We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at The Cantina Biltmore”

The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village
Ranked #63 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cantina at Historic Biltmore Village features handmade Fresh Mex and the only tequila bar in Asheville. We're a great choice for dinner with friends, a family gathering, or even a romantic evening with someone special. Our expansive menu offers handmade Southwestern favorites with a twist of Asheville. We use only the freshest ingredients grown locally when available and strive to be conscientious of our extended and immediate environments. We compost the leftovers and aim at being as sustainable as possible. Start things off with tempting appetizers like the Chiles Rellenos and our Ultimate Queso Dip, just to name a few. Cantina favorites include The Biltmore Chicken Quesadilla Best Ever Baja Fish Tacos, and vegetarian options like The AshVeggie Burrito. Have an event coming up? Let the Cantina help feed your guests with on and off site caterings at prices to fit any budget. We have a wide assortment of proven crowd pleasing buffets, and are happy to customize for specific requests. The Cantina is also an active member of our community. If you opt to donate one of your two sides offered with each entrée, The Cantina will donate that portion to a local food charity. The cash equivalent of one donated side can feed up to 6 of our neighbors in need. We at The Cantina are honored to be a part of Asheville and the unique enclave that is Historic Biltmore Village. Whatever brings you in, we hope you enjoy your meal and time spent in our company, and that you return again soon for Asheville's most unique and delicious Fresh Mex and Tequila Bar!
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food at The Cantina Biltmore”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I recently had a wonderful dinner at The Cantina Biltmore in Asheville, NC. We ordered a steak burrito and fried plantains and beans. Both were exceptionally good, and the service was excellent. The margaritas were among the best I have ever had! There was very nice artwork (for sale) displayed on the walls.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    233
    100
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Upbeat place”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food was good and the service was outstanding. We were there for a team dinner after a soccer tournament. We had a private room with a buffet setup. The food was tasty and we had a lot of fun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let the WWW know about your experience at The Cantina, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, average food $$”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stopped in our last night for a girls night and we were shocked that they were out of Captain Morgan. After we settled for something else, the carbonate was out and they had no soda. So we ended up having sweet tea. (not what we wanted on our last night in town) Food was average but for the price i would have expected a little better. Staff was very friendly, seating was a bit tight so we moved to a high top table. I wish we had more time to try them again, since i saw nothing but great reviews. Everyone has a bad night, so i think we just found that one night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferYoungMcKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
SO sorry that we had some issues that evening, you caught us after a surprisingly busy time the night before and we were unable to restock our supplies. Thanks for coming to see us again next time. Please let your Server know that you are coming back to be WOWED !!

We are all really proud of what we do, with a goal of delighting each Diner. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very nice place and good food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Seated instantly on a weekday at lunch. Waitress was friendly and attentive. Wife had chicken in a split and grilled avocado. It came nicely presented. She said that the sauce (BBQ?) on the chicken overpowered the avocado and did not care for it because of that. Without the sauce, she said this would have been a big hit. I had beef fajitas and they were very good. Especially compared to my last experience in Helen, Ga. Plenty of meat, pico, cheese, etc. Bottomless tortillas too. Two sides come with it. Don't get the grilled vegetables as they are the same as the ones on the fajitas. Good, but the same. Will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelling2havefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for visiting The Cantina , we appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
1 review
“Our favorite, fresh, delicious, cantina, using local, seasonal foods when possible!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We eat here at least once a week, and especially enjoy their hospitable staff (Ask for Arnulfo!!), their fajitas, veggie quesadillas, nachos, fish tacos, and burritos! Their margaritas and fuzzy navels from the tequila bar are awesome too! A warm, inviting environment where we've been known as regulars for several years. We love Arnulfo and Mayela! But, Brandy, Brandon, and everyone make it a truly enjoyable dining experience! You won't beat the quality and freshness anywhere else in WNC. ENJOY!!! Polly

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffnpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
XXOXO - we love you too !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing