We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Brunch, Can Do Attitude”
Review of The Corner Kitchen

The Corner Kitchen
Ranked #17 of 792 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: All Soul's Crescent
Description: Lots of places do Farm to Table, the difference is what happens in between.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch, Can Do Attitude”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Heard many excellent comments so decided to try for Sunday Brunch. Make a reservation as it's busy ... sign of a good restaurant. Service was attentive, but not overbearing and the food was great. My wife had the green salad w/ fried oysters and I had the Biscuits Bennie (southern twist on Eggs Benedict, biscuits vice muffins under eggs) ... both very good. We had a child with us who wanted chocolate milk .. the waitress said they don't have any, but she could use some chocolate syrup to make some ... can do attitude! We'll be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank breezdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,237
    760
    232
    60
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“On their game....”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I took a new team member to Corner Kitchen for a business lunch and to chill out. The place was jumping. I remembered that this was one of the restaurants that President Obama visited one of the several times he visited Asheville. The place was jumping but the staff had the place well under control. The hostess/seater was friendly and seemed to be everywhere at once. We only waited a few moments and then we opted to sit at the bar. The bartender/server was prompt with our menus and water. He gave us plenty of time to review the menu and all we had to do was pick our head up and look in his direction and he was there immediately. He made suggestion, answered our questions and then took our order. I had a spinach salad with a sweet/sour Asian dressing. It was topped with some fried Catfish that was cooked perfectly and the batter was studded with both toasted and plain sesame seeds. My colleague had a burger and fries. Not very exciting unless it's seasoned well and cooked exactly to temp, which it was on both counts. We were checked on throughout the meal for any needs and when we declined dessert are check was there in minutes. Would I go back. Most definitely!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alanl1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stopped here after reading all the great reviews while in town to visit Biltmore. Had a bacon & cheese omelet with hashbrowns and toast. My husband had a bagel w salmon. Food was tasty but just like what you would get at other places. The served you an average sized portion, nothing outstanding. My husband did comment that he felt the extra $2 for the amount of salmon he received was a great deal. And they did give you full bacon strips with omelet which was nice but I still don't understand all the gushing over the breakfast. It is a nice casual place and we would probably return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do NOT miss this restaurant !!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

"Sorry, we only have this table available if you want to eat now" was the start of a wonderful relationship with Corner Kitchen. There we sat, watching the chefs prepare, cook, and plate up. An extremely interesting evening made even more special by the wonderful food we were presented with. One of the best, if not THEE best meal both my wife and I have ever eaten. So much so we just HAD to return the next evening for a repeat performance! We were not disappointed. Friendly staff and EXCELLENT food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank norfolkanway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place!!!!!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were staying near and somebody recommended, we were so glad!! We went twice for
Breakfast and once for dinner. It was the southern home cooking we wanted to taste.
We are already missing it. The food is fantastic, the service was prompt and very nice, the
place gave us the impression we were visiting relatives. Hope to return soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank papajavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Kitchen also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Corner Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing