. The vegetarian dishes were just not spicy-seasoned or spicy-hot enough for me. A lot of people may prefer milder food as the other diners seemed to be enjoying the food. I have tried Chai Pani, Katmandu and Mela. Mela is the most acceptable. None match Indian Restaurants in larger cities so far. Indian food is my favorite. I would not return to India Garden.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedRockTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Garden also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to India Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing