We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food & Super Service!!”

The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village
Ranked #67 of 788 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The Cantina at Historic Biltmore Village features handmade Fresh Mex and the only tequila bar in Asheville. We're a great choice for dinner with friends, a family gathering, or even a romantic evening with someone special. Our expansive menu offers handmade Southwestern favorites with a twist of Asheville. We use only the freshest ingredients grown locally when available and strive to be conscientious of our extended and immediate environments. We compost the leftovers and aim at being as sustainable as possible. Start things off with tempting appetizers like the Chiles Rellenos and our Ultimate Queso Dip, just to name a few. Cantina favorites include The Biltmore Chicken Quesadilla Best Ever Baja Fish Tacos, and vegetarian options like The AshVeggie Burrito. Have an event coming up? Let the Cantina help feed your guests with on and off site caterings at prices to fit any budget. We have a wide assortment of proven crowd pleasing buffets, and are happy to customize for specific requests. The Cantina is also an active member of our community. If you opt to donate one of your two sides offered with each entrée, The Cantina will donate that portion to a local food charity. The cash equivalent of one donated side can feed up to 6 of our neighbors in need. We at The Cantina are honored to be a part of Asheville and the unique enclave that is Historic Biltmore Village. Whatever brings you in, we hope you enjoy your meal and time spent in our company, and that you return again soon for Asheville's most unique and delicious Fresh Mex and Tequila Bar!
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful Food & Super Service!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our first time back to Asheville in a while, but growing up and still having family there we've seen restaurants come and go. I've seen at least four places occupy what is The Cantina in Biltmore Village over the years, but am pretty sure this place will stick around. We were later arriving Saturday evening, and while the restaurant was full the server went ahead and sat a portion of our party even without the entire group present. Upon arriving, Mary took wonderful care of us. We enjoyed a pitcher of margaritas and went through an extensive beer list. We also learned through the meal that Mary actually was winding down from a double and had been there almost 12 hours. She was kind, courteous, smiling, knowledgable, and most importantly seemed happy to have us at her table for the evening. What a novel concept, a server who is knowledgable and happy to provide a service to customers! Following some advice from Mary, we had the chicken & beef fajitas (excellent), quesadilla (ok, but nothing we haven't had before), and enchiladas-chicken, chorizo and cheese (some of the best I've ever had). We would definitely recommend The Cantina and encourage you to ask for Mary, pretty sure she'll be there as she works double shifts all weekend long. Great experience!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks Brian, Mary really is a gem....looking forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    238
    105
    38
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morganton, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“oh oh oh I love this restaurant! Excellent”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

What an evening my friend and I had there.. Wonderful food, environment, and friendly people. I live about an hour away and do visit Asheville on occassion, but never went to this restaurant. Well, to be sure I will go there again! My friend and I shared stuffed grilled avacados; one was shredded chicken and the other was shrimps. We each take a half of each. aaaah sigh.. delicious. I had the Asheville Veggie: spinach, goat cheese, some sort of salsa, and cheese with watermellon salad (with feta cheese and red onions); my friend had grilled Romaine salad with salmon.. she said it was wonderful. We were stuffed that we didn't have desserts.. The food was our dessert! :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Barbara,

We love you back, and can't wait to WOW you again on your next visit to The Cantina.

I recommend you save room for Dessert as we have just reworked our Mexican Torte recipe, OH SO GOOD !

PS. You ordered ALL of MY personal favorites. We have replaced the watermelon salad with cayenne-honey roasted brussel sprouts with pepitas and the roasted root veggies with rosemary are back in season- you will LOVE them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped in after spending some time at Biltmore. We ate dinner fairly early, so there was no wait. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive, and gave us some good suggestions for our meal. The prices were very reasonable for dinner and the portions were very big. After eating some chips with guacamole, it was almost too much to eat. Over all, we had a great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for reviewing The Cantina in Historic Biltmore Village, hope to see you next time you visit the Mountain, leaves are getting quite colorful, may want to consider a drive up in the next few weeks !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Pa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Service was good. pricees were reasonable. Salsa and tacos were great. beer selection was extensive with lots of local breweries represented. Sampling flights were available.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review, with 500+ restaurants in the Asheville Area on Trip Advisor it really helps travelers and locals alike to hear what others are saying about where to eat !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Thomas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Generic”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The food was very generic. Not bad, but nothing you'll crave. The service was just fine, but not necessarily friendly. Overall no complaints, but afterwards wanted to have a "do over" in choosing a lunch spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank budahhfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrye, Owner at The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Wish we had Wowed you...... everyone deserves to LOVE their meal at The Cantina, if you don't let us know, we will make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Cantina Historic Biltmore Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing