We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite, fresh, delicious, cantina, using local, seasonal foods when possible!”

The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village
Ranked #61 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cantina at Historic Biltmore Village features handmade Fresh Mex and the only tequila bar in Asheville. We're a great choice for dinner with friends, a family gathering, or even a romantic evening with someone special. Our expansive menu offers handmade Southwestern favorites with a twist of Asheville. We use only the freshest ingredients grown locally when available and strive to be conscientious of our extended and immediate environments. We compost the leftovers and aim at being as sustainable as possible. Start things off with tempting appetizers like the Chiles Rellenos and our Ultimate Queso Dip, just to name a few. Cantina favorites include The Biltmore Chicken Quesadilla Best Ever Baja Fish Tacos, and vegetarian options like The AshVeggie Burrito. Have an event coming up? Let the Cantina help feed your guests with on and off site caterings at prices to fit any budget. We have a wide assortment of proven crowd pleasing buffets, and are happy to customize for specific requests. The Cantina is also an active member of our community. If you opt to donate one of your two sides offered with each entrée, The Cantina will donate that portion to a local food charity. The cash equivalent of one donated side can feed up to 6 of our neighbors in need. We at The Cantina are honored to be a part of Asheville and the unique enclave that is Historic Biltmore Village. Whatever brings you in, we hope you enjoy your meal and time spent in our company, and that you return again soon for Asheville's most unique and delicious Fresh Mex and Tequila Bar!
Waynesville, North Carolina
1 review
“Our favorite, fresh, delicious, cantina, using local, seasonal foods when possible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We eat here at least once a week, and especially enjoy their hospitable staff (Ask for Arnulfo!!), their fajitas, veggie quesadillas, nachos, fish tacos, and burritos! Their margaritas and fuzzy navels from the tequila bar are awesome too! A warm, inviting environment where we've been known as regulars for several years. We love Arnulfo and Mayela! But, Brandy, Brandon, and everyone make it a truly enjoyable dining experience! You won't beat the quality and freshness anywhere else in WNC. ENJOY!!! Polly

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffnpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
XXOXO - we love you too !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    229
    100
    36
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must if you're visiting Asheville!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful, first-time dining experience at Cantina Biltmore last Saturday evening.. We were up for the weekend from Columbia, SC, had been hiking and everyone was quite tired and very hungry.
We were a few minutes late for their "call ahead" seating and they had us seated within 5 minutes. The service and food was great and the atmosphere was festive.
I had the shredded beef tacos, my wife and the teens had burritos and chimichangas.
The grilled avocado with chicken appetizer we all shared was wonderful. The portions were generous and the presentation colorful and unique. Of course, the teenagers devoured their entire meal but my wife and I had to get a takeout container. I think I recall our waitperson's name was Rosemary. She did a great job and checked in on us regularly all while being rather busy.

We'll definitely be back! Oh, and their signature margaritas!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregRSVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks Greg- have a great holiday and see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average Mexican food, served in a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had lunch here while my wife was having her spa treatment at the Grand Bohemian Marriott a few blocks away. The food was typical Mexican fare of average quality and a little over priced in my opinion with no lunch size portions of a lesser price like most traditional Mexican restaurants have available. The multi colored chips and two kinds of salsa were good but not great. A large chicken burrito with a small cheese dip and a diet soda cost me $20. Not a very good value for my money in my opinion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCDawgFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Come on back and I promise we can recommend something that will WOW your taste buds and be a great value. The Chicken Burrito is a bit dull, I would recommend trying the AShVega,s a combination of sautéed veggies and goat cheese topped with our smoked yellow pepper sauce, which is simply heavenly. Add chicken or other protein option if you wish (we even offer Tempeh- so ASHEVILLE).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our waiter Tyler recommended the seafood Bossanova. It was outstanding. All of his recommendations were right on. We would go back here when we are in Asheville.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCChristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit. Tyler has a big grin on his hairy chin. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Viva the Cantina!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

On our first night in Asheville, we landed here for dinner. Could not have been more pleased!

The food was advertised as "Fresh Mex" and it truly was. The service was efficient and pleasant.

From the chips and salsa to the fish tacos through the very reasonably priced margaritas by the pitcher, everything was top notch. (The four of us were in agreement that the maragritas were the best we have had anywhere!).

A nice touch is that diners may donate their sides (essentially, ask the kitchen to hold them) back to the house. The restaurant in turn donates the cost of the donated sides to a local foodbank. According to the restaurant, one donated side can feed up to six individuals (again...cost of product given to a food charity to do its work). How can you lose?

We left the restaurant gratified and satisfied.

You might not come to Asheville looking for Mexican food, but if the hankering comes on you while you are there, visit the Cantina.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCTrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for that great review and mentioning our partnership with Manna, our local food bank. Our generous diners have donated the equivalent of over 60,000 meals to our friends and neighbors in the area in 2013 to date. We started the project in January and are pleased to be able to continue indefinitely. It has developed into the win-win-win that we had envisioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing