We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corner Kitchen

The Corner Kitchen
Ranked #15 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: All Soul's Crescent
Description: Lots of places do Farm to Table, the difference is what happens in between.
Thomasville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We ate at The Corner Kitchen for our 25th wedding anniversary. The service was excellent and the meal was fantastic. We both had the NY strip and it was cooked to perfection. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,082
    716
    218
    54
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nags Head, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our favorite discovery while in Asheville! After a nice day spent at Biltmore we found ourselves hungry and without a plan. By complete accident we found The Corner Kitchen and liked the quaint look of things. We were afraid that our lack of planning might keep us from being able to eat here, but happily we were wrong. The hostess said that they were a bit busy but that if we didn't mind sitting at the "Chef's Table" there was an opening there. We were delighted with the view of the kitchen, enjoyed friendly banter with the chef and his staff while getting first hand reccomendations for our dinner selections. The menu was fresh and interesting. Our dinners were superb and the staff could not have been friendlier!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachgirl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Overpriced, under impressed, poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Disappointed, was presented with a pricey limited menu but the couple next to us was eating burger and fries (which was raw looking and the couple had to send it back). Didn't see that menu. After we were told the list of all the food they were OUT of, our food was delivered lukewarm and I'm sure it's because we waited so long for it. This should be listed as a 3 mark price restaurant. Not recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Zap_tech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshevilleNative139, Owner at The Corner Kitchen, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your dinner visit. I am sorry that your visit wasn't as good as you expected it to be. At dinner we do have a somewhat limited menu - 9 entrees and 8-9 appetizers and 6-8 desserts. You may have seen our kitchen. It is smaller than most home kitchens and the menu we put out is made from scratch with the best ingredients we can source that day or week. Thus we need to stick to a menu that we can produce for dinner. However, that is our standard dinner menu, not a special one for the night you visited. The prices are higher than breakfast and lunch, but the items (fresh fish, select cuts of beef, pork (the price of which goes up almost weekly due to supply issues nationwide) are all considerably more expensive than many of the items during the day meals.

The breakfast and lunch menus are posted outside with the dinner menu so that may have confused you as to which meal was being served. But if you ask for a hamburger, we will make you one. We have made peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for guests at dinner as well, so we are about making you happy versus serving something you don't want or might not be in the mood for. We are about our guests having a nice time. I am sorry we did not get to help you the night you were here. If you are back in town and would like to come for dinner, we would be glad to make something from our lunch menu for you. Just ask us.

Thanks,
Kevin Westmoreland
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lively atmosphere, superb food, seasonal menu.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was my first visit, although I have known about this restaurant for years. We sat at the kitchen bar and got to watch all the action.The staff was personable and seemed to be enjoying the craziness. The food was superb! All three entrees at our table were delicious and very beautifully presented. I love their evolving menu with the season. I will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Godsgranolagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
254 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Must Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stumbled across this restaurant a few years back and have made it a must stop ever since. The food is very good and the service has always been excellent. And this time Lauren didn't disappoint. Her suggestions were spot on and the service she provided was excellent. It was half price bottle of wine night so we had a delicious Pascual Toso. We both had soup to start the meal; my wife had the Gazpacho and I had a chilled Curried Carrot. My wife had the lamp chops and couldn't stop eating. I had the Glazed 3 meat meat loaf. The meat loaf was extra special and the cheese grits and collards were good only way more than I could finish. The grids dried out a little soon which made them harder to finish. We didn't make it to their new restaurant Chestnut but from folks we talked to it's one to put on our list for next time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Kitchen also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Corner Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing